When you read the early Minutes of the Lodge it can be very deceptive as these records are constructed more or less the same way as the Minutes written today; they contain details of Openings, Minutes, Business, Degrees and closed in ”Due and Ancient Form”! It is only when you realise what was happening in the World of 1875 you realise how long ago this actually was.
Abraham Lincoln was still remembered fondly as President having been assassinated only 10 years earlier in 1865. Ulysses S Grant, the Civil war hero, was in his second and final term as President (although his government had just been rocked with a tax scandal involving Whisky!). The “Redskins” still posed a threat to the “Palefaces” (as General George Custer was about to find out at the battle of the Little Bighorn the following year) and on the sporting front 1875 saw the first Kentucky Derby (won by a horse called Aristides).
In Great Britain:
Queen Victoria was on the throne for the 38th of the 64 years she was to rule—still in mourning for Prince Albert who had died in 1861. Benjamin Disraeli was Prime Minister and leader of the Tories with William Gladstone leading the party of Opposition-The Liberals (formerly known as the Whigs). The British Empire was probably at its peak with the Homeland at its core churning out goods for all over the World. On the sporting front Captain Webb swam the English Channel for the first time in 1875.
The Factories Act had raised the minimum age of child workers to 10 and a 10-hour working day was established. The 1745 Monument for Bonnie Prince Charlie was erected at Glenfinnan while on the sporting front Queens Park won the Scottish Cup and Scotland drew with England at Rugby. This was only 2 years after the founding of Glasgow Rangers (probably why they didn’t win the cup that year!) and in that same year of 1873 David Livingstone died at Ujiji in Africa.
Springburn was probably the greatest locomotive building centre in the World and was described by John Thomas, the Springburn author, as “The Scottish Railway Metropolis”. Springburn thrived with many thousands employed at Cowlairs, St Rollox, Atlas and Hyde Park building locomotives for all over the world---many of which are still in working order today. The link from Bellgrove station to the new Springburn station was almost complete and would be opened on 16/8/1875—just 2 weeks after the Kenmuir Charter would be granted.
It was against this backdrop of a rapidly changing and evolving World that Lodge Kenmuir No 570 on the Roll of the Grand Lodge of Scotland first saw the light of day on 2nd August 1875 when its Charter was granted.
The Lodge was granted its Charter by The Grand Lodge of Scotland on Monday 2nd August 1875—Its name Lodge Kenmuir, Springburn, Glasgow No 570. On that same day Charters were also granted to Lodge Dramatic No 571 in Glasgow, Lodge St David Kincardineshire No 572 and Lodge Livingston St Andrew No 573 in Lanarkshire Middle Ward.
An extract from the Charter reads:
“To all and sundry to whose knowledge shall come, greeting to God everlasting.
Whereas, upon the second day of August, One Thousand Eight Hundred and Seventy Five Years, a petition was presented to the Grand Lodge of Scotland, in the name of John Law, John Rennie,John Gemmell,Robert Aikman,William Reid,John Wark,John R Fulton,John Sharp,John Hislop,Richard Thomson,John McKell, and others. Praying the said Grand Lodge to grant a CHARTER of Constitution and Erection in the usual form for holding a Lodge under the name and title of KENMUIR, SPRINGBURN, GLASGOW, No 570 and proposing the persons aforementioned to be the first Office-Bearers thereof -viz. John Law RW Master, John Rennie W Depute Master, John Gemmell W Substitute Master, Robert Aikman Senior Warden, William Reid Junior Warden, John Wark Senior Deacon, John R Fulton W Junior Deacon, John Sharp Treasurer, John Hislop Inner Guard,Richard Thomson,John McKell, Tyler…………………the initiation shall not be under the sum of One Pound Twelve Shillings and Sixpence Sterling”
It is interesting to note the proper title of the Lodge is “KENMUIR, SPRINGBURN, GLASGOW” and not the shortened version we use today of “Lodge “Kenmuir”, Springburn”. Similarly there are no apostrophes around the Kenmuir as this has obviously crept in over the years.
I feel at this point it would be appropriate to explain where the title of the Lodge derives from.
However first let us take a step back to consider the way in which Lodges are given their names. Lodges are given their names by various means;
So where would Lodge Kenmuir fit into these naming conventions?
AN AREA? There was a Kenmure quarry in the Bishopbriggs area—However both the spelling of the name and the area would be both incorrect and inappropriate to name a Lodge to be formed in the in “The Scottish Railway Metropolis”!. There was also a Kenmuir Coal pit within the Kenmuir Estate in the East end of Glasgow on the way to Hamilton in which several miners were killed in the early nineteenth century following a gas explosion. Again this would seem an unlikely naming source for a Masonic Lodge in Springburn, although the Kenmuir name lives on as a Kenmuir Road as well as a Kenmuir Hill and Kenmuir Wood in the East end just south of Sandyhills Golf Club in the approximate area of the old Kenmuir Estate.
It is safe to say then that Kenmuir was not named after an area.
A CONCEPT? I am sure that Lodge Kenmuir could be accused of many things, however being a concept is not one of them!
AN EVENT OR FEATURE? Once again this obviously does not apply.
A PERSON? Kenmuir is such an unusual name—who could possibly have such a name to give the Lodge its name?
Lodge Kenmuir was to run for only five years – until 1880—before it was declared dormant. Of this period the minutes of only 23 meetings exist from 9/1/1879 till 5/2/1880.These minutes do not tell us everything about the Lodge at that difficult time but provide us with a snapshot over a 13 month period from which we can draw certain conclusions.
We know from the Roll Book that the first Candidate to be initiated into the Lodge on 26/8/1875 was a James Miller, 21, a Miner residing at Colston and that until the Lodge became dormant in 1880 that 81 Candidates were initiated.
There is nothing known of the first four years of the Lodge other than the information recorded in the Roll book which goes back to 1875 and is indeed signed by the first Master, the Charter Master, Bro. John Law.
However the earliest surviving minute dates from 9th January 1879; -
“ Springburn 9th January 1879 Lodge Kenmuir No 570
The Lodge met on the above date for the transaction of business. Bro. Currie RWM in the Chair. Bro. Miller and Marchbanks in the Senior and Junior Wardens Chairs. The Lodge being opened in due and ancient form in the First Degree, the minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved of. Bro. McCallum read a report about the funds of the Lodge for the past year, which was approved by the Lodge. The Lodge was brought from labour to refreshment and refreshment to labour. No other business being brought up the lodge was closed in due and ancient form
Signed Reddie Currie RWM ”
It is interesting to note that no meeting place address other than Springburn is mentioned – The exact venue where the earliest meetings took place will probably always remain a mystery.
The earliest recorded Affiliation in the Lodge was Brother Annan who was proposed and affiliated in the same evening on 23/1/1879.This is an interesting historical date as on this day the battle of Rorkes Drift in the African Zulu War was concluded. The next time you watch Michael Caine in Zulu fighting this battle you will think “The Lodge held a Meeting that day!”
The Lodge was obviously unhappy with their current meeting place as Bro. George Miller, Bro. Thomas Miller and Bro. Alexander were appointed to act as a committee on 13/2/1879 to investigate a hall in Possilpark and report back at its next meeting on its suitability as a Masonic Hall. The Lodge was also experiencing financial difficulties as the master at that time, Bro. Reddie Currie, advanced the sums of £3-10-10 and 8/4 to pay the lodges fees and purchase calendars respectively.
The Committee duly reported back to the Lodge on 27/2/1879 with its findings and the Secretary was instructed to “Summon A full Meeting” for 13/3/1879 to decide about the hall. The meeting was duly held on 13/3/1879 and the Brethren voted on the proposal to relocate to Possilpark (which was considered to be a “much better field for Masonry “) and this motion was carried by only 2 votes .The move to Possilpark was to take place in May 1879. There has always been a close affinity and friendship between Lodge Kenmuir and Lodge Possilpark-Indeed Kenmuir was a Sponsor Lodge of Possilpark. However if history had been different we have been the same Lodge!
At the following meeting on 27/3/1879 there was an outcry as not all the Members had been summoned by the Secretary and the vote to move was declared null and void! It was decided that the proposal would be reconsidered at the next meeting on 10/4/1879. Interestingly enough there was no further mention made of the relocation proposal at the meeting on 10/4/1879 or any subsequent meeting – One can only assume that there was an overwhelming consensus against the move. At the same meeting is the earliest recording in the Minute book of a First Degree on Bro. Samuel Fleming, 34, a Bookbinder residing at 145 Argyle Street who also received his Second degree at the same meeting.
On 12/5/1879 the first recording of the Lodge “Bie” laws were read and duly approved on 26/6/1879.
The financial problems of the Lodge were still rumbling on and on 9/10/1879 auditors were appointed to try to meet with the former Treasurer, Bro. Dempster, and the current Treasurer, Bro. Chapman, to resolve the audit and any disputes. This was duly done and the books were resolved up till the 1878 audit.
13/11/1879 was a significant date as two important facts are recorded. It is the first mention the lodges meeting place as “Masonic Hall, Springburn “—Perhaps the Lodge had moved premises. More worrying was a letter from the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow instructing the Lodge to pay all dues and have books properly written up or the Charter would be withdrawn. The Lodges response to this was to put a levy on all Members of “5/- more or less” to enable the Lodge to clear its debts.
A Nomination meeting was held on 27/11/1879 at which Bro. Currie was nominated to continue to serve as Master. It was also agreed to move to monthly meetings.
8/1/1880 is an important date as the Lodge meeting was held in”their Hall, Balgrayhill” which perhaps gives credit to the belief that, for at least one meeting, it was held in the “Wee room underneath the stairs”!
The last surviving minute from this time is;
“Springburn Feb 5th 1880
The Regular Meeting of Lodge Kenmuir No 570 was held in their Hall, Balgrayhill. Br. Millar DM acting RWM, Bros Morrison & Fulton acting S & J Wardens. The Minutes of Jan 22nd were read and approved of. There being no other business the Lodge was then closed in due and ancient form all being satisfied.”
The last Candidate initiated into the Lodge on 18/3/1880, before it was declared dormant was a James Jardine, 37, who was the Janitor at Kelvinside Academy.
So why did the Lodge become dormant after these 5 short years? I believe there are clues within these 23 minutes that survive.
I believe that these were the major influences as to why the Lodge was forced to become dormant.
Bro. Robert Gibson was one of the most influential figures in the History of Lodge Kenmuir.
He was a Past Master of Lodge Thistle No 87, aged 51 (when he joined Kenmuir), a Tailor/Clothier to trade and resided at 497 Springburn Road and was to be Master for 9 times over the period 1885-1895. He was to be the main driving force of the Lodge during this period. Even when he was not Master he was always involved by being the chief Degree Worker carrying out normally 2 Degrees per meeting and would take over the chair in the absence of the Master.
From the Minutes it appears he was a very strong-willed Brother who was not afraid of controversy – he would knowingly break Grand Lodge or Provincial Grand Lodge Laws if he considered it was to the benefit of the Lodge. He also had several disputes and heated debates with his own Brethren.
Bro. Robert Gibson nursed Kenmuir through its formative years and when he stood down as Master in1895, the Lodge was healthy and prosperous—All of which was down to the dedication and work of Bro. Gibson and his team of Office-Bearers.
The earliest recorded Minute of the resuscitated Lodge Kenmuir comes from 26/9/1884:
At a Meeting of several Gentlemen connected with the Masonic Order was held in Springburn on the above date - “Mr Gibson in the Chair”. It was thought the time had now arrived when a Masonic Lodge should be opened in this rising and populous district which would not in any way be detrimental to any of the Lodge held in the city. –A Committee having been formed to inquire into the matter, the Meeting was formally closed.”
The same Committee again met on 1/10/1884 when it was felt that the “Old Lodge Kenmure” be resuscitated. It is interesting to note that this spelling of “Kenmure” continues until the return of Brother John Law PM –The first Master of 570. The Committee were so confident that the Lodge would restart that they had already arranged a hall for that purpose and gave instructions for it to be fitted out in readiness.
Work progressed during October 1884 and when the Nomination meeting was held on 22/10/1884 Bro. Robert Gibson was proposed as Master.
On 1st November 1884 the following Petition was sent to The Provincial Grand Secretary;
“Unto the Most Worshipful The Provincial Grand Master Mason, The Office-Bearers and Members of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow.
The Petition of the undersigned Master Masons of the Lodges mentioned against our respective names
That the Petitioners having the Good
Of Masonry at heart are desirous of the “resuscitation” of the late Lodge “Kenmure” to be held in Springburn and the Petitioners humbly promise to discharge the duties of Masonry in a Constitutional manner according to the Forms of the Order and the Laws of Grand Lodge.
Robt Gibson RWM 87 Thistle
Robt Davison SW 3 ½ St John
Robt Aitchison JW 465 St Andrew
T Halliday SM 465 St Andrew
W Clark DM 332 Union
Robt Robertson SEC 465 St Andrew
Wm Flint TR 413 Athole
A Gilmour SD 465 St Andrew
Jas Wood JD 465 St Andrew
Thos Miller ARCH 28 Kirkintilloch
Jas Geddes MAR 333 St George
Mr Tennant SS 116 Royal Arch
Mr Weir DOM 413 Athole
I Calder PGS(Steward for PGL?) 465 St Andrew
Mr McIlwam IG 796 (See note below)
Mr Wolstenholme SB 465 St Andrew
Mr Walker SB(again ?) 465 St Andrew
Mr McKell TYL 28 Kirkintilloch.”
Lodge 796 is obviously a mistake in the Minutes as this Lodge ( Lodge Caledonia (Eastern Province of The Cape of Good Hope)) only had its charter granted on 2nd November 1893—Some nine years later.
It is interesting to think that virtually all Members of Lodge Kenmuir are descended Masonically from these Brethren—All of these Brethren proposed someone who proposed someone who proposed someone and so on until that someone proposed you.
At this point, after only 3 months, ”the money in the Treasurers hands was £23-0-0”. The expected number of candidates for the first year was 10 initiates and 20 affiliates, with fees set at £2-10-0 for entry and 10/- for affiliation. The Lodge Test fee was set at 3/- per year with life membership £2-0-0 and the Lodge colour was selected as light blue.
The hall, which the Lodge had rented, was located at 27 Cowlairs Road and owned by a Mr. McPherson. The rental figure was agreed at £19-10-0 per year on a 7-year lease. This lease gave Lodge Kenmuir complete use of the premises for this period and as such were able to sub-let the hall for rent –which turned out to be a very shrewd piece of business.
An example of the rents charged for this period was;
MEETING 7.00PM----11.00PM 10/-
EACH HOUR THEREAFTER 2/6
WEEKLY MEETING 2 HOURS £7-10-0 PER YEAR
FORTNIGHTLY MEETING 2 HOURS £6-0-0 PER YEAR
MONTHLY MEETING 2 HOURS £3-10-0 PER YEAR
The Tyler (who was also the hallkeeper) was paid £7-0-0 per year.
This proved to be a particularly good earner for the Lodge as this rental profit underpinned the Lodge finance in its formative years.
By 11/2/1885 The Lodge had cleared the outstanding debts owed by the earlier version of the Lodge and a working letter was sent from Grand Lodge enabling Kenmuir to meet. The Lodge held a meeting the following day on 12/2/1885 which Bro. James Annan PM 354 chaired as acting Master. Two Brethren were proposed and initiated that night—Bro. James Gibb and Bro. John Wood. The meeting must have been very well attended as the Benevolent Fund Collection that night raised £2-7-8 ½. There was no general fund collection—We can only assume that the lodge finances were very secure.
On 17/2/1885 Lodge Kenmuir held its 2nd meeting. The Lodge had reverted to its original spelling of Kenmuir, most likely due to the fact That Bro. John Law, the First Master, was installed as Chaplain.(and no doubt informed the of its real name—Which he certainly knew!). All the “newer” Brethren were affiliated and then installed. Lodge Kenmuir now had its Office Bearers under the leadership of Bro. Robert Gibson.
Following on from the Installation the Lodge held a meeting the following day at which an affiliation was carried out followed by a 1st Degree, a 2nd Degree and a 3rd Degree –so much for a quiet start to the year! For the candidate who had completed his 1st degree 2 instructors were appointed.
At the meeting on 23/2/1885 the Lodge agreed that from then on the Lodge would meet on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of each Month. It was also reported that further applications had been received for the use of the hall.
Byelaws were the next order of business and at the meeting on 11/3/1885 this matter was discussed with the option of now meeting every alternative Wednesday instead of 1st and 3rd. This proposal was passed at the next meeting on 18/3/1885. Also passed was the Master would be awarded Life Membership after serving 3 consecutive years in the Chair! These proposals were all sent to Provincial Grand Lodge for approval.
At this point the Lodge decided to check the whereabouts of the original Charter (1875) and the Secretary was instructed to write to Provincial Grand Secretary to see if the Charter was in his possession. At the next meeting the Secretary was again instructed to write –This time to Grand Secretary—“to see if he cannot find the old Charter and if not to try his efforts to give a duplicate”. The Lodge was obviously under the impression that the Charter had been returned to Grand Lodge. There could be two options as to how it got there; either returned when the Lodge became dormant or Provincial Grand Lodge withdrew the Charter from the Lodge as per their ultimatum regarding their debts. The latter is probably the more likely as the debts still existed until cleared in 1884/85 by the Brethren wishing to resuscitate the Lodge.
The Lodge was already active on the social activities by taking part in the Provincial Grand Lodge bowling competition (no report of the outcome!) and by organising a “Pic Nic” to take place at Hamilton Palace on 27/06/1885.Indeed Bro. Davidson presented a portrait group (I assume it was a photo) to the Lodge on 8/7/1885. This picnic also made the sum of 1/6, which was presented, to the Benevolent Fund. On this same subject, it was reported at this meeting that a Benevolence Grant had been received from Grand Lodge on behalf of a Brother—The first recorded incident of such an event.
Provincial Grand Lodge had considered the meeting night proposed by the Lodge and had decided to refuse permission to meet on alternative Wednesdays. The Lodge discussed the matter further and opted for the 2ND and 4th Wednesdays of the month—Which still remains unchanged to this day.
At the meeting on 26/8/1885 a letter was read from Lodge Athole No. 413 inviting the RWM to head a Deputation to attend a harmony meeting on 8/9/1885—The First Visitation recorded.
The Nomination meeting for Office-Bearers was held on 22/10/1885 .In these days the process of selecting Office-Bearers was done over 3 meetings—Nomination meeting, Election meeting and Installation meeting.
By 28/10/1885 Grand Lodge and Provincial Grand Lodge confirmed that the original Charter could not be found—Its location will probably always remain a mystery (Although I suspect it is probably in the cellars of Grand Lodge somewhere). However the Secretary, Bro. Kenny Reekie immediately applied for a duplicate and Grand Committee on 10/11/1885 granted this.
On 11/11/1885 two Brethren, Bros. Black and Robertson, moved that the Lodge “be run on strict temperance principles” and a warm discussion ensued! Eventually Bro. Gibson, Master, ruled that Lodge remain status quo and the Brethren who did not agree immediately removed themselves from the Lodge!
The Installation was held on 25/11/1885 at which Bro. Gibson continued as Master.
The Lodge planned its first major social event, which was a “Grand Supper and Ball to be held on 8/1/1886.” The venue was Hydepark Hall and the cost of a ticket would be 7/6 per couple with “supper on the table at 8.00 O’clock”. 3 Fiddlers were to be hired at a cost not to exceed 30/- and Office Bearers were to wear Jewels and sashes. Obviously sashes formed part of the regalia at this time.
Provincial Grand Lodge visited the Lodge on 14/1/1886 and reported that there were 26 intrants (the estimate had only been 10) in this first year. At this Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation, all 12 members of the Deputation including Substitute Provincial Grand Master Bro. John Graham were given Honorary Membership.
The first recorded Mark Degree was carried out on 24/2/1886 at which 27, including the RWM Bro. Gibson, were conferred.
Arrangements were made for the Consecration of the Hall and a Deputation of Provincial Grand Lodge headed by Bro. W Easton Depute Provincial Grand Master carried this out. Bro. Easton in his address to the Lodge said “ I am sure that in the hands of the present RWM and of his successors the Lodge would ever stand as one of the antient landmarks of the Order and maintain in their integrity all things that true Masons prize,” This meeting commenced at 8.00 PM and concluded at 12.15 AM. However the meeting concluded after the harmony; in these days the Lodge went from “labour to refreshment” to join in harmony, and at the completion of the harmony went from “refreshment to labour” to close the meeting. The Junior Warden would be in charge of the harmony part of the meeting, a tradition that still exists today.
The first reported sporting success for the Lodge occurred in 1886 when the bowling rink won 1/6, which the donated to the Benevolent Fund.
The success of the hall mirrored that of the Lodge and further alterations were required to the premises. The Lodge moved the sum of £12 to carry out the work, with Mr. McPherson, the owner also donating £2.A new gas light was installed at the foot of the stairs—so the hall must have been on the 1st floor probably accessed by external stairs. In addition the Tyler was awarded a further 2/6 per month in recognition of the additional required due to increased lets.
The Lodge appointed its first Benevolent Committee on 10/11/1886 to take care of all cases of Benevolence for the Lodge as up till this point all cases of Benevolence were discussed in open Lodge.
The Lodge decided at its meeting on 10/11/1886 to reduce its Life Membership fee from £3-3-0 to £1-1-0 (This would never happen today!) and it was subsequently approved by Provincial Grand Lodge.
In this its second year the Lodge had 11 intrants and it was interesting to note that Bro. John Law PM conducted a 2nd Degree on 10/2/1887.
The Lodge, at this time, was very worried about the health of Bro. Robert Gibson RWM –the Master and his wife had been struck down by one of the many epidemics, which ravaged the country at this time (possibly Cholera, Typhoid or Flu) and were both seriously ill. Bro. Robert Gibson was absent from the Lodge from 26/1/1887 till 9/3/1887.When he returned he thanked the Brethren for their sympathy in respect of his late wife and made a request of the Lodge—That when he passes to the Grand Lodge above that the Lodge grant him Masonic Honours. Sadly I do not believe that this was ever done.
On 22/4/1887 it was recorded that a Bro. J Wolstenholme made application to the Lodge, was balloted and received his 1st, 2nd and 3rd Degrees all on the same night. Bro. Gibson RWM did the 1st and 3rd Degrees while Bro. Tenant SW did the 2nd. This Meeting (which was an emergency meeting) commenced at 7.20PM and concluded at 10.30PM—Not bad for all that work!
On 19/10/87 Bro. David Tenant was nominated as RWM (proposed by Bro. Gibson) and duly installed on 23/11/1887 by Bro. Gibson. Bro. David Tenant RWM then presented Bro. Gibson with his Life Membership for completing 3 consecutive terms as RWM to become the first Life Member of Kenmuir. He was also thanked for his valuable services in the Lodge and was presented with “a marble timepiece and a gold medallion”
At the Provincial Grand Lodge Visit 25/1/1888 it was reported that the Lodge had 39 initiates. At the meeting on 14/3/1888 it became clear that many 570 Members had become scattered over the globe; letters was read from Bro. Watson in Venezuela and Bro. McCallish in Melbourne and 6 Brethren were wished Bon Voyage on their trip to Chile!
The Lodge held its first recorded Lodge of Instruction 21/3/1888 with the Instruction masters of Gibson and Law. These 2 Brethren formed the basis of “Kenmuir Tradition”XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXOne gave the Lodge its direction while the other xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The Lodge then considered the question of new aprons (the current colour being light blue). As they were considered essential for Office-Bearers to wear at visitations. Bro. John Law, seconded by Bro.William Wilson (Not my father I might add), moved that the Lodge purchase white aprons, while Bro. Grant moved an amendment that ”we get aprons trimmed with blue” .The amendment was carried. Could it be that white was the original colour of aprons and Bro. John Law was trying to reinstate this? I think this could probably the case.
On 25/7/1888 the Lodge considered finance matters and it was agreed that only one cashbook be kept! That would certainly make life easier for the auditors(maybe)!
At the meeting held on 8/8/1888 it was decided that the next regular meeting be changed to the Tuesday due to Queen Victoria’s visit to the City to visit the International Festival based in Kelvingrove Park. This exhibition made sufficient money to fund the construction of the Kelvingrove Art Galleries.
On 17/10/1888 Bro. Tenant was put forward at the Nomination Meeting, by Committee recommendation, to continue as RWM and Bro. Law decided not to continue as Chaplain but allowed himself to be also nominated as RWM. It should be noted, however, that when it came to the election meeting there were 3 candidates—Tenant, Law and Gibson! When it came to the vote Bro. Gibson prevailed and was duly installed as Master on 28/11/1888 and the meeting did not conclude till 1.50AM, although PGL left quite early “to catch a tram”.
The Lodge took cognisance of the Tyler’s increased workload in respect of the number of hall lets and unanimously agreed to increase his wages to £12 per year. At this same meeting on12/12/1888 it was confirmed that the social events of the “Supper and Ball” and the “Pic Nic” would be annual events.
One of the more unusual Provincial Grand Lodge events to which the Lodge was invited to enter a team was the Masonic shooting trophy. Alas the Lodge had to decline, as there were “no good shots in the Lodge”!
Candidates were still numerous as the Provincial Grand Lodge reported at the visitation on 13/2/1889 with 21 candidates recorded for that year. It was also interesting to note that The Senior Warden (and not a Master) headed the Deputation.
By 17/4/1889 it was reported that the new Lodge regalia, “The aprons trimmed with blue”, had arrived and were much admired throughout the Province.
The Lodge continued in the competitive events in the form of the annual Bowling Competition, and by a vote of 4 to 2 it was agreed to pay the entry fee of 8/- per rink. At this same meeting on 28/8/1889 the lodge sent a donation of £10 to Grand Lodge Benevolence –A huge sum of money in these days. The Lodge also attended the foundation stone laying ceremony of the Camlachie Institute with the Ceremony being carried out by Bro. John Graham PGM
The Lodge held a meeting on Christmas day 1889 to dispense 2/6 benevolence to a worthy Brother. The first recorded incident of the Lodge meeting on 25th December.
A major controversy arose at the Meeting on 22/1/1890, which was chaired by Bro. John Law PM.First of all the Junior Warden, Bro. T Richardson tendered a letter of resignation, which was then withdrawn. Following this a letter of resignation was read from Bro. Robert Gibson RWM. citing the reason as being “the unfaithfulness of some two Brothers”.The Lodge discussed the matter and by a majority of 1 decided to send a deputation to Bro. Gibson (comprising Bros. Richardson, Flint and Forsyth) to investigate the contents of his letter and the meeting was adjourned. This meeting resumed one-week later on 29/1/1890 and by a vote of 19 to 5 it was decided not to accept the resignation. It also transpired that Bro. Richardson had destroyed the Bro. Gibsons letter and was censured.
This problem rumbled on, as the Brethren were definitely unhappy with the conduct of the Master as the Minute of 5/2/1890 demonstrates
“ Masonic Hall, 27 Cowlairs Road,
Springburn.5th February 1890.
Lodge Kenmuir No 570.
Owing to obstruction amongst the Members of the Lodge, The Lodge was not opened.
Robert Gibson RWM
John Ferguson Secretary.”
To resolve the matter Provincial Grand Lodge, who were due to visit at the next meeting on 12/2/1890, ruled on the matter and decided that a new Nomination and Election take place which Bro. Gibson agreed to. The Nomination meeting was held on 26/2/1890 at which 2 candidates were put forward Bro. Gibson and Bro. Law. At the meeting on 12/3/1890 the most controversial election for the Office of Master took place in the history of Lodge Kenmuir. Bro. Gibson chairing the meeting decided there should be a secret ballot. The Deacons went round the hall with a selection of black and white balls and the Brethren were to select one
Black ball Bro. Robert Gibson
White ball Bro. John Law
The Ballot was taken and the result
Bro. Robert Gibson 22
Bro. John Law 22
It was noted by Bro. Gibson that the attendance was 45 and one Brother had not voted and while the Brother had the option to abstain, he felt it necessary to make sure that no mistake had been made. For the second time the Deacons came round with balls and the Brethren were instructed to select a ball to indicate they had exercised their right. The balls were counted –45 were present to indicate that 1 Brother had abstained. A further vote was then taken for Master with the result
Bro. Robert Gibson 22
Bro. John Law 22
Bro. Gibson then ruled on the matter and explained that “with all due respect to Bro. John Law, he would exercise his casting vote and retain the chair”.
This appeared to have concluded this whole sorry episode, although it did appear very close to splitting the Lodge right down the middle, which could have caused irreparable damage.
During this time it was reported that the Benevolent Fund stood at £17 and the Tyler (who was severely overworked) asked for an advance of salary as the Hall “was let 7 days a week including Sundays.” Not a lot is known about the tenants of the hall at this time, however we do know that the tenants included Knights Templar (Glasgow Early East Encampment.), the Salvation Army (who played the drum too loud!) and Cowlairs Football Club (who were expelled for non-payment of rent!).
By 21/5/1890 the Master decided that it was time that the Lodge had an official photograph taken of the Office-Bearers, and McClure, McDougal and Co were employed for this task.
The Lodge continued to alter the premises for themselves and the benefit of tenants and further major works were proposed on 13/8/1890.
A bit of a mystery presented itself in the minutes of the meeting held on 22/10/1890 as the Lodge passed an account for 6/- for the yacht account and it was hoped the Brethren would soon see it ! There is no further mention of this.
Bro. Gibson stood down at the next election and Bro. J Bryan came forward to take the chair and was duly installed on 26/11/1890 by Bro. R Gibson and Bro. J Law. For whatever reason Bro. J Bryan only attended 4 out of 19 meetings in that year and as such Bro. R Gibson, by and large, continued to chair the Lodge. Although on 2 occasions that year the Lodge was chaired by Bro. William Wilson SM.
It came as no surprise therefore when Bro. Gibson was nominated as Master on 11/11/1891 and the Lodge continued business as usual!
A complaint was made in the Lodge on 13/1/1892 that the Hall was too cold! Some things never change!
The renovation was now complete and the Consecration of the hall
co-incided with the annual PGL Visit which was headed by Bro. John Graham who commented favourably on the “commodious Hall”.
The photographs were now available at a price of £2-0-0 –in a frame—a really expensive price. Unfortunately, as far as I know, none survive. At this same meeting held on 23/11/1892 two Brethren, Forsyth and Reid, were nominated for Life Membership of the Lodge.
At this period Bro. J McKell who had been the Hallkeeper since 1885 retired and was thanked for his sterling service.
The Lodge had an innovation at their meeting on 17/1/1893 when Bro. Robert Somerville PM 384 Kirkintilloch St John. delivered a lecture entitled “The 3 sustaining Pillars of Craft Freemasonry”.
By 1/2/1893 a new Tyler, Bro. Rolis was appointed after 2 ballots! , At a salary of £12 per year with an incentive of 7 ½ % of all letting fees. Performance related pay for the Tyler!
At the meeting held on 29/3/1893 a Mark Degree was conferred by Bro. R Bradshaw of Cathedral Chapter No 67. At the same meeting, Bro. Gibson accepted on behalf of the Lodge 2 Mark Stones from Bro. J Flint and a pay wicket from Bro.T Wilson---Both of whom had been staunch supporters of Bro. Gibson and stalwarts of the Lodge since 1885.
On 26/4/1893 the Lodge decided that the Test Fee should reduce from 3/- to 2/-. I dread to think what the current Treasurer would say about that! It was also reported that a new lease had been agreed at £34 per annum. The lease was to run for 10 years.
The Lodge was fairly active in visits in 1893/1894 with attendances at the opening of new halls at Lodge Kilwinning No 0 and Lodge Scotia No 178.
Bro. Robert Gibson continued as Master in1893/1894 and Bro. J Flint continuing as Depute Master for the 7th time.
An interesting letter from Grand Lodge was read at the meeting on 13/6/1894 stating that no Annuity and Benevolence meeting would be held as no funds were available to disperse.
Numbers of Intrants (18 in1893, 15 in1894) were falling and attendances generally were on the decrease. Indeed in 25/7/1894 there is the only reported instance of the Lodge being unable to open due to lack of numbers.
The Secretary in 1894, Bro. Samuel Dunwoody recorded the financial state of the Lodge in the Minute book.
General Fund £17-9-8
Benevolent Fund £33-14-41/2
Lodge Property £70-10-6
Rent Due £3-6-3
The Lodge met with trustees of the Masonic Temple Share Holdings who asked the Lodge to contribute £25 to this Temple Building scheme. The Lodge gave this serious consideration and intended to use the Benevolent Fund for this---However they decided not to proceed. This did, however plant the seed in the mind of the Lodge that one day it might have its own premises.
On 13/11/1895 Bro. David Miller was proposed as Master and on the same evening it was decided that the Secretary should read out a list of Office-Bearers attendances prior to the election—This same practice is still carried 106 years later.
Bro. Robert Gibson installed his successor, Bro. D Miller as Master for year 1895/96 on 27/11/95. Bro. John Law PM was also installed as Chaplain at the same meeting. Bro. Gibson was thanked by Bro. Miller for the manner he had led the Lodge over the last 10 years and at the following meeting he was presented with a purse of sovereigns and a PM jewel.
For these last 10 years it was interesting to note some of the professions of the candidates who joined the Lodge, which in turn mirrored the society of Springburn over this period. Some of the Occupations were Coalminer, Ironman , Pit engineman, Miller ,Janitor, Carriage trimmer , Potato merchant ,Pudding manufacturer , Draper , Machine man , and (my own personal favourite!) Mechanical dentist !
This brought down the curtain on Bro. Gibsons “career “ as Master of the Lodge. No master has ever served as many terms as RWM as Bro. Gibson nor I suspect will they ever do.
From the minutes you can detect Bro. Gibson’s passion for Lodge Kenmuir, which sustained the Lodge in the early days and then, made it thrive. Certainly Bro. Gibsons illness and the death of his wife took a lot out of him and in the later years you get the impression his health was failing and he did not have the same energy for the Lodge.
What cannot be denied, however, is the great debt which 570 owes him, if it was not for Bro. Gibson the Lodge would not have been resuscitated and our number would have been consigned to the archives of Grand Lodge.
When Bro. Gibson stood down, as Master for the last time in 1895 the Lodge was healthy in terms of finance and to lesser extent candidates. This growth in membership would continue apace and necessitate the need for larger premises while the growth in finance would enable the Lodge to fulfill its dream of their own Masonic Hall.
However it did take 3 or 4 Committees and eventually it all came together very quickly---The last of the Committees were appointed on 27/11/1907 and the new premises was to be constructed only 14 months later.
The Lodge did seem to suffer following the loss of Bro. Gibsons leadership—perhaps it was felt that a Master needed more than 3 years to make his mark!
Bro. D Millers term of Master spanned 3 years and the work of the Lodge was very hectic at this time. From 1896 to 1898 over 50 candidates joined each year. This necessitated an abundance of Degree work, which tended to reduce other information contained in the Minutes.
At the Provincial Visitation on 10/3/1897, Bro. Simons SPGM reported that the Lodge was “still progressing”. Following this the Deputation were all made Honorary Members of 570.
At this same time Bro. Tibbert WSW made a presentation to the Lodge of a coffin, an hourglass and a scythe and was duly thanked by Bro. D Miller, Master. I do not know if any of these are still in use. It is not stated if the emblems of Mortality were presented at this time—The skull has plaque attached, which has inscribed upon it
along with cross bones
Lodge Marie Stuart , No 541
by Bro. John Johnston
as First Substitute MasterPM No 449 R.A.M., K.R.C.J., K.T.
7th November 1873”
This Lodge, Lodge Marie Stuart No 541, is no longer active and I am unaware how this object came to rest in the vault in 570.
The Lodge reported on the outcome of a church service held in Cowlairs Parish Church with income from the collection being £5-2-9
Donation to the church £1-0-0
Balance to Benevolent Fund £4-2-9
The Lodge also purchased an organ for use in the Lodge –At a cost of £12-0-0! and agreed to transfer all its money to The Savings Bank.
Bro. Miller was re-installed as Master on 24/11/1897 by his Installing Master Bro. Munro Denholm Grand Junior Deacon. The Lodge also announced that its 14th (?) Annual Supper would be held on 11th February 1898 and its 2nd Annual Church Service would be held in June 1898.
The Lodge at this point still only uplifted one collection at its meetings-For Benevolence. One can only assume that the income from the Hall and the Fees payable from the numerous candidates supported the General Fund. It is also interesting to note that the Lodge did not restrict its Benevolence grants to its own Members; A Brother from a Lodge in Paisley received the sum of 2/6 at the meeting on 23/2/1898.
On 14/9/1898 the Lodge decided to send a deputation to witness the laying of a Foundation Stone of the Govan Town Hall—Alas a building no longer used.
The Meeting held on 26/10/1898 was an interesting one as the Lodge decided to carry out certain works---Erecting a signboard outside the premises and fitting a letterbox! On the Regalia side it was agreed to purchase a new Depute Masters apron, cuffs for the RWM and a bag to store working aprons in. The Lodge also wished to create a new Office in the Lodge ---Lodge Doctor and Grand Lodge were to approached about this. Guess what Grand Lodge’s answer was!
At this same meeting the Minister of Cowlairs Parish Church, (where both services had been held), Rev John G Duncan was initiated into the Craft—The Brethren had obviously spread the Gospel!
At the meeting on 2/11/1898 Bro. A Briggs, a Bank Agent for the Royal Bank of Scotland, was initiated. He was to be extremely important for the future of Lodge Kenmuir, especially for his financial acumen.
The ByeLaws were further reviewed on 23/11/1898 and at the same meeting the Treasures gave a financial report;
General Fund £106 18 8
Benevolent Fund £41 19 ½
Property £72 9 3
Liabilities £30 0 0
Credit £191 6 11 ½
An election was held for the Office of Master at this same meeting with Bro. Kirkland being (surprisingly) successful over Bro. D Miller, the Reigning Master. No voting score was recorded and Bro. Kirkland was duly installed as Master. Bro. Kirkland was the first Master of the Lodge to be a Justice of the Peace. He also owned a printing firm located at in Keppochhilll Road at which all the Lodge publications were printed at for many years to come!
The Lodge was continuing to grow at a rapid rate with a further 45 candidates joining in the next year which prompted the Lodge to order
“24 aprons at 36/- per dozen, and
12 aprons at 30/- per dozen”
The Lodge obviously got discount after the first 2 dozen!
The Lodge was still harbouring an idea of obtaining their own property and on 10/5/1899 Bro. D Miller IPM moved a Notice of Motion that “ The Office –Bearers of the Lodge consider what steps could be taken to build a Lodge room for Lodge Kenmore and report back in 6 months”. This was further reinforced at the next meeting on 24/5/1899 when the Lodge decided against the forming of a Co-operative Masonic Hall in Glasgow, and intimated this to Provincial Grand Lodge, albeit the margin was only 27-26.
The Lodge continued with its tradition of church services and held its last one of the 19th Century on 27/9/1899 with the income being; £11-5-9 ¾
Expenditure being £ 8-4-10
The balance of £3-0-11 ¾ going to the Benevolent fund. A special thank you was afforded to Bro. Briggs who paid for the Order of Service.
Bro. Kirkland continued as Master and at he meeting on 8/11/1899 it was decided that the “Master, and the Master alone, would be responsible for the press where the refreshments are stored.”---Perhaps some Brother had been too thirsty at the previous meeting! On the same night the Lodge also presented a Mark Stone, a Scarf Pin and a pipe on the occasion of Bro. George Frame leaving the district. The Lodge also congratulated Bro. John King on his re-election to the “Town Council of Glasgow”
At the meeting on 22/11/1899 the Treasurer presented a further glowing report on the finances of the Lodge;
General Fund £97 11 8
Benevolent Fund £47 6 11
Property £83 11 4
Liabilities £ 6 0 0
Creditors £222 9 11
The Lodge also made a grant of 5 Guineas to the relief fund of war reserve of men’s wives and families (Boer War)The first meeting of the 20th Century was held on 10/1/1900 and the First Degree was conferred on Bros. James Briggs and Hugh Mill, and the Second Degree was conferred on Bro. Alex Sharp. Both Degrees were conferred by Bro. R Kirkland, Master, who also installed Bro. Rev. John Duncan as Chaplain.
Bro. John Graham Provincial Grand Master headed the Provincial Grand Lodge Deputation on 14/3/1900, which mentioned a record number of Candidates (at that time) of 53.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. W Clark and the wife of Bro. A Briggs. It was reported that the Annual Lodge Festival had made a loss of £1-16-6! This would never happen today with our social committee today!
It is interesting to note that a year had now elapsed since the Committee was set up to consider premises for the Lodge and yet still no report had been forthcoming.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. John Turnbull who had been Lodge Secretary for a number of years, and the current Secretary Bro. John Coutts was instructed to write a letter of condolence. At the same meeting on 26/9/1900 a gentleman from the outside world (or “neutral world” as it was referred to), a Mr A Capaldi, was refused entry to the Lodge by 7 black balls! The earliest recorded “black-balling”
Bro. Kirkland continued as Master again and the Treasurer gave the following report;
General Fund £159 0 0
Property £85 2 3
Liabilities £ 5 10 0
Creditors £290 17 4 ½
The Lodge continued to grow financially.
The Lodge recorded the following minute on 23/1/1901
“Bro. Robert Kirkland RWM referred to the death of the Queen and moved that as an expression of our sorrow at her death, and sympathy with the Royal Family as well as the earnest hope for the happiness and prosperity of the reign of King Edward the Seventh be recorded in our minutes”
As a further mark of respect no harmony was held that night.
The number of intrants for the Lodge was still very healthy --- 50 in 1901. The lodge also made a donation to the “Supplementary relief fund for the War” (Boer War again) and increased the life Membership Fee from £2-10-0 to £3-0-0 at the meeting on 27/02/1901. (The date today that I write this is 27/02/2001!)
On 10/04/1901 the Bro. Rev. John Duncan reported on his recent visit to Palestine and informed the Brethren of the state of Freemasonry there. He also presented the Lodge with a Mallet made from the wood from Mount Lebanon and was thanked by Bro. Kirkland Master----Could this be the mallet still in use today? The Lodge also made a presentation to Bro. A Powel SW of a “gold albert and appenditure” to mark the occasion of his marriage. At the meeting on 26/05/1901 the Lodge agreed to pay £5 to support the annual excursion—it seems the Lodge were starting to struggle to get support for social events.
However an annual event that was not suffering was the church service which produced the following:
Income £9 15 0
Expenditure £5 7 6
Profit to Benevolence £4 7 6
It seems that the Brethren would rather attend a church service than go to a dance or picnic!
The Mastership of Bro. Kirkland came to an end when Bro. John King was nominated as master on 13/11/1901. Bro. John King had not even been in Office the previous year so he certainly appeared to be a surprise choice as RWM. Strangely enough it was decided at this meeting that the Office-Bearers attendance be included on the balance sheet for the year as well as being read in open Lodge. Perhaps this was to reinforce (or even undermine) the election of Bro. John King. What certainly is clear, however, is the thriving financial position of the Lodge;
General Fund £187 15 7 ½
Benevolent Fund £ 67 12 3
Lodge Property £86 7 9
Creditors £337 15 7 ½
From this we can see that Liabilities have now been eliminated while creditors (most likely hall letting fees) had increased.
Bro. John King was duly elected as Master on 27/11/01 but not installed until Christmas Day 1901(he missed the meeting on 11/12/1901 due to illness). He was installed by Bro. Denholm Senior Grand Warden (and also an Honorary Member of 570), which is the highest ranking Grand Lodge Office-Bearer ever to work a degree at Lodge Kenmuir (as far as I am aware). This is the only recorded date that an installation was held on Christmas Day. At this same meeting which lasted from 7.10PM till 11.20PM a first Degree was also conferred. Happy Christmas Everybody?The Master Bro. John King was absent from the meeting on 22/01/1902 but submitted apology .He was referred to as Bro. Baillie John King indicating the fact that he had been made a Justice of the Peace. A Bro. William Gilmour was initiated at this meeting ---one assumes it is not the current Depute Provincial Grand Master! Bro. King RWM was to miss numerous meetings during the year due to his Civic Duties.
At the meeting on 9/4/1902 the following minute was recorded
“On the Motion of Bro. R Kirkland IPM the Lodge record in our minutes an expression of our deep sympathy with the sufferers of the Ibrox Football Disaster,”20 people had been killed when part of the stand had collapsed at Ibrox. The Lodge also granted £1 to the disaster fund.
The question of a new hall raised its head again and it was decided on 11/6/1902 that at the next meeting that “ full consideration would be given”. At the next meeting on 25/6/1902 Bro. King Master was absent but sent a letter recommending that “we appoint a strong Committee”. The following Brethren were appointed Bro. J King
Bro. W Sharpe
Bro. R Gibson
Bro. G Gibbs
Bro. A Grant (Alastair!?)
Bro. A Sharpe
Bro. J Minn
Bro. R Kirkland
Bro. J Melville (Jimmy!?)
Bro. J Combe
Bro. J Reid
It was clear that there had been rumblings about the commitment of the Master, as the Lodge passed a resolution in their “ unabated confidence in the uprightness and integrity of our RWM” at the meeting on 13/8/1902. Sounds like the Board giving its backing to the Manager of a Football Club to me! At the same meeting the Secretary Bro. D Coutts returned from illness after 4 months and was duly welcomed back (not least of which by the “pro tem” Secretary Bro. Borthwick !)
It was also noted that Bro Robert Gibson PM had been elected as Provincial Grand Junior Warden—The highest Provincial Rank held by any Member of 570 at that time.
Bro. J King, Master was again nominated as Master (he was now ex-Baillie) and installed on 25/11/02 with the rest of the Office-Bearers. At this same meeting the Treasurer presented the financial report
General Fund £300 15 4 ½
Benevolent Fund £ 71 0 4 ½
Lodge Property £87 13 9
Balance £459 9 8
There were three nominations for the Office of Master
Bro. R Gibson
Bro. A Briggs
Bro. W Williamson
Bro. A Briggs prevailed and was duly installed as Master on 25/02/1903. Bro. Briggs was also a JP and the third consecutive Master to hold this rank. A new Treasurer was installed that night Bro. A Powel and a new Chaplain Bro. Rev. John Dickie MA.
The Lodge had been fairly quiet on the social front for a while, although 2 “smoking concerts “ had raised the sum of £6-16-9. The Lodge had also held a “Lime Light Entertainment” on 27/05/1903, which raised the sum of £13-1-6, which was donated to the Provincial Grand Lodge bazaar Fund.
At the meeting on 30/05/1903 a James Breeze, occupation Engineer, joined the Lodge giving his address as The Tower, Springburn. A building, which still stands today.
The Lodge, still socially minded, arranged a sports competition for 20/06/1903 against Lodge St Andrew No 465 and donated a £1 for prizes—alas no results were reported. We probably got stuffed again! However the sports must have been well supported as the profit raised was £20-18-4 which was donated to the Provincial Grand Lodge Annuity fund.
The Lodge was unhappy about the lack of progress made by the Hall Committee and it decided to discharge them and form a new one on 14/10/1903 comprising
Bro. A Sharpe
Bro. A Grant (Alastair again?)
Bro. R Gibson
Bro. W Sharpe
Bro. R Kirkland
Bro. T Henry
The Committee was instructed to “see after a site for the hall and report back not later than January 1904.”
Bro. A Briggs ,Master, was a banker and on his business acumen it was decided to transfer £500 from savings and invest it in a Glasgow City Loan for 12 months. The lodge was certainly making money at this time, but Bro. Briggs, from his knowledge of finance, was to be a prudent financial advisor of the lodge for many years to come.The excessive workload of the Secretary and the Treasurer was certainly recognised at the meeting of 11/11/1903 when they were awarded increased emoluments of £5 and £2 respectively.
Bro. Briggs made reference to the “new Licensing Bill” and it was decided that “we adopt option 3 of Grand Lodge and allow some dealer in excisable liquor to sell for the Lodge at his own risk or profit and get a special licence for that purpose” ---- Alas this law is still with us today.
It is interesting to note that the 4 options for alcohol (or excisable liquor) as per Grand Lodge were;
“1. It may limit itself to refreshments absolutely excluding excisable liquor,
Grand Lodge ordered the Lodges to inscribe this in the Minutes (25/11/1903)---one assumes so that Lodges could not claim ignorance of the Act.
Once again the finances of the Lodge were healthy;
General Fund £433 12 11
Benevolent Fund £ 96 3 11
Lodge Property £73 6 9
Balance £603 3 3
At this it meeting Bro. Briggs was the only candidate for RWM and duly installed by Bro. Robert Gibson PM.
The Building Committee, which had been appointed on 14/10/1903, were given further guidance by the Lodge in terms of their goal; “to build a hall to hold about 350 and find a site for same.” This figure was based on the Secretary’s prediction on how the Lodge would grow over the next 10 years based on its growth in recent years,
The Hall Committee reported back on 9/12/1903 that they had found a suitable site in Mollinsburn Street and were instructed to secure that site. —However this did not materialise and the impetus for new premises fizzled out once again. At this same time Bro. Briggs RWM asked for Provincial Grand Lodge to advance funds for the construction of a new hall---This was refused. This would come back to haunt Provincial Grand Lodge when they were to ask the Lodge for funds to build a Hall in the future!
At this time Bro. R Gibson PM was also Provincial Grand Junior Warden and Bro. Carlton Smyth MM 570 Provincial Grand Director of Music—obviously this didn’t carry sufficient clout when looking for funds.
Provincial Grand Lodge visited the Lodge on 23/03/1904 and recorded the fact that the Lodge had initiated 75 candidates during the last year. At this meeting was also decided to challenge Lodge St Andrew No 465 to a return sports match on the same format as the previous year.
At the meeting on 10/08/1904 the Lodge decided to break from tradition by agreeing to donate the collection from its annual church service to the Springburn Sick Nursing Association.
However this caused friction between the Lodge and the Chaplain Bro. Rev. J Dickie of Springburn Parish who advised that any collection uplifted in the church would be for the church. The Lodge considered this but decided to stick to its guns and that the collection would go to the Springburn Sick Nursing Association.
Bro. Rev. J Dickie was very unhappy about this and resigned on the spot and left the Lodge refusing to salute the Chair. The Lodge immediately moved the service to Cowlairs Church where the Springburn Sick Nursing Association benefited by £8-12-4.
At the meeting on 23/11/1904 the death of Bro. John Graham PGM HM 570 was recorded with sadness and it was intimated that 1 months mourning would be observed. Bro. Briggs continued as Master and Bro. J Duncan stepped into the Office of Chaplain.Once again the Treasurer presented a glowing report.
General Fund £490 1 6
Benevolent Fund £127 12 ½
Lodge Property £74 0 6
Balance £611 14 ½
An interesting Notice of Motion was proposed by Bro. J Anderson at the meeting held on 11/01/1905 “ That on or after this date all Lodge meetings whether harmony or otherwise be conducted on strict Temperance principles. That no intemperate liquor be bought or sold or used in any way by the members.” The vote was taken at the meeting on 08/02/1905 and the results were:
For the Motion 35
For the Amendment (Status Quo) 63
Lodge Kenmuir did not become a Temperance Lodge. Cheers!
The Annual Church Service was again held at Cowlairs Parish with the Benevolent Fund benefiting by £3-6-9 this time.
It was reported that Bro. S Dunwoody, a past Secretary of Lodge Kenmuir, had died in Chicago at an early age.
At the Nomination meeting on 8/11/1905 Bro. Briggs decided to step down as Master and there were 3 Nominations for the Office;
Bro. R Watson
Bro. A Grant
Bro. A Stanley
At the election meeting on 22/11/1905 Bro. R Watson was declared as Master.
The Treasurer presented the following statement
General Fund £510 2 1 ½
Benevolent Fund £148 6 8
Lodge Property £68 3 1
Balance £726 12 8 ½
The Secretary’s and Treasurers Emoluments were increased to 7 Guineas and 3 Guineas respectively.
An interesting meeting was held on 6/12/1905 at which the current Master, Bro. A Briggs was present but the Master-Elect Bro. R Watson chaired the meeting at which the 1st and 2nd Degrees were conferred. As far as I am aware this is the only instance of this occurring. The Installation was held the following week on 13/12/1905.
An unusual incident happened at the meeting on 27/12/1905 when the Lodge decided to appoint a Shooting Committee! Now there’s an idea!
An interesting change was made to the Byelaws in 10/01/1906 when it was decided to reduce the number of consecutive terms from 3 to 2 the Master must serve to become a Life Member. I can only assume that this would encourage the Master to step down after 2 years and thereby encourage more movement through progressive Offices to the Chair.
1905/06 was a relatively poor year for candidates as only 37 joined the Lodge as recorded at the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation on 14/02/1906.One month later at the meeting on 14/03/1906 a presentation was made to Bro. Briggs IPM in the form of “a very valuable gold watch and diamond PM jewel and a complete edition of the works of Charles Dickens. A solid silver tea set, a rose bowl and a set of spoons was presented to Mrs Briggs, his wife”(Obviously Bro. Briggs had re-married).
Bro. Briggs had also written the minutes for this meeting as interim Secretary---He was an excellent Master for the Lodge but as a Secretary his writing was almost as good as mine!
At the meeting on 25/04/1906 another of Kenmuirs Brethren was leaving these shores—Bro. Huggan was bound for Canada and was presented with a Masonic Apron and travelling case. At the same meeting it was also agreed to purchase a piano as long as the cost did not exceed £20!
Great news (for me writing the history) occurred at the meeting on 24/10/1906 when Bro. Briggs stood down as interim Secretary and was thanked for his work. Bro. David Coutts (an extremely legible Brother!) resumed as Secretary.
The Treasurer presented the following financial report;
General Fund £520 7 ½
Benevolent Fund £188 10 8
Lodge Property £86 10 8
Balance £795 5 11½
Information like this is not always recorded in the minutes and I certainly feel that it is worth recording in the history of the Lodge as it gives a valuable snapshot of information, So what would this be worth in today’s values? Well there are probably many was of looking at it—but here are two for you to think about
METHOD 1: INITIATION FEE
The Initiation Fee in 1905 was £3—Today it is £158
The value of the Lodge in 1905 was 267 times the value of the initiation fee.
This would make the value of the Lodge today 267 x 158 =£42146.
METHOD 2: BUILDING COSTS
The Lodge would build a hall in Vulcan Street costing approx. £2500. This would be approx. 3 times the shown value of the Lodge
The same building today would cost approx. £1M to buy the land and construct
This would make the Lodge approx. worth £333,000 in today’s value.
The true value probably lies somewhere between these two calculations, however either way you look at it the Lodge was very wealthy
Another element of information that tends to be missing from the minutes is the attendance—the only exception being where there is a vote but that would obviously exclude abstentions. However at the meeting on 28/11/1906 part of theSecretarys report relating to attendance is contained in the minutes;
Regular Meetings 22
Special Meetings 13
Average Regular Meetings 81
Average Special Meetings 50
Average for year 2449
I would have expected higher attendance’s than this give the high number of candidates as from a percentage point of view these attendance’s are substantially lower than ours today—Last years(1999/2000) average was 50 from a Qualified Membership of just over 100.
Bro. Watson continued as Master and was installed by Bro. Robert Gibson on 12/12/1906.
At the meeting on 27/02/1907 the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation took place and it was noted that the Lodge had an increase in candidates for the Year---48 in total. Bro. A A Hagart Speirs headed this deputation and was granted Honorary Membership at the completion of the Visitation.
In the summer period the Lodge again held its usual activities---A summer cruise (complete with band) and a church service which raised the sum of £2-9-9 ½ for the Benevolent Fund.
At the meeting on 25/09/1907 it was agreed to discharge the Hall Committee once again as no progress had been achieved.
At the Nomination meeting 2 Brethren were put forward as Master—Bro. A Grant and Bro. J Tibbert---with Bro. A Grant prevailing as Master at the election meeting on 22/11/1907.Thus ended the Mastership of Bro. R Watson, he would be Master again however in 1918 and 1919 with Lodge Springburn and become the only Brother ever to be Master of both 570 and 1198.
The Treasurer presented the following report at this same meeting
General Fund £639 8 8 ½
Benevolent Fund £219 12 2
Lodge Property £82 12 4
Balance £941 13 2½
Attendances were as follows
22 Regular Meetings Average 101
15 Special Meetings Average 19
Overall Attendances 2509
At the same meeting yet another Hall Committee was appointed comprising:
Bro. A Briggs
Bro. R Kirkland
Bro. W Robertson
Bro. R Gibson
Bro. A Grant
Bro. H Campbell
Bro. J Findlay
Bro. R Watson
Bro. W McConnell
Bro. D Coutts
Bro. W Milne
Bro. D Mc Parland
Bro. D Tennant
Bro. T Forsyth
This was to be a different Hall Committee from all previous Hall Committees---This one would produce a Hall for the Lodge.
Bro. A A Hagart Speirs returned to the Lodge on 12/2/1908 noting that 66 intrants had passed through the Lodge in the last year and “ He was glad to hear of the intention to build a new hall and it was very much required owing to the increase in numbers.”
At the following meeting on 26/02/1908 Bro. R Watson IPM was presented with a framed photograph of the Office-Bearers for that year – Unfortunately this no longer exists. This was also an extremely important meeting in respect of the new premises as the following Minute is recorded:
“The new Hall was then considered. Bro. A Grant RWM stated that the Committee had various sites in Springburn in view and wished the Brethren to state their views on the erection of a New Hall as it would depend on the financial support the Committee received to make the Hall a success. Bro Coutts (Secretary) gave a statement on the increases in Membership for the last ten years which showed that a New Hall was very much required as we had added about 300 to our own Test Fee Membership. The loans secured up to the present was £452 promised by 45 Members.Bro. Cotts moved the following motion which was recommended by the Committee. That the Committee approve the building of a New Hall and that they receive powers from the Lodge to provisionally secure a site for same and to engage an Architect to prepare plans of the Hall with probable cost. The same to be submitted to the Lodge before any further expense is incurred and Seconded by Bro. McFarlandl”
This Notice of Motion was passed at the next Meeting held on 11/03/908 by which time the Loan amount had increased to £674.
The Lodge was obviously quite willing to proceed with this venture and was extremely confident despite two minor problems;
Despite this the Lodge were sure that these problems could be overcome.At the meeting on 8/04/1908 a presentation was made to Bro. R Watson IPM in the form of a “PM Jewel with a diamond centre and a watch, and for Mrs Watson a gold ring set with diamonds.” An evening cruise was planned at this same meeting for later in the year and it was agreed to ask “Chapter Margaret” to assist. Of course the Margaret Chapter (OES) are still a tenant of Lodge Kenmuir after all these years.
At the meeting on 22/04/1908 the first Annuitant of Grand Lodge is recorded—Bro. A Wilson at £10 per Annum.
The Hall Committee had been very busy (which, to be honest, was very unusual for Hall Committees up till this date!) since the meeting in March of 1908 and by June they recommended that the Lodge purchase ground in Vulcan Street being 443 square yards and 6 square feet at 11/- per square yard. The Minutes seem to suggest that the seller of the land Neilson Estate (of railway fame) approached the Lodge to see if they wished to purchase this gap-site sandwiched between the Mission-Hall and the Library (both built 1904). In addition the site had high-level or “saloon “ backcourts at the rear. The Title deeds of the land are quite revealing---The title deeds gave permission for a structure to be built on the land but it was to be of a certain height and detailed other requirements-
“(The Lodge)…would be bound to erect within six months from the term of entry after specified and thereafter to keep in good order and repair in all time coming and when necessary to rebuild upon the said plot of ground a Masonic Hall and necessary Offices constructed therewith not exceeding fifty feet to the ridge of the roof in height above the level of Vulcan Street of the value of £1000 at least amd of a neat design and elevation. In the event of the said Hall and offices ceasing to be used as a Masonic Hall and Offices (The Lodge) shall be entitled to convert the same into or erect on the said plot of ground a tenement of dwelling houses or shops and dwelling houses not exceeding four storeys in height”
As it turned out this was a good deal for both the Lodge and Neilson
”Neilson looked for a site of a new factory…he found it in Springburn .In the middle of that district of hills, half a mile North of St Rollox and a quarter of a mile East of Cowlairs was a pleasant meadow bounded on one side by the Sighthill branch of the Edinburgh & Glasgow Railway and with the Caledonian main line from Buchanan Street not far away….. Neilson took the name of the street his old works had been in –Hyde Park”. The factory finally opened in 1861.
This awkward gap-site which the Lodge purchased was the last remnant of this “pleasant meadow” which had lain unused for almost 50 years. Probably the Neilson Estate was quite glad to get shot of it and get some money in the process.2.From the Lodges point of view If the project failed then they would be able to convert the property into accommodation and thereby saving
The Hall Committee also submitted 3 sets of plans for the Members to consider and offer their viewpoints---Unfortunately the 2 sets of plans which were not chosen no longer survive. By the meeting on 26/08/08 the land was purchased, the plan decided upon and the completion date set for 1st March 1909!
At the meeting on 09/09/1908 it was reported that the cruise had raised the sum of £1-19-0 which was donated to the Building Fund (It needed all the money it could get!)
At this same meeting the Office-Bearers recommended that a “Foundation Stone ceremony would be in order” and this was organised for 10/10/1908.It was also agreed that members be notified by circular asking for loans----There was still insufficient money to pay for the works.
One of the most frequently asked questions in Lodge Kenmuir is “Why is the Foundation Stone half-way up the wall?” I think the answer is this---The work on the Temple commenced in July or possibly August 1908 but the idea of the “Foundation Stone “ was not raised until September 1908 and the ceremony did not take place till October 1908.By this time 3 months work had elapsed on the project and work was obviously at 1st floor level---hence the location of the “Foundation Stone”.
The Lodge held a Regular meeting on 14/10/1908 at which Bro. A A Hagart Speirs PGM congratulated the Brethren on the success of the ceremony of the laying of the Foundation stone and enclosed a cheque for the sum of 5 Guineas for the Benevolent Fund. At this same meeting the Secretary Bro. D Coutts asked the Lodges permission to enter a full statement of the ceremony of the Foundation Stone to record this information for the future. This is the record entered in the Minute Book on 14th October 1908.
“Ceremony of laying the Foundation Stone of New Hall in Vulcan Street on Saturday 10th October 1908.
The PGL of Glasgow was opened in the Hall of Lodge Kenmuir, 27 Cowlairs Road at 2.45 PM.
Present------Bros. AA Speirs PGM ,Alexander Bruce DPGM ,W Munro Denholm SPGM , William Brownlie SPGW, James Duncan McEwan JPGW , J McNaught Campbell PG Sec ,Daniel Gilfillan PG Treasurer of Benevolence, James Murray PG Treasurer of Annuity Fund , the Rev T Angus Morrison PG Chaplain , John Fergusson SPGD , David McArthur JPGD , Alexander Duthie PGJ,John McKinnon PGBB , Carlton Hugh Smyth PGDOM ,Alfred James Lancashire PGO ,John Bisset Morrison PG Marshall , H J Humphreys PGIG , David Reid Grand Secretary , Baillie Archibald Campbell RWM No 87 , William Lauderdale PPGBB , George Mc Kenzie JW No 73 , Robert Jackson PM No 413 , William Falconer PM No 556 and Past PGSW , Alexander Grant RWM and Robert Gibson PPGJW AND Baillie McInnes Shaw PM 510.
Deputations from 55 Daughter Lodges to the number of about 700 assembled in Elmvale School , Hawthorn Street where they were marshalled by Bro. JB Morrison PG Marshall and Bro. G Henry Marshall No 570. The Company from Cowlairs Rd was conveyed to Elmvale School in Landaus and joined the procession which marched by way of Hawthorn Street , Springburn Road , Flemington Street , Ayr Street to Vulcan Street and formed open order and the PGL passed through the open ranks with the Office-Bearers of Lodge Kenmuir carrying the working tools , the privilege for which was granted by Glasgow St John No 3bis . Bros. A Briggs PM , R Kirkland PM , R Watson IPM carried the presentation tools. Bro. W Robertson the Plumb , Bro. Smith the Level , Bro. T Forsyth the Cornucopia , Bro. J McGill the Wine Vase , Bro. J Scott the Oil Vase , Bro. D Coutts the jar containing the current coins and other papers –a full description of which is affixed to first page of this (Minute) book.
After the National Anthem Bro. J Laird presented Bro. AA Speirs PGM with a Silver Trowel from the Architect , Measurers and Contractors. Bro. A Grant RWM of Lodge Kenmuir presented Bro. AA Speirs with a Mallet , Bro. Denholm a Square , Bro. Brownlie a Level , Bro. McEwan a Plumb made of wood from the Old Royal Infirmary as momentos of the Occasion. The jar having been inserted by Bros. McNaught Campbell and Gilfillan into the Stone and the Stone having been truly laid by Bro. AA Speirs PGM , Bro. A Grant RWM in the name of Lodge Kenmuir thanked Bro. AA Speirs and the Brethren of PGL for their attendance and the impressive manner in which the ceremony had been conducted. Bro. Speirs replied and congratulated the RWM and the Members of Lodge Kenmuir on the Building, which was to be the Home of the Lodge.
The PGL was closed in 27 Cowlairs Road and the Brethren proceeded to the Drill Hall in Keppochhill Road for refreshments where Bro. AA Speirs and Bro. A Grant addressed a few words to the Brethren and thanked them for their attendance and orderly conduct.
Apologies for absence were received from Lady Ann Speirs , Lord Provost Bilsland , Sir John McPherson Grant SGM, John Miller GM , Col Heys PGM Renfrewshire East , Col Henry Brock PGM Dumbartonshire , John King PM 570 , John Law PM 570, Mr Mrs Reid.
The inscription contained in the Minute book is as follows;
“Contents of jar placed in stone at laying of Memorial Stone of Hall for Lodge Kenmuir on 10th October 1908
Glasgow Herald and Daily Record of 10th October 1908
Glasgow News, Evening Citizen and Evening Times of 9th October 1908
St Rollox and Springburn Express of 10th September and 8th October 1908
Grand Lodge Laws, Annual Account and Financial statement for 1907
Bye-laws of Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow, Annual Report and Financial Statement for 1907
Rules of Masonic Bowling and Golf Matches
Constitution and Laws of Masters and Past Masters Association of the Province of Glasgow
Bye-laws of Lodge Kenmuir
Annual Report for 1907
Calendar and list of Members for 1908
Two circulars issued to Members re Hall
Three circulars to Members re Foundation Stone Ceremony
Invitation Card to Ceremony
Copy of Form of Ceremonial at Ceremony
Specimen Notes of the following Banks;
Royal Bank of Scotland £1 Note
National Bank of Scotland £1 Note
British Linen Bank £100, £20, £10, £5 and £1
Description of the Industries of Springburn by Bro. Briggs
Coins of the Realm of 1908 sovereign and half-Sovereign, half-crown, florin, shilling, sixpence, threepence, penny, halfpenny and farthing.
Corporation diary for 1907/1908.
City Coat of Arms
Kings Maundy Money
We certify that we deposited the above articles in the jar.
Alexander Grant RWM
David Coutts Secretary
The above jar and its contents was sealed by me on 10th October
Another account is given in the proceedings of Provincial Grand Lodge for 1908
“At a Special Meeting of the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow, held in Kenmuir Lodge Room, 27 Cowlairs Road, Springburn, on Saturday 10th October, 1908, at Half-past Two o’clock p.m.
Present------Bros. A,A Speirs of Elderslie PGM in the Chair ,Alexander Bruce DPGM ,W Munro Denholm SPGM , William Brownlie SPGW, James Duncan McEwan JPGW , J McNaught Campbell PG Sec ,Daniel Gilfillan PG Treasurer of Benevolence, James Murray PG Treasurer of Annuity Fund , the Rev T Angus Morrison PG Chaplain , John Fergusson SPGD , David McArthur JPGD , Alexander Duthie PGJ,John McKinnon PGBB , Carlton Hugh Smyth PGDOM ,Alfred James Lancashire PGO ,John Bisset Morrison PG Marshall , H J Humphreys PGIG , David Reid Grand Secretary , Baillie Archibald Campbell RWM No 87 , William Lauderdale PM No 117 , George Mc Kenzie JW No 73 , Robert Jackson PM No 413 , William Falconer PM No 556 and Past PGSW , Alexander Grant RWM and Robert Gibson PM No 570 and the following PG Stewards Harry McInnes No 73 , Thomas Arnot No 465 , Donald Ross No 553 John Peebles No 570 and W M Collins No 772.Apologies for absence were intimated from Bros. James McIntyre PG Treasurer, The Rev David Watson PG Chap, William Phillips jun PGJ, Robert Stobo Renfrew PGDOC, Major James Donaldson PGSB, and Matthew Hall Cadiz PGPOS.
Provincial Grand Lodge was opened in due and solemn form and in the First Degree.
The PGM having referred to the purpose, for which they had met, viz,to lay the Memorial Stone of New Halls for Lodge Kenmuir , No 570 , adjourned Provincial Grand Lodge for that purpose.
The Brethren having previously assembled at Elmvale School, Hawthorn Street Springburn under the direction of Bro. John Bisset Morrison PG Marshal assisted by Bro. George Henry, Marshal of No 570, were joined by the Office Bearers and others of Provincial Grand Lodge. The procession which was headed by the Springburn Temperance Band, comprised deputations from Lodges Nos. 3bis, 4,7,9,39,73,87,102,103,109,116,117,128,166,178,195,199,219, 226,254,256,272275,320,332,333,347,354,362,384,408,413,419,437,441,465,507,510,512,553, 556,579,581,607,609,683,729,753,772,817,823,873,1005 and No 407 EC. There was also a large number of the Office-Bearers and Members of Lodge Kenmuir No 570, about 700 in all being present.The procession proceeded by way of Hawthorn Street, Springburn Road, Flemington and Ayr Streets to the site in Vulcan Street when the Office Bearers of Provincial Grand Lodge were arranged for the ceremonial. Bro. John Laird, Architect, on behalf of the contractors for the building, presented the PGM, the SPGM and the PG Wardens with a Mallet, Square, Level and Plumb respectively made from wood from the Old Infirmary Building, which the PGM suitably acknowledged.
The PGM then, with the assistance of his Office- Bearers, laid the Stone according to ancient usage and custom. At the conclusion of the ceremony Bro. Alexander Grant RWM of Lodge Kenmuir No 570, thanked the PGM and Office-Bearers of PGL for performing the Ceremony, to which the PGM suitably replied.
The PGL the returned to the Lodge Room, when the PGM thanked the Office-Bearers for their support, and PGL was the closed in due and ancient form.
The Brethren afterwards assembled in the 2nd Royal Field Artillery Drill Hall, Keppochhill Road, and were entertained to cake and wine by the Office-Bearers of Lodge Kenmuir NO 570. The PGM thanked the Brethren for their attendance and support, to which the RWM replied.”
At the Nomination Meeting on 11/11/1908, Bro. Grant was nominated to continue as Master and Bro. Briggs nominated to the Office of Hall Treasurer.
The last AGM held in Cowlairs Rd was held on 25/11/1908 at which the following information was recorded
Intrants for the year 65
General Fund £937 17 6
Benevolent Fund £305 17 6
Expend Found Stone £20 12 11
Loans in Hand £784 0 0
Attendances were as follows
22 Regular Meetings Average 103
10 Special Meetings Average 28
Overall Attendances 2555
Bro. Grant was duly Installed as Master on 9/12/1908.
At the Meeting on 27/01/1909 The Lodge appointed Trustees being Right Worshipful Master, Immediate Past Master, Depute Master, Substitute Master, Senior Warden, Junior Warden, Secretary, Treasurer, and their successors in Office. Their task was to secure the feu duty charter from the Neilston Trustees. It is interesting to note that these Brethren still form the basis of the Halls and Finance Committee today.
On 10/02/1909 a Notice of Motion was proposed, which I am sure many thought would never occur ----“That Lodge Kenmuir No 570 remove from 27 Cowlairs Road to Masonic Hall, Vulcan Street in March 1909.” This was duly passed at the meeting on 24/02/1909 and it was also decided that the names of all present at the last meeting in Cowlairs Road would be recorded in the Minute book. This last meeting was held on 10/03/1909 when it was decided that the Consecration of the Hall would be by ticket only.
Bro. A Grant RWM said “This would be the last meeting in our present Hall after 24 years occupancy and the many happy memories connected with it during that time. We hope the Lodge will be as prosperous in our new Hall.”
Bro. R Gibson PM said that he was present at the first meeting in this hall and now he was at the last and trusted he would be present at the first meeting in our new hall.
At that meeting 5 candidates received their 1st Degree at the hands of Bro. A Grant RWM and 12 candidates received their 2nd Degree at the hands of Bro. R Kirkland PMThe names of 175 Brethren are recorded in the Minute Book---Almost like the credits at the end of a film---to mark the end of one era and to herald the beginning of a new one.
After the opening of the new Hall in Vulcan Street, the Lodge went from strength to strength. In that year 141 Initiates joined the Lodge -----A record up till that time.
One of the major criticisms of the Hall today is that the Lodge should have been on the first floor with the Club rooms on the Ground floor to allow access for unsteady Brethren(perhaps through infirmity, age or alcohol !). To understand why the Lodge is this way you have to understand the thinking for the design of the building itself.
Other interesting features of the in the design of the hall was the provision of a dumb-waiter which conveyed food from the kitchen directly to the upper hall (I imagine the stairway would have been really busy most meetings), the inclusion of a crypt (complete with cast iron arch, gas light and drain) under the floor of the Ground floor Temple (for the use of the Royal Arch) and a cupola located in the “East” of the lower hall.
The opening of the Vulcan Street Hall was to herald a real boom time for the Lodge.
1909 TO 1914
The first regular meeting held in the Hall at Vulcan Street was on 24/03/09. Bro. A Grant RWM opened the meeting after which the Brethren sang the first and last verse of the 100th Psalm. The Master then “welcomed Brethren to the new Hall of the Lodge and hoped that many fraternal friendships would bee found in the Hall and that the Hall was a credit to Lodge Kenmuir.”
At this meeting the Rev John Duncan was installed as Chaplain, 2 Brethren affiliated, 10 candidates received their 1st Degree (by Bro. A Grant) and 14 Brethren received their 2nd Degree (by Bro. R Kirkland). The meeting concluded at 11.45 PM and was attended by 161 Brethren----The names of whom are all listed in the Minutes including Bro. JC Howat Senior.
Another Meeting was also held just six days later on 30/03/1909.
It is interesting to note that both of these Meetings were actually held before the Hall was consecrated,
The consecration ceremony of the Halls actually took place on 31/03/1909 and coincided with the PGL Visitation. The first part of the ceremony took the form of a meal held in the lower hall for the Provincial Grand Master, Bro. AA Hagart Speirs, The Provincial Grand Lodge Deputation (comprising 27), the Hall Committee, Office Bearers and Bro. Laird the Architect of the Halls. At the conclusion of the meal Provincial Grand Lodge opened the Meeting
(Gibson 13 Sauchiehall St Grant 631 Alex Parade) in the Large Hall and carried out the work of consecration, after this the Deputation retired to the small hall and consecrated that hall. They then returned to the upper hall and declared that both halls were consecrated to Freemasonry.
A presentation was made to the Provincial Grand Master in the form of a framed copy of the Memorial Stone laying ceremony----This is in all probability the same photograph currently on display in the Lodge (although there are two photographs taken from the same vantage point). The Provincial Grand Secretary received a copy of J Marwicks book “On the Clyde and Clyde Burghs”
Provincial Grand Lodge then closed the meeting and retired, at which Point Lodge Kenmuir opened the meeting and PGL, were readmitted to carry out the PGL Annual Visitation. Apologies were tendered on behalf of The Most Honourable The Marquess of Tulibardine and Bro. A McInnes Shaw, The Lord Provost of Glasgow. This meeting concluded at 11.45PM.
At the following meeting on 14/04/1909 Bro. Alex Brown presented the Lodge with a clock. I do not know if Bro. Alex was concerned about the length of time that meetings were taking---but I suppose this could be the case given the time the previous Meeting had concluded!
Once again the Lodge arranged the Annual Service to be held in Cowlairs Church in June and an evening cruise on Loch Long and Loch Goil was also arranged for the same Month.
The first time the”Dead March” was played in the Hall was on 28/04/1909 to mark the passing of Bro. A Turner with the Brethren standing to order.
The first Mark Degree held in the Vulcan Street Hall was on 19/05/1909 when 59 received the Degree at the hands of Bro. A Grant. It is interesting to note that it is a Bro. A Grant who confers the Mark Degree in Lodge Kenmuir today (Not the same one I might add!)
A sporting success was recorded at the meeting on 08/09/1909 when Bros. Howie, Campbell, Gibbs and McIntosh reported on winning the Graham Bowling Cup.
Mixed fortunes were reported at the meeting on 10/11/1909 in the Form of Bro. Kirkland having been made a Magistrate of the City of Glasgow, but sadly that Bro. Gibson was now quite frail and had been awarded an Annuity from Grand Lodge.
The election meeting was held on 24/11/1909 at which 79 initiates were recorded for the year. This was considered to be quite good taking into account the “depressed condition of traid in the District”. The Treasurer gave the Financial Report;
General Fund £387 16 1 ½
Building Fund £289 11 8 ½
It was noted that the Building Fund ”included expenses, which we will not incur again for a long time—Foundation Stone and Hall Consecration being about £50”. It was also noted that expenditure on the Building project to date had been £1796-10-0 and it was decided that in future the Hall Account would be kept separate from the General Fund—A procedure still done today. The Secretary gave his report
Meetings Attendance Average
22 Regular 2537 115
9 Special 834 9 1/2
Bro. Grant was elected as Master and Installed at the meeting on 8/12/1909. At the same meeting a ballot for 4 candidates was declared not clear and required individual ballots for each which were subsequently declared clear.
Bro. John Law was present at the meeting on 23/02/1910---35 years after being the first Master or Charter Master.
At the meeting on 9/03/1910 the Hallkeepers wages were increased from £20 to £26 reflecting the increased volume of work. The Hallkeepers job was now completely separate from the Tyler’s Office. At this same meeting Lodge Kenmuir showed its Benevolent side when it was recorded that “Bro. Fleming was sent home incurable and he had a family of 5”.Immediately the Lodge granted £5 to the Brother and put motions forward to secure funds from Grand Lodge and Provincial Grand Lodge for the family. Unfortunately Bro. Fleming had passed away by the next meeting.
Sadly the meeting on 27/04/1910 was the last one at which Bro. A Grant was present. The meeting on 11/05/1910 was opened with Bro. R Watson IPM in the Chair and the following minute was recorded.
“Bro. R Watson IPM referred to the very depressing circumstances under which they were met in having to lament not only the death of our Sovereign King Edward VII and Patron of Scottish Freemasonry after a very short illness but also the sudden death of our esteemed RWM Bro. Alexander Grant who was with us at our last meeting. He was a Brother honoured and respected by all the Brethren, earnest and zealous in his labours for the furtherance of the prosperity of Lodge Kenmuir, The Lodge was very much indebted to him for carrying through the arrangements for building the hall in which we now meet and that the sympathy of the Brethren be recorded in our minutes and an extract sent to Mrs Grant and Family”
The “Dead March” was played and as a token of respect the cruise was cancelled and no harmony was held at the meeting which was closed at 8.20 PM. Bro. Grant has been the only Master, as far as we know( as Minutes do not exist for 1875 to 1879) to have died while serving the Lodge in the Chair.
Quite understandably following this, the Lodge entered a period of doldrums with the main emphasis being on Degree work. However the meeting on 10/8/1910 once again showed the Lodges Benevolence when it awarded a grant of £5 to the widow of Bro. Tibbert to pay her fare home from America. At this same meeting it was agreed to photograph the successful bowling rink, the Office Bearers and Committee---Alas this photograph has not survived.
Some interesting changes were made to the Byelaws on 14/9/1910 when it was decided that
Bro. Briggs PM, the Hall Treasurer, gave the following report at the Meeting on 26/10/1910:
Loans from Members £ 938-0-0
Donations £ 7-4-0
Lodge Funds £1281-7-1
Expenditure on Hall £2056-8-8
Furnishings £ 155-19-7
Bro. Briggs also reported that all funds used from Benevolence would be repaid at 2-½ % interest per annum---This would not be permitted today! Bro Briggs continued as Hall Treasurer.
After their exceptional and fruitful work the Hall Committee was officially discharged at the Regular meeting held on 9/11/1910. At this same meeting the emoluments for the year were discussed and the following agreed upon:
Director of Music £2-0-0
It is interesting to note that the Tyler received more than the Treasurer did.
The Secretary gave his annual report at the meeting on 23/11/1910 and commented on the following:
Initiates for the year 140
22 Regular meetings Attendance 2574 Average 117
14 Special meetings Attendance 908 Average 64
At this same meeting Bro. W Robertson was elected to serve as Master and duly installed on 14/12/1910.
At the meeting on 28/12/1910 a Notice of Motion was put forward that “ A Memorial Stone be erected in the Hall in memory of our late RWM Bro. Alexander Grant (cost not to exceed £5) and a grant of £1 be sent to the Bolton Colliery Fund Disaster”. This disaster occurred on 21st December 1910 when a gas explosion in the Pretoria pit in Bolton when exploding gas caused the roof to collapse killing 338 miners with only 3 survivors.
At the meeting on 8/2/1911 Grand Lodge announced that only 2 Degrees would be permitted at each Meeting. The year 1911 continued quite uneventfully with the main points being a cruise on Loch Lomond with”Chapter Margaret” (with the proceeds of £2 being equally split) and that Bro. John Law was unable to attend meetings due to ill health; another interesting point was that Provincial Grand Lodge wrote to all Lodges reminding them that “all licensing Laws must be obeyed.” Pity.
At the AGM on 25/10/1911 the Secretary’s emolument was increased to £10-0-0 (by a majority of 78-46) and the Treasurers remained the same at £5-5-0(by a majority of 44-29)!
The Secretary gave his report, which contained some very interesting figures
21 Regular Meetings Average 122
11 Special Meetings Average 91
Total Attendance 3579
Lowest Attendance 46
Highest Attendance 243
I would assume that meeting with an attendance of 243 would have been held in the upper hall as I do not believe the lower hall could hold this number—not even in 1911! Bro. Robertson was re –installed as Master on 22/11/1911.
A curious case was reported in the Lodge at this time when a Bro. James Carson (or Wilson) was intimated as being extremely ill in USA. Lodge Kenmuir asked Lodge Memphis No. 118 to visit him---they found him in a “dying condition” and immediately granted him $50, as he was penniless. As it turned out this paid his funeral expenses and Lodge Kenmuir reimbursed Lodge Memphis.
In 20/8/1912 the Lodge decided to put forward a Notice of Motion to purchase new clothing for the Office Bearers of the Lodge and at the meeting on 11/9/1912 it was decided to puchase the following
“22 aprons at 20/-
22 collars at 2/6
3 pairs gauntlets 25/-
Existing jewels to be used”
At the same meeting Bro. J Carruth JW presented the Lodge with an altar cloth.
It was with sadness that the Lodge noted the deaths of Bro. Neilson and Bro. Rev. D Rollo of Springburn Parish Church in October 1912.
An interesting record is contained in the Minute of 30/10/1912 in that the Lodge was urged to write to the Prime Minister to support a clause in The Government of Ireland Bill proposed by the Marquis of Tullibardine regarding the Freemasons of Ireland under this Bill. Today it is hard to believe that Freemasonry would attempt to have such a direct influence on Government Policy---Changed days.
The Treasurer gave his Annual report on 13/11/1912
General Fund had increased by £262-14-2
Benevolent Fund had increased by £31-18-5
Outstanding Loans (Members) £400-0-0
Paid Loans (Members) £528-0-0
Hall Account increased by £67-10-6
The Secretary also gave his report
22 Regular Meetings Average 135
6 Special Meetings Average 108
Total Attendance 3294
Lowest Attendance 25
Highest Attendance 247
Bro. Crawford was elected to serve as Master on 13/11/1912. At the following meeting a complaint was made that the election of the Junior Warden an 3 other Office – Bearers was not conducted in the proper manner: There were 3 candidates for each Office and only one vote was taken and the Brother with the highest votes declared the winner, even though they did not have an overall majority. One Brother in the Lodge contacted Provincial Grand Lodge who ordered that a re – election takes place on 11/12/1912 with the Installation to take place on Christmas Day 1912( not surprisingly the only time an Installation occurred on Christmas Day !) I will bet that that Brother was not too popular! This re-election was duly done with no changes to the outcome of the ballot.
Another first for Lodge Kenmuir occurred on 8th January 1913, as it was on this date that the Lodge held 2 meetings;
Meeting No.1. A special meeting was held from 6.35 till 7.50PM at which Bro R Watson PM conferred the Third Degree.
Meeting No.2 A Regular meeting was held from 8.00 till 11.45PM at which the First Degree was conferred by Bro. J Scott DM and the Second Degree was conferred by Bro. G Carruth.
So why were two meetings held on the same day? The reason was to get around the Grand Lodge Law that no more than 2 Degrees can be held at any one meeting. Therefore as Lodge Kenmuir wished to confer 3 Degrees they required 2 Meetings!
The Provincial Visitation on 12/2/1913 recorded that the number of initiates for the year was 141---More than the current qualified Membership of the Lodge.
Some alterations to the Byelaws were made at this time. The main changes being
At the Annual Meeting on 22/10/1913 Bro. Crawford was Nominated and Elected to serve as Master for the ensuing year. At this same meeting the Lodge donated £2-2-0 to the coal pit disaster in Wales.
The Treasurer gave his Annual report on 12/11/1913
General Fund had increased by £105-10-10 ½
Benevolent Fund had increased by £37- 3-0
Hall Account increased by £114-0-0
The Secretary also gave his report
22 Regular Meetings Average 135
13 Special Meetings Average 77
Total Attendance 3844
Bro. Crawford, Master, presented the Lodge with a Bible, Square and Compass at the meeting on 26/11/1913 which Bro. W Robertson IPM accepted on behalf of the Lodge.
The meeting on 28/1/1914 marked a milestone in Lodge Kenmuirs history when the first Temperance Harmony was held and “it was attended by a very large number of Brethren and visiting Brethren when a very pleasant evening was spent in song, toast and sentiment”
The Lodge received a recommendation from the Hall Committee that a fireproof safe be built in the space at the back of the dais. I assume that the area referred to was the Masters room located behind the East. However I do not know if the safe was ever installed or for that matter if it is still there----perhaps some day we will find out.
The Lodge considered buying cases for the Office-Bearers to carry their aprons in and a Notice of Motion was put forward---This was defeated. No cases!The Lodge held its last meeting before World War 1 on July 8th 1914 and there was no indication at that time in the minutes of the impending War that would change the World and Freemasonry forever.
This was a very traumatic time not only for the Country but for the Lodge as well as we lost 25 Brethren in the conflict. Some of our Brethren were also decorated: Bro. Black (Military Medal),Bro D Renfrew(Order of the British Empire),Bro A Primrose(Distinguished Conduct Medal),Bro. J Blyth (Military Medal) and Bro A McPherson(Military Cross).
The Lodge concluded 1914 on a downward trend with a decrease of 1200 in attendance (down to 2602) on the previous year and an average attendance of 119 at regular Meetings. However during the course of the First World War this was to be steadily improved until by 1918 the overall attendance at Lodge Meetings for the year was almost 6000(with an average attendance of 200 at Regular Meetings) with 171 candidates joining Lodge Kenmuir in 1917/18 and many more submitting applications. This was in spite of the fact that Kenmuir had over 100 Brethren serving in the Forces.
Other important events that occurred during this wartime period were the Lodge clearing its debts for the construction of the Hall and the purchase of new carpet, which lasted until 1994.
The first meeting after the commencement of the First World War (on 4/8/1914) was held on 9/8/1914 which was a Special Meeting at which only Degrees were conferred and as such there is no official Lodge response to the War.
At the Regular meeting held on 12/8/1914 the following Minute was recorded;
“ Bro. Crawford, Master, referred to the War and that a number of Brethren of the Lodge had been called away to defend the Country, but hoped it would be of short duration and that they would be able to return to the Lodge. The Brethren were upstanding singing God Save The King”
This would reflect the facts that the First World War came as no surprise and as such troops were mobilised very quickly.
At the meeting on 9/9/1914 the Lodge agreed to donate the following sums in response to the War;
£5 to the British Red Cross
£5 to the Belgian relief Fund
£5 to the Prisoner of War Relief Fund.
The War effort was further assisted at the next meeting on 23/9/1914 when a letter from the Grand Master Mason The Marquis of Tullibardine was read requesting a supply of field glasses for the new Scottish Horse Brigade. The Lodge also decided that “All Brethren called to defend the Country send their name to the Secretary.”
Of course the War did not affect the normal running of the Lodge and at the meeting on 11/11/1914 the following reports were delivered;
General Fund had increased by £6-14-6
Benevolent Fund had increased by £19-11-6
Hall Account increased by £84-8-8
Loans Outstanding £210
21 Regular Meetings Average 119
2 Special Meetings Average 52
7 Instruction Classes 52
Total Attendance 2602
This marked a decrease in attendance of 1200, which obviously affected the funds of the Lodge.
The Elections were also carried out, with Bro. John Scott being elected to serve as Master. The Secretary also read out the list of Brethren in Service.
Bro. John Scott, Master, was absent from the meeting on 27/1/1914 as his son had been killed on HMS Bicknor. A letter was also read from Grand Lodge advising Lodges of a Plan to draw up a Roll Of Honour of all Brethren serving with the Forces. Grand Lodge also intimated at the meeting on 5/2/1915 that it would be in order for Lodges to suspend Annual Dues for members serving in the Forces---This was duly passed by the Lodge on 10/3/1915.
It was with sadness that the Lodge reported the death of Bro. Robert Gibson PM(1885-87,89,90,92-95) at the meeting on 28/4/1915. Members of the Lodge had attended his funeral that same day in Masonic Regalia.
At the meeting on 16/4/1915 the IPM Bro. Crawford was presented with a PM Jewel and a gold watch ----he was also presented with a Diamond ring for his wife.
Provincial Grand Lodge appealed for donations to purchase a “motor ambulance for the War” and the Lodge immediately responded by donating £10. The Lodge also held a dance, which raised £9-10-0, which was donated to “provide comforts for the Brethren serving with the Colours”. At the same meeting held on 12/5/1915 it was announced that Bro.A Allan JD had joined the Gordon Highlanders.
The daughter of Bro. Robert Gibson PM applied to the Lodge for Benevolence following her Fathers death and the Lodge considered this at the meeting on 9/6/1915 but felt that it should take no action as Kenmuir was not Bro. Gibsons Mother Lodge! (Lodge Thistle No 87 was) This seems a particularly uncharitable decision given the work that Bro. Gibson PM had done for the Lodge.
At the meeting on 13/10/1915 it was reported that Bro. A Allan JD was in hospital having been “wounded in France while fighting for King and Country”
At the meeting on 27/10/1915 Bro. Robert Scott JW presented the Lodge with a framed Roll of Honour of 50 Brethren on active service----Unfortunately this has not survived. Sadly at the same meeting it was reported that Bro. J Haldane had been killed in active service. Bro. Coutts also resigned as Secretary due to illness after serving 21 years.
At the AGM it was reported that 37 candidates had been initiated and the following reports were delivered:
General Fund had increased by £45-1-9
Benevolent Fund had increased by £24-11-3
Hall Account increased by £27-1-9
21 Regular Meetings Average 95
7 Special Meetings Average 78
Total Attendance 2550
Bro. G Carruth was elected as Master and duly installed on 24/11/1915 when the Speirs Bowling Cup was presented to Lodge Kenmuir. It obviously took a World War for 570 to get some Silverware!
Two further deaths were reported in January 1916—Bro. Alexander had met his death “ in the disaster of HMS Natal” and Bro. J Stewart died in Gallipoli. The HMS Natal was sunk on Hogmanay 1915 in the Cromarty Firth when, it was believed, faulty carbide exploded sinking the ship in less than 5 minutes and killing over 400 men—Bro. Alexander included.
The Provincial Visit of 1916 reported that the 37 candidates had joined in the last year and a special mention was made of Bro. Robert Gibson PM,”who had done yeoman service in Provincial Grand Lodge”, where he attained the Rank of Junior Warden.
Bro. Coutts, the long time Secretary of the Lodge, returned on 2/3/1916 after illness and was presented with a receipt for Exquecher Bonds, a Gladstone Bag together with a gold chain and a locket for his wife.
The Lodge decided to further the War effort by donating the collection from the Annual divine Service on 18/6/1916 to the Limbless Soldiers and Sailors Hospital and that all expenses of the Service be paid by the Lodge. The Lodge also decided to insure the property against aircraft for the sum of £1900 and £200 for contents---The premium being 80/-.
At this point in the War –June 1916-The Lodge had almost 100 Brethren serving with the Forces and it was decided that each Brother would be presented with a Roll of Honour Certificate. On the meeting of 14/6/1916 Brothers Fletcher and Gilmour received a hearty welcome from the Lodge, being home on leave from the War.
The death of another Brother was recorded on 12/7/1916—Bro D Leith.
The Lodge marked the Second Anniversary of the War on 9/8/1916 by being upstanding while singing “God save the King”.
The Lodge received two letters from Grand Lodge at the Meeting on 15/8/1916; the first letter detailed the procedure of Application, which is basically the same procedure as followed today.The second letter requested all Brethren of “Alien Enemy Birth or Nationality” to abstain from attending the Lodge until the War is over to preserve the Peace and Harmony of the Lodge.
It was reported at the meeting on 25/10/1916 that Bro. JR Black had been recommended for the Military Medal.
The Secretary’s report of 8/11/1916 gave the following information;
Candidates for the year 53
General Fund had increased by £89-15-0
Benevolent Fund had increased by £4-7-7
Hall Account increased by £256-5-9
21 Regular Meetings Total 2171 Average 103
7 Special Meetings Total 478 Average 107
Total Attendance 2599
Bro. G Carruth was again elected as Master and duly installed at the next meeting. Bro. John Law PM submitted an apology for not attending the meeting—some 41 years after being the first Master. The membership of the Lodge was still increasing and it was agreed to purchase 500 aprons at a cost of 6/- per 100.
The Master Bro. Carruth opened the Lodge on 10/1/1917 with the heartfelt wish “that all who were presently fighting our battles in France and other Places would soon be restored to their houses”.
On 24/1/1917 Bro.J Gilmour SD presented the Lodge with a handsome gong for use in the Third Degree—Which may very well be the one still in use today.
An interesting letter was received from Grand Lodge concerning details contained in Lodges Roll of Honour. Apparently the Censor advised that any Roll of Honour should only give the Brothers name and description of Force, such as HM Navy or Royal Scots but the Regiment number should not be disclosed.
At the meeting on 25/4/1917 the Lodge was informed that Bro. H Robertson who was serving with the Canadian Forces had been wounded in France and was currently in hospital in London, At the same meeting Bro. Baillie JO Early appealed for Members of the Lodge to come forward to join the Freemasons Company which was now being formed in the Volunteers---However the Minutes do not make it clear if this was an active Regiment or a “Home Guard”. Co-incidentally information contained in the Lodge Minutes regarding the War reduced—The Lodge was no longer told where Brethren were killed, Which was probably necessary in terms of the Censor but robbed us of important details of the History of the Lodge.
More deaths of Brethren were recorded over the next few months—The Brother of the Master –Bro. Andrew Carruth was killed in France—and Bro. J Wallace Jnr (of the Canadians) died of wounds received in action.
On 29/8/1917 a letter was read from Bro. R Aitken appealing for assistance as he was in a Prisoner of War Camp in Germany---The Lodge held a collection that night for him, which raised the sum of 77/-, which was immediately dispatched to him.
The AGM for 1917 was held on 14th November. Bro. John Law PM was present to see Bro. Peebles elected as RWM. The following reports were given:
Candidates for the year 84
General Fund had increased by £5-12-11
Benevolent Fund had increased by £25-5-9
Hall Account increased by £36-7-0
19 Regular Meetings Total 1885 Average 99
6 Special Meetings Total 567 Average 95
Total Attendance 2452
It was also reported that all loans for the building of the Hall had been repaid----Some 8 years after construction had begun. This could also be the reason that the funds of the lodge had not increased by their usual amount.
At this point the Lodge held a wet and dry harmony on an alternating basis. This following Notice of Motion was put forward to replace this rule.
“The Members shall be at liberty to introduce by vote or otherwise any intoxicating or spirituous liquor at any Communication or Function held under the auspices of the Lodge at any Meeting whether for labour or refreshment.”
A vote was taken for this and the Lodge voted 155-37 for the status quo!
Bro. Peebles was installed on 28/11/1917 when it was also announced that Bro. Alex Primrose had been awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal.
Although the War was still going on, and the Lodge had at this time over 100 brethren serving in the Forces, it certainly did not stop applications to join the Craft as can be seen from the Minutes of 12/12/1917 where there are 2 complete pages of Applications and at the next Meeting 19 received their 1st Degree.
On 9/1/1918 it was announced that Bro. Donald Renfrew had been awarded the Medal of the Order of the British Empire.
By 23/1/1918 the Lodge put forward a Notice of Motion that it purchase a new carpet—Which, I believe, lasted until 1994. The Lodge also increased the Initiation Fee to £5-5-0 and decided the collection from the Annual Divine Service would go to the Red Cross Fund.
Various information regarding Brethren serving with the Forces was received over the next few months,
13/2/1918 Bro. D Black had been killed in Action.
13/3/1918 Bro. John Blyth of the Canadians had received The Military Medal.
22/5/1918 Bro. Angus McPherson had received the Military Cross.
12/6/1918 Bro. Corporal Robert Wright had been killed in action.
7/9/1918 Bro. J McCombe had been wounded in action.
25/9/1918 Bro. J Davies died of wounds received in action.
By this time the War was beginning to draw to a close and an “In Memoriam Lodge” was held on 3/11/1918—Just 8 days before Armistice Day.
The Lodge was opened by Bro. Peebles, Master, who then Passed and Raised the Lodge. Hymns were sung followed by a solo by Bro. Robert Scott “Thou are passing here , my Brother”.
The Roll of Honour was then read by The Secretary, followed by the Last Post on the Bugle and then the Death March.
An Oration was given by Bro. Rev. John Duncan—“Kindness to the Dead, Ruth2v20” at the conclusion of which the Brethren sang, “Courage Brother, Do not stumble”.
The work of the Lodge went on and it was reported that there were 171 initiates for the year.
21 Regular meetings Attendance 4225 Average 200
18 Special Meetings Attendance 1673 Average 94
Total Attendance 5898
Sad to note that in the following meeting 3 more Brethren were reported killed in what must have been the last throes of the War--Bro. T Gilmour, Bro. A McKinnon and Bro. Alexander Yuille .At this same meeting it is recorded that “ RWM made fitting reference to the signing of the Armistice and trusted that the same would be the forerunner of a lasting Peace. “ The Brethren were upstanding and sang “Praise God from whom all Blessings flow”.The Lodge had come through the dark days of the War and had lost many Brethren, but the Lodge if anything had increased in strength.
1918/19 marked a boom time for the Lodge with an incredible 281 candidates joining the Lodge—No wonder there were complaints about “the congested state of the meetings”! This boom-time however was not to last as Grand Lodge put a spanner in the works by limiting the number of candidates which could be initiated at Lodges----While this encouraged the formation of Lodges like Springburn No 1198 it certainly reduced the Candidates (and ultimately the attendances) at Lodge Kenmuir. In 1921 the overall attendances at Lodge Kenmuir were 6644 but by 1924 the overall attendances had plummeted to only 2923. There were certainly no more congested meetings in this era.
Other notable milestones in this era were
The Major milestone however was the Lodge reaching and celebrating its Golden Jubilee in 1925.
Although the war was now over and the Installation of Bro. John McAndrew took place on 27/11/1918,it was with sadness that the Lodge learned of the death of Bro. R Aitken in a POW camp on 4/11/1918—Only a week before the Armistice.
The Lodge then got back into its business as usual with a Mark Degree on 19/1/1919 with 63 Candidates, it also entered 2 teams in the golf. The main social event of the year was a dance in Springburn Public Hall on Friday 28th March at which Office-Bearers wore their Regalia.
Bro. Sam McField put forward an interesting problem for the Lodge to consider as he was concerned about “the congested state of the meetings”—A complaint basically meaning that the Lodge meetings were too well attended! The Lodge agreed to consider this. It is just a pity that Lodge don’t suffer from this problem today.
At the Meeting on 23/3/1919 Bro. Major Angus McPherson was welcomed back to the Lodge—The highest recorded Military Rank of any Lodge Member. At the following Meeting on 30/3/1919 the Mark was again conferred on 63 Candidates. At the same meeting Bro Peebles IPM was presented with a PM Jewel with diamond centre and a silver tea-service with a brooch for his wife.
The Lodge had an interesting visitor on 14/5/1919—Bro James Baxter of Lodge Kenmuir who was also a Past Master of Lodge St Andrew No1068 India. The Lodge at this time was thriving, as was demonstrated by the minutes of this meeting which contain 3 pages of Applications! This would also explain why the Lodge had to purchase cable tows, shoes and aprons at the meeting on 12/6/1919.
Once again the effects of the War were felt with news that Bro, J Dixon had been killed during the War.
For the third time that year the Mark was conferred on 9/10/1919—This time on only 62 Candidates!
The Nomination meeting was held on 22/10/1919 with2 Candidates standing for the Office of RWM—Bro. Mather and Bro. Anderson (who was successful). It was reported that this was a record year with 281 Initiates! A figure, which I am sure, will never be beaten.
The General Fund stood at £1129-4-1 an increase of £79-6-1
The Benevoloent Fund stood at £641-15-3 an increase of £55-12-1
The Lodge had also won the Pearce Cup with a rink skipped by Bro, Andrew Campbell.
The attendances for the year were
21 Regular Meetings Average 205 Total 4309
15 Special Meetings Average 126 Total 1890
Grand Total 6199
The Lodge had conferred 21 First Degrees, 14 Second Degrees, 16 Third Degrees and 3 Mark Degrees. This meant that on average 13 candidates went through their First Degree at each meeting.
A Notice of Motion was put forward at this same meeting to raise Fees. The Initiation Fee would increase to £6-6-0, Life membership would increase to £3-3-0(from £1-10-0) and Test Fees would increase to 5/-(from 3/-). This Notice of Motion was carried was carried with a majority of 146 to 74 on 25/2/1920.
Grand Lodge intimated at the meeting on 26/11/1919 that “No Lodge shall initiate more than 7 Candidates in one day”. The purpose of this was threefold;
This change in Grand Lodge Law would certainly affect Lodge Kenmuir in a big way.
Bro.Anderson was Installed at this same meeting and the bowling cup, which had been won again by 570, was passed round at the Harmony.
The Lodge received a letter from a proposed new Lodge, South Western, seeking the consent of 570, which was readily given. This would imply that 570 was indeed a sponsor Lodge of South Western.
8/9/1920 is another interesting date being the first mention of Lodge Springburn No 1198 when an invite to their Divine Service to be held on 17/9/1920 was read out. I was really surprised that Lodge Springburn were not mentioned previously in the Minutes and there is no mention of their formation or Consecration. Very strange-- Could it be there was some kind of rift? It is even stranger when you consider that the Master of Lodge Springburn No 1198 was Bro Robert Watson PM of Lodge Kenmuir. 1920 also saw Bro. Robert Watson PM become the Provincial Grand Senior Warden of Glasgow.
Once again eat the Nomination Meeting held on 27/10/1920 there were two Nominations for Master—Brother Mather and Brother Gilmour (who was successful).
The Secretary gave his Annual report at the meeting held on 10/11/1920;
21 Regular Meetings Average 191 Total 4026
27 Special Meetings Average 80 Total 2104
Grand Total 6130
The large number of Special Meetings was generated solely by the rule of Grand Lodge reducing the number of Candidates for Initiation at Meetings. This led to 27 Special Meetings being held (as opposed to 15 the previous year). The total number of Initiates for the year was 189.
The next year of the Lodge Minutes is really taken up extensively with recording Degree work as can be seen from this extract of the records.
16/8/1921 2 Degrees held
28/8/1921 2 Degrees held
31/8/1921 2 Degrees held
6/9/1921 2 Degrees held
A total of 8 Degrees held over a period of 21 days! Today in Lodge Kenmuir only 14 Degrees are conferred over the whole year!
Sadly other than Degree work little else is reported during this period.
The AGM was held on 26/10/1921 and the following reports were given.
The Lodge assets were £6297-14-9
Initiates for the year 150
21 Regular Meetings Average 173 Total 3627
31 Special Meetings Average 100 Total 3017
Grand Total 6644
Bro. Mather was at last elected as Master—Third time lucky!
The Lodge proved again it was a family Lodge by agreeing that “The Lodge grant a sum of £50 for the purpose of entertaining the Children of our Members who are at present unemployed”.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. David Coutts at the meeting on 25/1/1922—He had been Secretary of the Lodge for 21 years.
Again much of the Minutes of this period relate to Degree Work although the Lodge did hold an Annual Divine Service at Cowlairs Parish Church in October.
An interesting item was reported at the Lodge Meeting on 27/9/1922—“Bro. John Mather, Master, reported that all the present living Past masters of the Lodge along with himself had visited Adrossan on Saturday 16th September (1922) where they met Brother Law, the first RWM of the Lodge where a photograph of the group was taken of the party. Bro. Law has now entered his 91st year”.
This is most probably the photograph currently on display in the Lodge room—It was previously thought this was taken at a church service but there is no record in the Minutes of any photograph being taken at the Divine Service held on 1/10/1922.As most of the Brethren in the photograph are wearing PM jewels—it would seem more than likely this is the photograph taken at Ardrossan. This is probably the most important existing photograph in the History of Lodge Kenmuir.
The following reports were given at the 1922 AGM.
The Lodge assets were £6392-0-5 1/2
Initiates for the year 60( A decrease of 90 )
21 Regular Meetings Average 158 Total 3317
7 Special Meetings Average 125 Total 859
Grand Total 4176
This marked a decrease from 31 to only 7 special meetings for the year due to the sharp drop in Initiates. The attendance also dropped by over 30% for the year. The boom days were definitely over.
Bro. McGhee was elected and installed as Master on 22/11/1922.
At this point the Lodge was thinking about a suitable Commemorative for the Service of the Brethren in the War and at the meeting on 28/2/1923 the following Notice of Motion was put forward.“That the Lodge should do something to commemorate the Memory of the Brethren who fell in the Great War”.
This was followed up at the meeting on 23/5/1923 when Bro. Thomas Black moved that the Lodge dedicate an altar to commemorate the Brethren who fell in the Great War. This was seconded by Bro. William Hunter. It was also decided that that the cost be not restricted and a committee was appointed. —Bro. Thomas Black, Bro. William Hunter, Bro. G Carruth, Bro. J Crawford, Bro. J Scott, Bro. J Mather, Bro. J Peebles, Bro. R Anderson, and the Master and Secretary.
Bro. J McGhee , Master, reported at the meeting on 11/7/1923 that the Committee had selected a design submitted by Mr Archd Hamilton at a cost of £56-0-0. At the meeting on 12/9/1923 it was decided that the names of the Brethren who fell in the War be inscribed on a panel on the Altar.
Bro. Robert Aitken
Bro. William R Alexander
Bro. David Black
Bro. Andrew S Carruth
Bro. James Davies
Bro. James Dickie
Bro. John Dickson
Bro. John A S Forsyth
Bro Thomas Gilmour
Bro James Haldane
Bro. William Landell
Bro. Duncan C Leith
Bro. Robert Martin
Bro David McDonald
Bro. James F McKellar
Bro. James McKinney
Bro. Andrew McKinnon
Bro. George Parkin
Bro. James Smith
Bro. John D Stewart
Bro. Christopher Tibbert
Bro. Charles Wallace
Bro. James Wallace
Bro. Robert Wright
Bro. Alexander Yuille
On Sunday 7th October at 6.00PM a Memorial Service was held in the Lodge. It was opened in the First Degree, Passed to the Second Degree and raised to the Third Degree. Bro. AA Hagart Speirs led the PGL Deputation in.
The Brethren sang Hymns followed by a solo by Bro McGhee, Master, who sang “He wipes a tear from every eye”. A roll call was then read by Bro. Robertson, Secretary followed by the Last Post played on the bugle by Bro.Semple.
The Altar was then unveiled by Bro. AA Hagart Speirs, and a solo (“Flowers of the Forest”) was rendered by Bro. Norris.
The Altar was dedicated by Bro. Rev John Duncan and the Master laid a wreath at it. The lesson from 2nd Samuel Chapter 1 verse 17 to the end was read and the Service concluded with hymns at 7.30 PM. Bro.
The AGM was held on 14/11/1923 at which the following reports were given :
The Lodge assets were £6609-9-9
Initiates for the year 70( An increase of 10 on the previous year)
21 Regular Meetings Average 146 Total 3069
8 Special Meetings Average 125 Total 998
Grand Total 4067
The following Degrees were conferred:
1st 17 times
2nd 11 times
3rd 13 times
4th 3 times
Bro. Kirby was elected as Master and Installed on 28/11/1923.
At the Meeting held on 23/1/1924 it was agreed that the next of kin of all the Brethren who fell in the Great War should receive a photograph of the Altar.
The Lodge had a distinguished visitor on 13/2/1924 when Bro. Harry A Thacker visited—He was a PM of Lodge Praetoria Celtic No770 and also the PGSW of the Transvaal. Another interesting visitor was received on 27/2/1924 when Bro. Robert Kinloch visited—He was not only a Member of 570 but also the Depute Master of Lodge Springburn No 1198.
On 14/5/1924 the Lodge received correspondence regarding a proposed new Lodge in Possilpark, and on the motion of Bro. Robert Anderson PM, seconded by Bro. J McGhee IPM “ it was agreed we give our assent to the proposed new Lodge”. Lodge Kenmuir had become a Sponsor Lodge of Lodge Possilpark No 1330 and I am very pleased to say that this connection is still very evident today.
At this same meeting it was agreed to celebrate the Lodges Jubilee and a Committee was formed to arrange this.
On 9/10/1924 the following Notice of Motion was put forward “That the Lodge provide a chain of Office for the RWM of the Lodge and the matter be left in the hands of the Jubilee Committee, and the Jubilee celebrations take place during the Month of August 1925”.
At the meeting on 24/9/1924 the Lodge agreed in principle to make a donation to the Freemasons Hospital Fund—The first donation the Lodge had made to this fund.
The AGM for 1924 was held on 22nd October and at that Meeting it was agreed to increase the Emoluments of Office –Bearers to the following amounts ;
Organist £ 6-0-0
The following reports were submitted ;
The Lodge assets were £6627-10-0
Initiates for the year 44(A decrease of 26 on the previous year)
21 Regular Meetings Average 122 Total 2573
2 Special Meetings Average 177 Total 350
Grand Total 2923
This marked a further signicigant decrease in Lodge attendance (it had dropped by 1000 over the course of the year) and a large drop in candidates---It seems strange that emoluments increased when obviously the workload for the Office-Bearers had decreased.
Bro. Thomas Black was elected as RWM and duly Installed on 26/11/1924. Bro. John Law PM submitted apologies for non-attendance due to his failing health ( He was now 92).
A Notice of Motion was put forward at the meeting on 10/12/1924 that the Lodge purchase a PM Jewel and Apron (Still no case!) for the IPM---The sum for this £10!
A Meeting was held on Christmas Eve of 1924 at which Bro. William Henderson received a “hearty send off” as he was leaving for Africa. I wonder if our current Bro. William Henderson would do the same?!
A couple of interesting events occurred at the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation on 11/2/1925 –The Master and Wardens were awarded a sum for attending the Grand Lodge Quarterly Communication---23/2. I assume this must have been the exact cost of the train fare and a meal. The other event was that Bro. Rev. John Duncan was appointed as Chaplain---He was not elected as such and did not feature on Committee recommendations.
By the next Meeting on 25/2/1925 the events to celebrate the Jubilee were already being planned, however this was overshadowed by the death of the first Master Brother John Law PM (1875) who was 93. It was certainly sad that Bro. John did not live to see the Jubilee but no doubt he was a proud man to see how his Lodge had grown and prospered since 1875.
As part of the Jubilee celebrations the Lodge had arranged a children’s outing for the 13th June and a cruise for the 19th June. Also at this same Meeting the Lodge voted on changing some of its Byelaws---The 2 most contentious being
Meeting was conducted (the vote to change this was unsuccessful)
The Lodge had an interesting visitor at its Meeting on 25/3/1925—Bro Saunders, a Member of 570 who had attained the Chair of Lodge Melrose Abbey, Chicago ( I am sure Chicago was a very interesting place in the 1920s !). At the same Meeting Bro. W Robertson tendered his resignation as Secretary due to ill health (and at the next Meeting 3 Nominations were put forward for Secretary!). A letter was also received from Lodge Springburn No 1198 asking for support for a concert in support of their Benevolent Fund.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. John Scott PM(1915) at its Meeting on 8/4/1925.
The prudence of the Lodge was evident at the Meeting on 22/4/1925 when it was reported that £2600 had matured from Investments. Perhaps this had been planned to co-incide with the Jubilee in case the Lodge required finance. However the sum was reinvested.
At the Meeting held on 13/5/1925 a Notice of Motion was put forward that the Lodge Purchase new Regalia for the Office-Bearers. At the next Meeting when this was voted on it was also agreed to purchase cases—The first time this had ever occurred !
At the Meeting on 27/5/1925, Bro. J Carswell was Installed as Secretary and he was to be instrumental in organising the 50th Anniversary celebrations. A letter was also received from Lodge Rothesay St John No 292 reporting that a Mark Degree had been conferred on a Member of 570—Bro John Allan. This was the first contact with this Lodge who in later years Lodge Kenmuir would visit on a regular basis.
On 2nd August 1925—exactly 50 years to the day since the granting of the Charter—An Annual Divine Service was held in Cowlairs Church, which was very well attended, and the collection of that Service was donated to The Springburn and District Sick Nursing Home. It was reported at the Meeting on 8/7/1925 that the Childrens Outing and the Cruise had also been well attended—The numbers being 611 and 508 respectively---It does not bear thinking about having to look after that number of kids, although it must have been some size of ship for the cruise!
2 Distinguished Visitors attended the Lodge on 12/8/1925—Bro. Scott PM of Lodge Hiram No 120 Irish Constitution and Bro. Hanley PM of Lodge Empire, Winnipeg, Canada.
At the Meeting on 9/9/1925 A Lodge Jubilee Meeting and Dinner was announced for 30/9/1925 and a Jubilee Dance to be held in November 1925. A letter was also received from Bro. David Watson (who was now living in America) sending greetings to the Lodge and enclosing a framed photograph of Bro. Robert Gibson PM and it was agreed this would be put on display in a prominent position in the Lodge. Once again we do not know what became of this.
The Jubilee Meeting was held on 30/9/1925 at 6.00 PM with Dinner to follow at the Co-operative Halls at 7.00PM.This short Meeting was attended by PGL headed by the Provincial Grand Master Bro. AA Hagart Speirs. Other than celebrating the First 50 Years, the main function of this Meeting was to Invest Bro. Thomas Black, RWM, with the new Chain of Office, which was carried out by the Provincial Grand Master. The Meeting concluded at 6.45PM.
A commemorative programme was issued to celebrate this event which contained photographs of the Master (wearing the new Chain) and Wardens , a Toast List , Menu , a List of 1925 Office Bearers and a list of 1875 Office Bearers. It is interesting to note that the list of Office-Bearers from 1875, although being the first in office served for the shortest period of time as there were new Office-Bearers in place for year 1875/1876 !
The Meeting and Dinner was reported in “The Evening News” on 1/10/1925 giving a full account of the evening, which 208 attended.
SQUARE AND COMPASSES
The Jubilee of Lodge Kenmuir (570)—chartered in August 1875—was celebrated with all enthusiasm last night at Springburn. A Meeting was held in the hall of the Lodge property , Vulcan Street at which there was a large attendance—Bro. Thomas R Black, RWM, presiding. A Deputation of Provincial Grand Officers comprised Bro. AA Hagart Speirs , John M Grant, W Stevenson Cochrane, Rev T Angus Morrison, D Belford Stevens, T W Larter, and Jas Murray. Honorary Membership was conferred on Bro. Grant SPGM and Bro. John Crawford PM explained the desire of the PMs and Members to have for the RWM a suitable chain of Office. The present occasion , the entry into the second fifty years of the Lodge , was thought appropriate and he asked the Provincial Grand Master, Bro Hagart Speirs , to invest the RWM. The chain is a handsome specimen, and the links bear the names of each of the 24 PMs of the Lodge, and that of the present RWM. As a memento of the gathering Bro. Hagart Speirs was presented with a crystal vase.
The Brethren having adjourned to the Co-operative Hall, the celebrations were continued, and about 200 Brethren including the oldest Member Bro Archibald Campbell were accommodated, and partook of dinner. The programme had in its pages the portraits of the RWM, Bro. Black, the SW , Bro. Whyte and the JW ,Bro Steele, beside the names of the first officers in 1875, a list of the PMs and of the present Office Bearers. A photograph of the company was taken before dinner. The proceedings opened with the Loyal toast, “The King” proposed by Bro. Black RWM who occupied the chair. Bro George Carruth PM PGJ proposed the Grand Lodge , pointing out its Constitution and uses. Bro. Rev. David Young Junior Grand Chaplain responding said he had a message fro0m Bro John Blythswood who regretted exceedingly that he was unable to attend. Bro. Young spoke in complimentary terms of the Earl of Elgin PGM and the Earl of Stair , presently Grand Master.
Bro. Robert Kirkland PM proposed the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow claiming it was the largest of the Provinces of Scotland. Bro. Hagart Speirs replying reminded the brethren that the PGL was composed of representatives from the Lodges. He understood that all the PMs of the Lodge, except three, were present and mentioned Bro. RS Watson PM who was in the States. Bro. Hagart Speirs afterwards proposed “The Lodge”, which he regarded as the toast of the evening. Bro. Black responding traced the history of the Lodge from 1875 taking it in decades. The first Master of the Lodge , Bro. John Law , who died recently at the age of 93 had hoped to be present at the Jubilee. He referred to Bro. Robt Gibson who had held the Office of RWM for nine years, and to other events , the building of the Lodge –room and the success which had attended its management. Bro. Black made a profound impression in his concluding remarks on the history of the Lodge. The toast to the Past Masters was given by Bro. A Findlay and responded to Bro, AHJ Briggs PM. During the evening songs were given by Bros. WA Ferguson, Robt Allan, a reading by Bro. J McKinlay and patter and song by Bro. RF Morrison, Bro. Carlton H Smyth PG Organist, officiated in the accompaniments. Bro. James F Carswell, Secretary , had the arrangements well in hand, and the function proved a great success.
There is no record in the Minutes giving the cost of the Chain or Regalia, However the balance sheet for 1925 records the Chain was made by FS Russell at a cost of £62-0-0 with engraving extra at £1-17-6 while the Office-Bearers Regalia cost £84-19-6.
By and large, the Lodge had thrived up till the Golden Jubilee in 1925, despite some very difficult times in the early days. At this point in history the recession and the Depression were on the horizon, which would force the Lodge to review the way that it conducted its business.
The Lodge had commenced this era, in 1926, with 54 candidates, which by the following year had halved to 27. By the end of this era this figure would creep very close to single figures.
This, coupled with reduced attendances had severe repercussions for the finances of the Lodge. The Lodge had to take drastic measures including instructing Office-Bearers to raise funds, inaugurate a social fund to pay for visitors at Harmony and direct certain collections taken at Lodge Meetings to the General Fund rather than to the Benevolent Fund.
This period marked a downward spiral in the Lodges fortunes from the exuberance of the Golden Jubilee to the low key Diamond Jubilee.
Bro. Hutton was elected as the Master at the AGM held on 28/10/1925 and subsequently Installed.
At this same Meeting it was reported that the Lodge assets had risen to £6614-10-9 ½ , of which £2689 rested in the Benevolent fund---An extremely healthy figure. The Lodge still had plenty of Members too as it was decided to order 1000 copies of the new bye-laws. An interesting figure mentioned in the Meeting of 9/12/1925 is that a Notice of Motion was put forward to purchase an IPM Jewel and Apron for the cost of £10. Today it would cost well in excess of £600.
At the Provincial Visit held on 10/2/1926 it was reported that the Lodge had 54 Initiates in the last year and 1 Affiliate.
A couple of interesting items were recorded in the Minutes of 24/6/1926 with a children’s outing(under 14 only) planned for Springburn Park for the second Saturday in August and a cruise to take place in June. The cruise was later cancelled due to the “uncertain state of affairs in the country”---which probably referred to the 1926 General Strike.
On the sporting front 1926 was a good year with Bros. Sinclair and Baker winning the Captain Speirs Cup at Golf.
The Lodge was obviously aware of the diminishing number of Candidates and the following Notice of Motion was passed by a large majority on 27/10/1926 “That only one Degree to be conferred at all regular Meetings of the Lodge.” At this same meeting Bro. Cording was elected to serve as Master for 1926/27. This Notice of Motion had taken cognisance of the fact that the stream of Intrants (which had once been a raging torrent not that long ago—281 Candidates in 1919) was drying up—only 27 were reported at the PGL Visitation on 9/2/1927 as opposed to 54 the previous year. This would have great repercussions for the General Fund of the Lodge.
The Meeting on 22/6/1927 was an interesting one in that it was the first time that Lodge Springburn No 1198 had carried out a Degree in 570—A Third Degree by Bro. Robert Kinloch PM 1198.
The Brethren of 570 had spread far and wide as the Minutes of 13/7/1927 demonstrate; A donation of £2 had been received from a Brother in “Kenya Colony”, and a Bro. J Watson had requested that Lodge Empire, Vancouver, confer his 2nd and 3rd Degrees.
Bro. D Whyte was Nominated as Master on 26/10/1927 and subsequently elected and Installed. At this time the Test Fee for the Lodge stood at 3/- (in 2001 it stands at £12) and the Life Membership stands at 30/-(in 2001 it stands at £175).
At the Meeting on 14/12/1927 Bro. Carlton Smyth Provincial Grand Organist was thanked for devising the Order of Service for Lodge Degrees ---Which as far as I know is still then same one used today.
At the Provincial Visit on 6/2/1928 it was reported that 30 Initiates had been received during the last year. An interesting discussion took place in the Lodge that night as it was felt that the picture of the old Past Masters (which is probably the one taken with Bro. John Law at Ardrossan in 1922) should be framed and kept on view ”Once the Lodge is in a better financial position”. The Treasurer obviously felt that the Lodge could not even afford a picture frame at this time.
There were a couple of items discussed at the next few Meetings that underlined the concern of the Lodge;
22/2/1928 Attendances at Lodge Meetings were discussed—They were well down. A far cry from the complaint only 9 years ago when the Lodge was too well attended –“The congested state of the Meetings”.
28/3/1928 Low attendance had led to a vote to cancel the Divine Service, which was defeated. A further vote was taken to hold the Service in either the Church or the Lodge rooms—The Church prevailed.
The Meeting on 12/9/1928 was an eventful one . It was reported that Bro. W Munro Denholm DPGM had died and a month of mourning was imposed. The Lodge decided, on a vote, to donate to the Earl Haig Fund for the first time—The sum £1.
By this time Bro. Carlton Smyth had completed 25 years as Provincial Grand Organist, and a letter came from Provincial Grand Secretary requesting a collection of 10/- per Lodge for gift fund.
Bro. R Steele was Nominated as Master and subsequently installed. Unfortunately the Minutes do not contain details of the Secretary and Treasurers Reports.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation of 13/2/1929 recorded that the Lodge had 35 Initiates and 1 affiliate for the previous year.
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. Robert Kirkland JP PM(1899-1901) was reported at the Meeting on 27/2/1929. At this same Meeting it was agreed that Instruction Classes would be held on Friday nights.
The Lodge realised the difficulties that the General Fund was getting into and at the Meeting on 10/4/1929 it was decided that “The Office-Bearers take into early consideration, schemes fior raising money to help the General Fund”. The response was to organise a Theatre night and a concert in Springburn Public Hall. While both of these effected a quick fix it did not address the real problem—A lack of regular income in the form of Initiation Fees for the General Fund.
At the meeting on 11/9/1929 the death of Bro. J Peebles PM(1918) Treasurer was announced. The Master asked the following to be recorded in the Minutes “The Lodge has lost a valuable Member who had been an Office-Bearer for many years”. Another PM, Bro. W Gilmour(1921) had passed away by the next Meeting on 9/10/1929.
2 Candidates were put forward for Master on 23/10/1929—Bro. Mollinson and Bro. C Smyth. Eventually Bro. Mollinson became Master and Bro. C Smyth continued as Director of Music, At the same Meeting Bro. Rev John Duncan (of Cowlairs Church) stepped down as Chaplain and Bro. Rev. John Lindsay (of Wellfield Church) took over as Chaplain.
On a Meeting held on Christmas day 1929 the death of Bro. J Bryan PM (1891) was reported. The Intrants for the year had remained constant at 35.
The Lodge was invited to confer the 3rd Degree at Lodge Old Monklands St James No 177 in Coatbridge and special buses were arranged from the hall at a cost of 2/6 per head. A Deputation of 78 Brethren visited this Lodge. This visit was reciprocated when Lodge Old Monklands St James No 177 visited 570 on 25/6/1930 to confer the Third Degree. The cost of the Harmony was 2/6 for Kenmuir Members to cover the cost of visitors. This must have been quite expensive when you consider that the Test Fee was 3/-.
The Lodge responded to this “problem” of visitors by inaugurating a Social Fund to help pay for harmonies. On the Motion of Bro. G Carruth PM seconded by Bro. Whyte PM a Committee was set up for this purpose comprising Bro. John Howat DM, Bro. J McLeod SW, Bro. A Hutton PM as well as the RWM,Secretary and Treasurer.
The Lodge was also concerned about the state of the General Fund and it was decided that “Only the collection taken at the 1st Degree would go Benevolence, All others except the Mark would go to the General Fund”. This was a major shift in the policy of 570---All collections had previously went to the Benevolent Fund (hence the reason it was so healthy). Previously the General Fund had always been well supported by numerous Initiation fees and revenue from Hall lets but both of these had been drastically reduced to the Depression. This move was therefore necessary to address the financial shortfall on an ongoing basis.
The AGM for 1930 was held on 22/10/30 and the Office-Bearers emoluments for 1930/31 were detailed.
And a sum for services rendered in session 1929/30 was also agreed.
Director of Music £6-6-0
3 Candidates were put forward for the Office of Master ;
Bro. J Howat
Bro. C Smyth
Bro. A Phillips
Bro, A Phillips was successful at the Election Meeting on 12/11/1930. At this meeting the Secretary gave his report and made reference to the “hard times” prevalent in that era.
Initiates for the year 42
9 Special Meetings Average 55 Total 491
Grand Total 2468
The Secretary, Bro. Carswell also reported that the Burns Supper had been a great success and would be continued. Bro. A Phillips was duly Installed on 26/11/1930.
An interesting letter was read at the Meeting on 28/1/1931 from Lodge Possilpark seeking support in an appeal to Grand Lodge to reduce the minimum Initiation Fee to £6-6-0. This was supported unanimously.
At this time each Regular Meeting contained a part in the Agenda for Benevolence during which all cases were discussed in detail in open Lodge and a vote taken on how much to award. Occasionally the Master would have to remind the Lodge that these discussions were confidential and were not to be discussed elsewhere.
At the Meeting on 25/3/1931 a letter was read from the Provincial Grand Secretary asking for assistance from Lodges for the New Zealand earthquake—The Lodge duly obliged and donated £2-2-0.
The Meeting on 22/4/1931 contained the sad news that The PGM Bro. J Rankin Andrew had died. At the same Meeting during the Harmony, Bro. Mollinson IPM received a clock, and for his wife he received an electric cut glass lamp. In turn Bro. Mollinson presented Bro. Carswell, Secretary, with two vases to thank him for his help during his year in the chair.
At the meeting on 27/5/1931 a successor for the Office of PGM was nominated—Bro. John Grant.
The Nomination Meeting of 28/10/1931 saw 2 Brethren go forward for the Office of RWM ;
Bro. J Howat
Bro. A Robinson
with Bro. J Howat being successful at the Election Meeting on 11/11/1931.
The Secretary gave his report at that Meeting and made reference to the “very hard times for the Lodge”. The Hall Fund made a loss of £76---The main reason being that both halls required to be redecorated (at a cost of £78) and obviously this had not been budgeted or planned for.
The total strength of the Lodge was
Life Members 1328
While the attendances for the year were
Initiates for the year 32
21 Regular Meetings Average 98 Total 2063
4 Special Meetings Average 38 Total 152
Grand Total 2215
It must be said that while the strength of the Lodge was 1462---the average attendance was only 98 which represents only 7% of the Membership. This would seem a very poor attendance.
Bro. Carswell, Secretary, concluded his report by saying, “he was proud to be Secretary of this old Lodge”
The Lodge continued in a social vein in 1932 with a dance being arranged for March—Ticket price 2/6.
Comment was passed on the very poor attendance at the Annual Provincial Grand Lodge Visit with the collection only raising 17/6—It was decided to augment this to £2.
The Lodge received an invitation to confer the 3rd Degree on 6th April at Lodge Carron, Larbert No 739 and names were to be passed to the Secretary. By the next Meeting the Secretary had 40 names, which by 23/3/32 had increased to 73. 2 buses were arranged which left the Hall at 6.45 PM—the cost being 2/3 per head.
The Lodge also received a letter from Lodge Springburn No 1198 agreeing to the proposal of 570 to hold a joint Divine Service on 11th September at Wellfield Church. This was obviously in response to the falling attendances.
Bro. John Cumming Howat (Junior) joined the Lodge on 16/8/1932, age 21, Occupation Grocer residing at 159 Morrin Street. His First Degree was conducted by Bro. Morrison IG, his Second Degree was conducted by Bro. J Russel Assistant Chaplain and his Third Degree was conducted by his father Bro. John C Howat (Senior) Master. Bro Jock C Howat (Junior) was a faithful servant of Lodge Kenmuir who in his latter days specialised in a unique Second Degree and everyone who met him will certainly never forget him.
Once again the Nomination Meeting on 26/10/1932 produced two candidates for Master
With Bro. Dobinson being elected on 11/11/1932 and duly installed on 23/11/1932—Bro. Dobinson was the last Master to be Nominated, Elected and Installed over the course of 3 Meetings.
The Secretary gave his report at the Meeting on 26/10/1932 stating that only 15 Candidates had joined in the last year, citing the Depression as the cause.
The following Meetings were held
21 Regular Meetings Average 100 Total 2106
There were no Special Meeting held that year due to lack of Candidates.
The Lodge strength was
Test Fee Members 114
Life Members 1334
A Notice of Motion was put forward at the Meeting on 25/1/1933—The effect being that the Nomination Meeting and the Election Meeting be combined to be held on the 2nd Wednesday in November with the Installation on the 4th Wednesday in November. This was eventually put to the vote and “ the Motion was carried by a large majority”. This would certainly streamline the Election process and also reduce canvassing for votes between the Nomination and Election Meetings.
Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259 carried out a 3rd Degree by Bro. J Locke PM on 14/5/1933 at 570—The first record of 1259 carrying out a Degree at Kenmuir
As a token of his work for the Lodge Bro. John Howat PM was presented with a Westminster Chimes Clock and a pair of vases at the Meeting on 9/8/1933.
An interesting letter was read from Bro. Rev. McGill (a Member of 570) on 9/8/1933 asking for the Brethren’s support in the re-opening of his church ,Milton Parish , on 2/9/1933.
The Secretary gave his annual Report at the Meeting on 8/11/1933, stating that the Lodge had only 19 Candidates in the preceding year—again due to the Depression. Unusually he also mentioned the Lodge Annuity Fund “which was awarding annual amounts to deserving Lodge Members”. Could this be a coded message or “Secretaryspeak”—were the grants being given to Members to repay the Lodge to support the General Fund? Or is it just my suspicious nature?
The attendance at Meetings were
21 Regular Meetings Average 87 Total 1834
1 Special Meeting Average 37 Total 37
Grand Total 1871
The strength of the Lodge was
Test Fee Members 97
Life Members 1339
The Secretary also reported that the combination of Nomination and Election Meetings had saved the Lodge £2-10-0 in printing and postage. He concluded his report with “without being unduly optimistic, let us look forward with confidence to the future of the good old Lodge and never forget that we cannot command success, we can at least do what we can to deserve it”.
In the Minutes of the Meeting on 8/11/1933 the Nomination and Election of the Master took place at the same Meeting for the first time.There were 3 Candidates
Bro. J McLeod
Bro. W Divine
Bro. W Shields
Bro. J McLeod became the first Master to have the honour of being elected this way under this new procedure.
13/12/1933 was an interesting date for the Lodge in that 2 Meetings were held that day : A special Meeting at 6.30Pm too confer the 2nd Degree and the Regular Meeting at 7.30Pm to confer a 1st Degree. The reason for this being that the Lodge was bound to the bye-law of one Meeting-One Degree. The solution therefore was to hold 2 Meetings!
The Lodge discussed the possibility of holding Diamond Jubilee events and this was duly referred to the Office-Bearers to consider at the Meeting on 10/1/1934. At this same Meeting a dance was arranged for 30/2/1934—The cost of tickets being Gents 3/- and Ladies 2/6. Obviously a bit of sex discrimination there!
The Office-Bearers quickly responded with recommendations at the next Regular Meeting;
1.The Lodge hold Diamond Jubilee celebrations.
2.That the celebrations take the form of a special Lodge Meeting to be held on approx 2nd August, followed by Dinner. Harmony Tickets 5/-
3.Two Representatives from Provincial Grand Lodge and Grand Lodge be invited to attend function.
4.That an amount of credit of the children’s day account be transferred to special Diamond Jubilee account.
The Lodge readily accepted these recommendations. I assume the fourth recommendation was to help defray the costs of the event as the General Fund was certainly struggling by this time.
At the Meeting on 14/2/1934 the Lodge appointed three representatives to attend a meeting in Lodge Bishopbriggs regarding the formation of a Burns Masonic Club.
Two curious events are recorded in the Minutes of 28/3/1934, with the Lodge arranging a “Mystery Motor Run” at a cost of 3/- including tea! The other event was that a 570 Past Masters Jewel was in a sale room , however the Master ruled that purchasing the jewel was “outwith the Lodges jurisdiction”—A strange ruling.
At the Meeting on 12/6/1934 a proposal was put to the Lodge to cancel the next Regular Meeting due to the lack of Candidates. This was put to the vote and it was decided that the meeting should proceed regardless. At this same meeting it was reported that the “Mystery Motor Run” was a great success and a further one was planned for September.
Bro. Briggs gave a donation to the Lodge of £6-7-6, which represented the commission of a loan to Glasgow Corporation. I assume that the Lodge could not do this directly and Bro. Briggs was the nominee.
An interesting visitor attended the Lodge on 10/10/1934—Bro. J Finlay PM Lodge Southern Cross No 1240 EC based in Cordoba, Argentina who conveyed the greetings of his Master Bro. James Mailer a Member of Lodge Kenmuir.
On a maintenance issue the Lodge Members expressed concern about the lighting in the hall and the poor condition of “the lobby and the conveniences”
The Lodge were suffering hard times and at the meeting on 14/11/1934 it was decided to reduce emoluments to ;
Secretary £15 15 0
Treasurer £10 0 0
Tyler £8 8 0
The attendances at the meetings were;
21 Regular Meetings 1540 73 Average
5 Special Meetings 235 47 Average
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1343
Test Fee Members 105
However despite the Lodge Membership being 1448 only 61 attended the AGM – A turn out of only 4.2% of the Membership. A very poor attendance for an AGM. Bro. Carswell resigned as Secretary at this Meeting and this Office was taken up by Bro. Morrison
A curious vote was taken at the meeting on 13/2/1935- The Meeting prior to the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation of that year—It was decided to not award Honorary Membership to the PGL Deputation by a majority of 24 to 17. Perhaps this was done for financial reasons as Honorary Members appeared to be classed as Life Members at this time. It was also decided to invite “our regular Lodges to the PGL Visitation---Lodges Springburn, St Andrew, Bishopbriggs, Possilpark and the 12 oldest Members of the Lodge”
At the Meeting on 13/3/1935 it was recorded that Bro. James Nairn, a Member of Kenmuir, had been elected DGJD of Singapore.30/8/1935 marked the diamond jubilee of Lodge Kenmuir with a special meeting. PGL were represented at that Meeting by Bro James Murray DPGM who read a letter from the Provincial Grand Lodge wishing the Lodge all the best for the future. 90 Brethren attended this relatively low-key meeting and at the harmony the Brethren were treated to a musical performance by Bro. Carlton Smyth whom the Master Bro. Shields thanked for his presentation. The harmony concluded with the Brethren joining hands and singing Old Lang Syne.
The Lodge had declined since the euphoria of the Golden Jubilee and this intensified and would continue until the outbreak of World War Two. This era marked a period where Lodge finances suffered greatly due largely to the drop in attendances and the reduction in candidates. This necessitated some fairly drastic financial measures in the Lodge: Money from the Benevolent Fund was borrowed to support the General Fund, the Childrens Fund was closed and proceeds put to the General Fund and the Lodge had to have a whip-round to pay for a gift for the retiring RWM in 1936.
On a more positive note, however, a fund was set aside for repairs for the property. How much better this would have been for the Lodge had this repair fund had been set up as soon as the Hall had been built when the Lodge was booming.
The Lodge still appeared to be suffering from cash flow problems as a Notice of Motion was put forward that the balance of money from the “Childrens Fund “ be transferred to the General Fund—A sum of £16-15-3 ½.”
Bro. W Devine was nominated and elected as Master on 13/11/1935 and duly installed on 27/11/1935. The Secretary, Bro. J Morrison, delivered his Annual Report on 13/11/1935 which contained some interesting points regarding Lodge finance –“The General Fund spend had been contained and this will continue”(It makes spending sound like an outbreak of the Plague!) and “Money had been borrowed from the Benevolent Fund for the General Fund and this will be repaid”-This practice, of course, would not be allowed today and probably wasn’t even allowed in 1935!
The Secretary concluded with the following statistics
21 Regular Meetings 1333 63 Average
3 Special Meetings 163 54 Average
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1185
Test Fee Members 107
This demonstrated a decrease of 300 in attendances and a decrease of 158 in Life Members. This does not necessarily imply that 158 Life Members passed away—Maybe a check was done on addresses and they had moved away(or they were just not declared as a cost saving exercise!)
Bro. J Morrison resigned as Secretary at this Meeting and this Office was taken by Bro. S Brown.
The first Visitation of 1936 was reported on 8/1/1936 when the Lodge visited Lodge Concord No 1341 to confer the First Degree.
The Meeting on 22/1/1936 opened on a sombre note with the Brethren standing in silence to mark the death of King George V. At this same meeting the details of a Scottish Masonic Curling Club Bonspiel were given and it was agreed to “pass round sheets” for a presentation for the IPM—Previously this had always been done from the General Fund- Another sign of the austere times.
PGL notified Lodges that the mourning would carry on until 30/4/1936 and that all altars would be draped.
Socially the Lodge was very active with Office-Bearers visits arranged to The Daily Express, the Fire Station and a bus run.
Despite The financial problems of the Lodge a handsome donation of £10-10-0 was made to the Bi-Centenary Fund of PGL.
The Lodge suffered a double blow on 24/6/1936 when the deaths of Bro. J Martin and Bro. A Martin JW were reported.
On 12/8/1936 the Lodge had a lively discussion on advertising. The Meetings appeared to have been advertised in both “The Evening News” and “The Evening Times” but after discussion it was agreed to advertise in each alternately, although special Meetings would be advertised in both. This appeared to be a cost cutting exercise.
On 23/9/1936 a letter was received from The Vancouver Masonic Service Bureau advising the Lodge that it had found employment for a Member of 570. The Lodge responded with a letter of thanks. Could you just imagine what the press would of a story like that today? Another Masonic Conspiracy!
The AGM for 1936 was held on 11th November at which the Secretary gave the following report.
Initiates for the year 26 - An increase of 11
21 Regular Meetings 1438 68 Average
2 Special Meetings 91 45 Average
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1194
Test Fee Members 81
On a positive note the Secretary reported that the Lodge had “a better balance sheet than last year” – No doubt largely due to the increase in Initiates.
Two Brethren were proposed for Master at this meeting Bro. R Liliburn and Bro. J Morrison, with the former being successful and duly installed on 25/11/1936.
On 10/2/1937 the Lodge pulled an old Kenmuir trick – Holding 2 Meetings on the one day. A Special Meeting was held at 6.30PM at which the Second Degree was conferred, and a Regular Meeting at 7.30PM at which the First Degree was conferred.
The Meeting on 14/4/1937 was notable for 2 points . Firstly the Lodge was sad to hear of the death of Bro. J Carswell who had been Secretary and Secondly that Bro. W Devine IPM had appealed to PGL regarding an incident in the Lodge (which appeared to be a problem about the ballot). PGL then examined the books of the Lodge and the matter was corrected. Bro. R Liliburn Master apologised for this oversight.
The Meeting on 12/5/1937 opened on a positive note – This was the same day as the Coronation of King George VI and the Brethren were upstanding singing “God Save The King” to open the Meeting.
At this same meeting The Lodge received a letter from Lodge Doric No 121 in Brantford ,Canada reporting that a Member of 570 had been buried in full Masonic Honour. Lodge Kenmuir wrote back thanking Lodge Doric for their kindness and enclosed $3 to cover the cost of a wreath.
The AGM of 1937 was held on 10th November at which 103 attended. The Secretary gave his report.
Initiates for the year 26
21 Regular Meetings 1646 78 Average
6 Special Meetings 207 35 Average
An increase of 350 on the previous year.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1195
Test Fee Members 84
The Secretary also reported that a reserve fund of £21-11-11 had been set aside for future repairs. The first such repair fund set aside! Although it must be pointed out that the Building was by now 28 years old---But I suppose better late than never!
Bro. R Smith was elected as Master and duly installed on 24/11/1937.
Provincial Grand Lodge sent the Lodge a letter on 12/1/1938 advising the Lodge that accommodation was STILL available for excursion on 9/4/1938 to Wembley! Now there’s a PGL event that wouldn’t struggle for support!
At the Meeting on 9/2/1938 the Lodge was presented with 3 choices for the bus-run—Alva Glen, Prestwick and 3 Lochs. On a vote 3 Lochs prevailed! On the same night it was also announced that Provincial Grand Lodge BI-Centennial Jewels were on sale at 5/-. This Meeting co-incided with the Provincial Grand Lodge Visit, which was headed by Bro. A Swan PGM who was afforded Honorary Membership.
On 25/5/1938 the Lodge passed the following Notice of Motion
“That The Annuity Fund shall consist of a) Capital ( approx. £2886) and b) revenue. Interest shall be used solely for the benefit of worthy poor and distressed and cannot be used for any other purpose whatsoever”. I think perhaps the Notice of Motion should have concluded with “ especially for propping up the ailing General Fund” as this was the real purpose of this Notice of Motion which was probably orchestrated by Provincial Grand Lodge.
At the meeting on 11/5/1938 another important vote took place . The subject—should the next meeting have “wet” or a “dry” Harmony! For the sake of posterity the drys won 18-10!
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. A Briggs, the Senior Past Master of the Lodge (1903-1905), was recorded at the meeting on 12/10/1938. The Lodge owed Bro. Briggs a huge debt of thanks for his financial acumen, which greatly assisted the establishment of the new Hall and the astute investments for the Benevolent and Annuity Fund.
Bro. Morrison was duly Nominated, Elected and Installed as Master in November 1938.
At the Meeting on 28/12/1938 it was reported that the Lodge had acquired 15 tickets for the service to be held in Glasgow Cathedral to celebrate the Bi-Centennial of Provincial Grand Lodge. It was also reported that Bro. Dan Creran, a Member of 570 had been installed as Master of Lodge Lyee No66 of Prince Rupert, British Columbia.The last Meeting held prior to the outbreak of World War 2 was held on 9/8/1939 and there was no indication given in the Meeting of the War that was to change Freemasonry and the World forever.
The Second World War altered the Lodge just as the First World War had done in 1914-1918. At the outset of the Second World War, despite the Lodges own problems, the Lodge supported the War effort in every way it could. During the course of the War, Candidates once again became plentiful and Lodge attendances doubled, which certainly helped the Lodges financial status.
On the downside, however, the Hall was now beginning to become a greater liability as maintenance expenditure increased as Hall lets decreased (due to the restrictions of the War). Due to the increased affluence the Lodge was able to set aside a reserve fund of £1000 (£500 in 1943 and £500 in 1944) to deal with maintenance problems.
The Lodge concluded this era in 1945 far healthier in all respects than it had entered it in 1939.
The first Meeting after the Declaration of War took place on 27/9/1939. The first casualty of the War was recorded at this meeting – Bro. Pithie who was killed on HMS Courageous. The Provincial Grand Lodge was very active at this time in respect of the war; The last Regular Meeting of the Lodge had been cancelled by PGL on account of the War and the PG Secretary had also issued a letter to all Lodges granting them permission to hold Lodge Meetings earlier or on Saturdays in order to comply with National Emergency Regulations.
The Lodge was also active in the War effort with Bro. Ward presenting a jar of sweets to be raffled and a donation of 10/- to start a free gift scheme to benefit Members of 570 serving with the Forces.
At the next Meeting on 11/10/1939 the free gift scheme proved very popular and a second collection was uplifted to help finance this- This raised 16/7 against the first collection (for Benevolence) which raised the sum of 8/4. As a mark of respect the Provincial Grand Lodge Whist Tournament was cancelled due to the War.
The Lodge held its AGM of 1939 on 8th November and opened with the traditional wreath laying ceremony to commemorate the Brethren who fell in World War 1—Bro. Pithies name was also appended to this list as the first casualty of World War 2. The Lodge also marked the passing of Bro. W Robertson PM(1911 &1912)
Bro. W Russell was elected as Master and duly installed on 22/11/1939. At the Installation a letter was read from the Provincial Grand Master asking for assistance for the Glasgow Masonic War Hospital Fund. The Lodge also continued to raise funds for the Soldiers Fund, with sweets being sold at the Meetings and the Social Committee was charged “to consider ways of raising money for the Soldiers Fund.” Of course sweets are still sold at Lodge meetings today by Bro. Robert James PM –this time for the Childrens Christmas treat!
The Meeting on 24/1/1940 marked the passing of Bro. W Shields PM.
The Lodge continued with its normal business during the War and it decided to advertise only in the Evening Times to save costs , and organised a bus tour in March of 1940 at a cost of 4/- per head.
Candidates for the Lodge were beginning to increase can be seen from the Meeting on 29/05/1940 when 23 received the Degree. Once again, in terms of Candidates, a World War had been productive for the Lodge.
This increase in Candidates necessitated more Special Meetings to confer Degrees as can be seen from the Meetings held on 11/9/1940 when a First Degree was conferred at the Regular Meeting at 7.30PM and a Second Degree was conferred at a Special Meeting (with different Candidates) at 9.30PM. At this Regular Meeting a letter was read from Bro. Lt Leslie Ward serving in the RASC sending greetings to the Lodge and advising the Brethren on his promotion.
The AGM on 13/11/1940 began with the report of 2 deaths – Bro. G Milne who had been killed in action, and Bro. D Cererar (also of Lodge Tyee No 66 British Columbia) who had been killed in an accident. Once again there was no Secretary’s Report appended to the Minutes detailing the work of the Lodge in 1940.
Bro. Porter was Nominated and Elected as Master. He was duly installed on 27/11/1940. At this same Meeting the Lodge minuted its thanks for the work of Bro. S Brown who had stood down as Secretary at the last Meeting, and Bro. Morrison once again took over this Office.
A Meeting was held on Christmas Day 1940 at which it was reported that 22 Brethren serving with the Forces had each been sent 10/- from the Soldiers Fund. The addresses of a further 5 were still to be confirmed. The following Meeting recorded 17 letters of thanks from the Servicemen including one from Bro. J Howat Jnr.
The Lodge still took part in Visitations and on 26/2/1941 Lodge St Mungo No 27 conferred a First Degree and on 26/3/1941 Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259 also conferred a First Degree.
Elements of the War still surfaced in the Minutes with the Lodge donating £2-2-0 to the Glasgow Herald Clydebank Relief Fund following the blitz , and the Lodge increased its Contents Insurance in the light of the War Damage Act 1941. The Masters Chain, however, was not insured due to the cost of the premium.
Candidates were plentiful for the Lodge as 40 were Marked on 12/6/1941.
The Meeting on 13/8/1941 marked the passing of Bro. King PM.
The Secretary’s Report made a welcome return to the Minutes on 12/11/1941.
21 Regular Meetings 1459 69 Average
12 Special Meetings 207 27 Average
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1204
Test Fee Members 154
The Soldiers Fund at this point in time stood at £9-18-9 , and £80 was paid out to Annuitants of the Lodge.
Bro. A Scott was Nominated and Elected as Master and on a further vote it was agreed that the Installation Harmony be “wet”. New ByeLaws were also approved.
Bro. A Scott was Installed as Master on 26/11/1941 by Bro. G Carruth PM PPGJ and Bro. Black PM PPGBB.
Despite the War the Lodge continued with various social activities with a theatre outing to the Theatre Royal on 23/1/1942 at which 250 seats were booked (120 at 5/6 and 130 at 5/- !) which proved a great success.
A donation of £2 was given to an appeal for an ambulance for the people of Cowlairs Area on behalf of The Air Raid Precautions Department, Civil Defence Ward No 9. A further £30 was also given to the War Distress and Relief Fund at the Meeting on 11/3/1942.
Lodge Southern Cross No 1243 conferred a Second Degree on 10/6/1942 and Lodge Kelvin Partick No 1207 conferred a First Degree on 14/9/1942.
On 9/9/1942 a letter from Provincial Grand Lodge detailed a list of supplies provided to patients in Military and Naval Hospitals from Fundraising. A letter was also received from Bro. Laws advising the Lodge that “ he had come safely through the Battle of Madagascar”
Two Visitations took place within 3 days- on 26/10/1942 and 28/10/1942- with Lodge St Enoch Tannochside No 1288 conferring a Third Degree and Lodge Oatlands No 1005 also conferring a Third Degree. Bro. W McFaull IPM headed the Degree Team for Lodge Oatlands and was rewarded with Honorary Membership for his work.
The AGM for 1942 was held on 11/11/1942 and the Secretary gave the following report.
21 Regular Meetings 1632 78 Average
32 Special Meetings 1520 49 Average
This marked an increase of almost 1400 attendances on the previous year and an increase of 26 Meetings on the previous year.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1256
Test Fee Members 122
During the course of the year 50 Degrees had been conferred-
40 Brethren were now serving with the Forces , all of whom had been sent 10/- from the Soldiers Fund.
Due to the increased workload of the executive Office-Bearers of the Lodge and the fact that the Lodge were once again pulling in Initiation Fees and making the General Fund healthier , the emoluments were increased to ;
However the Hall Fund showed a deficit due to the number of lets being down owing to War restrictions and the boiler had to be replaced at a cost of £94-15-0.
Two Brethren stood for the Office of Master, Bro. W Daniel and Bro. C
Smyth with the former being successful. The Installation took place on 25/11/1942 and was witnessed by Deputations from 1198, 1330,1259 as well as Bro. Tibbell PPGSW of Malta (EC).
At the Meeting on 13/1/1943 the Lodge gave donation of £2-0-0 to the Church of Scotland Hut and Canteen Committee for HM Forces. The Lodge also set up a reserve fund of £500 from the General Fund to offset deficits in the Hall Fund. The reason for this being the Lodge was quite wealthy at this point due to the large increase in Candidates culminating in a healthy General Fund. However the income of the Hall was down due to Wartime restrictions and more money was required for maintenance. The solution therefore was to set up a reserve fund to offset any deficits.
At the next Meeting the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. R Steele PM(1929). At this same Meeting Bro. David Coutts was initiated – probably the son of a previous Secretary.
Given the Wartime rationing Bro. J Wright Treasurer came up with a bold idea—to have a “herring and tatties night as he had been promised both”! However he didn’t reveal the source of his supply! The Lodge took to this idea and the Social Committee was empowered to organise this. The same Committee also organised a Military Whist drive, which was also a great success.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visit was quite late in 1943 – not taking place till 14th April. At the same Meeting the Lodge awarded a donation of £2 to the Minesweepers Literature Fund. This helped to purchase a library for HMS Hantonic for which the Lodge was thanked for their help.
Bro.Hutcheson was welcomed into the Lodge on 28/4/1943, being an Engineer in the Merchant Navy. That same night the Lodge sold copies of a poem entitled “The Desert Rat” for 3d each with proceeds going to the soldiers Fund.
The Meeting on 12/5/1943 held mixed news – it recorded the death of Bro. John Crawford PM(1913-1914) and it also contained congratulations to the Master Bro. W Daniel on being made an Honorary Member of Lodge St Mungo No 27.
The Lodge received a visit from Bro. Wright WSW of Lodge Ionic, New Orleans USA on 18/4/1943.
At this point in time the Lodge starts a new Minute Book which runs from 22/9/1943 till 23/11/1946. However this book has not worn well—It was obviously water-damaged and this obliterated large sections of text. The book was further damaged by dry rot, which not only spread between the pages but permeated through them, thus causing more damage. Despite this I have tried to extract as much information as possible.
The AGM was held on 10/11/1943 at which the Secretary presented his Report ;
21 Regular Meetings 1932 92 Average
17 Special Meetings 814 48 Average
During the course of the year 32 Degrees had been conferred on 80 Initiates. Bro. G Callendar was Nominated and Elected as Master.
On 12/1/1944 it was reported that Bro. W Russell PM(1940) had passed away.
The Lodge had an interesting discussion at the Meeting held on 22/3/1944. Apparently one of the standard questions asked at the Enquiry Committee Meeting was “Are you a Presbyterian?” The Lodge considered changing this to “Are you a Member of a Church?” After what appeared to be a lively debate, a vote was taken and it was agreed that status quo remain in place.
The Lodge received a request from a proposed Lodge in Inchinnan asking if Bro. George Marshall was in good standing with 570—Perhaps this Brother became a Founder Member. At this same Meeting on 25/10/1944 it became necessary to transfer a further £500 to the Reserve Fund to offset a further deficit in the Hall Fund.
The Lodge held its AGM on 18/11/1944 at which the Secretary gave his Report ;
21 Regular Meetings 2161 103 Average
31 Special Meetings 1426 46 Average
This represents an increase of over 800 attendances on the previous year and an increase of 14 Meetings on the previous year.
During the course of the year 54 Degrees had been conferred on 116 Candidates.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1408
Test Fee Members 172
Bro. John McLeod was Elected as Master on 18/11/1944 and duly Installed on 27/11/1944.
On 14/2/1945 a letter was received from the Officer in Charge of the Military Ward in Stobhill Hospital thanking the Lodge for inviting 9 Patients to the Lodge Burns Supper, which they had thoroughly enjoyed.
On 28/2/1945 the Lodge gave a further £2 to the War effort, this time to Soviet Aid.
On 9/5/1945 “Bro. J McLeod RWM made reference to Victory in Europe and as a token of thankfulness the Brethren were upstanding and sang the 100th Psalm and The National Anthem.”There was no official reference to Victory in Japan (that I could find anyway given the state of the Minute Book) but a Meeting was held on 8/8/1945 (the day after Hiroshima had been nuclear bombed. This was also the day which Russia declared war on Japan since they were just about to surrender) and no reference is made to the imminent end of War in the Minute book.
Once again the era following a World War proved to be a boom time for the Lodge with the number of candidates and the number of attendances remaining high. So much so that it was decided that the 1945 Installation would be an all-ticket affair!
As occurred previously after the First World War, Grand Lodge once again threw a spanner in the works---this time by limiting the number of (additional or) Special Meeting the Lodge could hold and thereby limiting the throughput of Candidates.
Other notable features in this era was the Dedication of a new Volume of Sacred Law in the Memory of 3 Brethren who gave their lives in the War, and a lecture given by Bro. Andrew McBride PM Lodge Progress No 873 who, of course, was the father of the McBride Ritual.On a sadder note this era contained one of the darkest days in Lodge Kenmuirs history when it was deemed necessary to hold a “Masonic Trial”.
The era concluded with the 75th Anniversary celebrations which culminated in a grand dinner at the Ca’Dora restaurant in 1950.
After the War had ended the attendance at Lodge Meetings soared with the return of the Servicemen from abroad. This is illustrated at the Meeting on 12/9/1945 when it was decided that due to numbers the Installation would be a ticket only affair with 200 tickets being printed, with 50 of those being reserved for Visitors. The remainder of the tickets would be distributed on a first come first served basis.
The Lodge organised a social event at the Meeting on 26/9/1945 with the Secretary instructed to secure 200 tickets for the Pavilion Theatre.
The AGM was held on 14/11/1945 and opened with the traditional laying of the wreath at the altar to remember the 25 Brethren who had given their lives in World War 1 and the Brethren who had given their lives in World War 2, Bro. Robert Pithie and Bro. George D Milne. However a third name, Bro. John Rennie was later to be added to this list.
The Secretary gave his Report
21 Regular Meetings 2386 114 Average
21 Special Meetings 1247 59 Average
During the course of the year 46 Degrees had been conferred on 94 Candidates.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1460
Test Fee Members 171
The Secretary also reported the death of Bro. J McAndrew PM(1919)
The Hall Fund once again showed a deficit due to repainting, cleaning, roof work and rot repair work to the cupola area in the Temple.
Bro. A Cormack was Elected as Master and duly Installed on 28/11/1945.
To celebrate the end of hostilities the Lodge at its Meeting on 12/12/1945 announced it would have a Victory Dance on 23/3/1946, which would be arranged by the Social Committee.
On 9/1/1946 an interesting letter was read from St Johns Lodge, Boston, USA intimating that a certain George Thornberry had attended their Installation on 3/2/1945. Bro. George was, of course, later to become a stalwart of Lodge Kenmuir and be awarded Honorary Grand Rank of Bible Bearer.
On 6/5/1946 it seemed fitting that the Soldiers Fund be closed, and this was duly done. The Social Committee informed the Lodge that it was their intention to hold a function each month in the Hall starting in September.
The Lodge conferred a Mark at its Meeting on 22/5/18946 with 55 Candidates, the Mark Master being Bro. R Porter PM.
A letter was received from Grand Lodge asking the Lodge to make a return by 30/9/1946 detailing the number of Qualified Members—The first such record of this in the Minutes. At this same Meeting 21 Applications were read, and the Degree that night was a First Degree by Bro J Howat Jnr.
At this point in time the Lodge carried out Degrees at least once, sometimes twice a week, and as such much of the Minutes relate solely to this at the expense of normal run of the mill Lodge Minutes.
The Meeting of 9/10/1946 was important on as 2 main issues were decided. It was agreed to increase the sum for the IPM jewel and apron (still no case!) from £15 to £20, and on the motion of Bro. Morrison PM Sec it was agreed that Test Fee Members could be made into Life Members on completion of 21 years consecutive Test Fee payments. The first beneficiary of this new Byelaw was Bro. J Wright Tr. who was awarded his Life Membership card at the same Meeting. The same was also conferred on Bro. A Finlay at the next Meeting on 13/11/1946.
The Secretary gave his annual report at the AGM on 13/11/1946.
21 Regular Meetings 2777 132 Average
27 Special Meetings 1780 95 Average
These figures show an increase of over 900 attendances on last year. The number of Candidate and Degrees had remained about the same, which show that this increase was solely due to larger attendances and not additional Meetings.
During the course of the year 46 Degrees had been conferred on 93 Candidates.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1548
Test Fee Members 181
The number of Life Members had increased by approx. 120.
The Secretary also reported the death of Bro. A Phillip PM(1931)
Bro. J McDonald was Nominated, Elected and duly Installed as Master on 27/11/1946. At the same Meeting it was reported that Bro.A Scott PM(1942) had passed away.
The Lodge now closed the old (damaged and dry rot infected!) Minute Book and opened a new Minute Book which I am sorry say is in exactly the same dilapidated state ! This Minute book runs till 26/4/1950.
At the Meeting on Christmas Day 1946 the Master Bro. J McDonald reported that along with the IPM and the Treasurer he had visited Erskine Hospital and given gifts (including cigarettes!) to the Matron to distribute to the patients.
On 8/1/1947 Bro. Andrew Tasker joined the Lodge and he was later to become a stalwart of Lodge Kenmuir until his death some 42 years later. I am proud to say that Bro. Andy was my Seconder to join 570, and I wear his PM jewel with equal pride.
It was with sadness that the Lodge reported on 12/2/1947 the death of Bro Carlton Smyth who had been DOM for many years as well as PGL Organist for over 25 years.
An interesting letter was received from Grand Lodge advertising the Post of Grand Secretary and was looking for “A Master Mason not over 45 with a salary between £1500 and £2000 per annum”. The Lodge also planned a bus run to Ayr with coaches costing £8 per 32 seater, with the cost per ticket being 9/-. The Lodge also decided to use the firm of Strachan Kerr to provide the Harmony meal at the next Meeting at a cost of 2/6 per head.
At the Meeting on 11/6/1947 Grand Lodge advised that Lodges Special or Emergency Meetings during the year were not to exceed the number of Regular Meetings held. The main object of this would be to encourage the formation of new Lodges rather than have Lodges working several Degrees per Month (or even per week!) to try to keep waiting lists for Membership as short as possible.
Given the increase in Membership the Lodge decided to restart a Lodge of Instruction and these would be scheduled to be held on the first Wednesday of each month.
The Lodge at this time seemed split fifty-fifty on the question of wet or dry harmonies as can be seen at the vote taken for the Installation at the meeting on 22/10/1947 when the wets won 69-65. It was also agreed that the balance of the Soldiers Fund be used to purchase a new Volume of Sacred Law for use on the Altar with the names of the Brethren who fell in War inscribed thereon.
The AGM for 1947 was held on 12/11/1947, where it was decided to increase the Initiation Fee to £8-8-0 and Life Membership increased to £2-10-0.
The Secretary gave his report for the year.
21 Regular Meetings 2679 127 Average
11 Special Meetings 817 81 Average
These figures show a decrease of 1100 attendances on last year and a decrease of over 30 Candidates resulting in 16 fewer Meetings
During the course of the year 29 Degrees had been conferred on 67 Candidates.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1598
Test Fee Members 182
The Secretary also reported on the Lodge having a “Welcome Home” night for Servicemen of the Lodge, which cost £57-8-1.
Bro. F Halliday was Installed as Master on 26/11/1947.
The Lodge reported on holding a Lodge of Instruction in January 1948. It seems that there was a heated discussion at this Meeting and the Instruction Master Bro. G Callendar resigned this post. The Lodge then decided to seek Provincial Grand Lodge advice on the format of a Lodge of Instruction. The Lodge of Instruction had not been Minuted—perhaps that was the cause of the heated discussion.
At the Meeting on 26/031948 the Lodge presented Bro. J McDonald PM with a gift to mark the fact that he was emigrating to Vancouver, Canada.
The Lodge held a ceremony on 12/5/1948 to dedicate the Volume of Sacred Law to the use of the Lodge. The service was conducted by Bro. Rev J Russell Andrews (Minister of Johnston Church) after which he was given Honorary Membership of the Lodge. The Brethren whose names are inscribed on the VSL are;
Bro. George D Milne
Bro. Robert Pithie
Bro. John Rennie
Inflation struck the Lodge again on 13/10/1948 when it became necessary for the Lodge to increase the sum for the jewel and apron for the retiring Master to £25 !
At this point the Minute Book is very badly damaged and pages, if turned, begin to disintegrate. However I did manage to read from the Secretary’s Report that 37 Degrees had been conferred on 67 Candidates.
Meeting attendances were
21 Regular Meetings 2469 118 Average
18 Special Meetings 980 54 Average
Bro. Clarkson was Elected as Master and Installed on 24/11/1948.
At the Meeting on 26/1/1949 it was decided that the PGL visit (which was due to be held on 23/3/1949) would commence at 7.00PM with no Degree to follow---basically the same format we use today.
The first Lodge of Instruction of this era was first minuted on 2/2/1949 and continued to run, every first Wednesday, until 2/11/1949. Most of the Meetings comprised discussions or practices for forthcoming Degrees. However the Meeting on 2/11/1949 was a lecture given by Bro. Andrew McBride PM Lodge Progress No 873 (The father of the McBride ritual). This lecture was entitled “The essentials and non-essentials of Freemasonry”.
25/5/1949 marks what was probably Lodge Kenmuirs blackest Masonic moment in its history. Visitors were asked to leave the Lodge as the Lodge had a matter of “domestic business to discuss”. It then transpired that £180 had gone missing from the Lodge funds, although £100 had subsequently been returned. The Lodge discussed this matter fully at the end of which, on the motion of Bro. G Carruth seconded by Bro. Sam Sloan “a Special Meeting be held to conduct a Masonic Trial “. This was duly set for 2/8/1949.
The following meeting of the Lodge on 10/09/1949 the Minutes of the Halls and Finance Committee were read----The first occasion of this being done which was probably prompted by the problem of the missing money.
The “Masonic Trial” was held on 2/8/1949 “to try the charge of embezzlement of £180-10-7.” The Brother concerned (who was not present) had reimbursed £105 by now. The Meeting considered the matter and after discussion decided to expel the Brother and write off the remaining £75. This was intimated to Provincial Grand Lodge who varied the sentence to “Sine Die” which was ratified by Grand Lodge. This sentence was never raised.
As far as records show this is the only Brother of 570 ever to have been under Masonic Censure and hopefully he will be the last.
The AGM was held on 9/11/1949 with the Secretary reporting that 29 Degrees had been conferred on 45 Candidates.
Meeting attendances were
21 Regular Meetings 2585 123 Average
11 Special Meetings 982 89 Average
Attendances for the year were about the same as the previous year although there were 7 Meetings fewer.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1632
Test Fee Members 70
Bro. Sam Sloan was elected and duly Installed as Master on 23/11/1949.
The Lodge was still organising outings –the latest one being to the Cathedral on 26/11/1949.
At the Meeting on 28/12/1949 the Lodge announced that it would hold a Divine Service in Johnston Church which would be conducted by Bro. Rev Andrews MA. The Lodge also considered holding an Anniversary Dinner to celebrate 75 years.
Unfortunately at this point in time a Minute Book is missing. This book runs from January 1950 till May 1953 and as such there are no records of Meetings during this time.
I can report, however, that a 75th Anniversary Meeting was held on Saturday 26th August 1950 followed by dinner in the Ca’Dora restaurant at 5.00PM. The Toast List was as follows;
The King Proposed by: Bro. Samuel C Sloan RWM
Song Bro. Archibald McLellan
The Grand Lodge of Scotland
Proposed by: Bro. George Carruth PM Senior PM
Song Bro. John Clarke
Reply by : Bro. James SM Grieve JP PDGM
The Provincial Grand Lodge of Scotland
Proposed by: Bro. Thomas Dobinson PM
Song Bro. John Hynd
Reply by : Bro. Donald McKay Kerr PGM
Lodge “Kenmuir” Springburn No 570
Proposed by: Bro. James M Rennie RWM No 465
Collection for the war-blinded
Song Bro. Archibald McLellan
Reply by : Bro. Samuel C Sloan RWM No 570
Proposed by: Bro. George L Nairn MM No 570
Reply by : Bro. James McGhee PM No 570
Song Bro. John Hynd
Proposed by: Bro. John C Howat Pm No 570
Song Bro. Archibald McLellanReply by : Bro. PF McPherson RWM No 1330
The Minute Book covering the period from 1950 till 1953 is missing but when the Minutes resume it appears that attendance have remained in line with those of the late 1940s. However attendances and Candidates would reduce gradually during the 1950s.
The major feature of this era was the work carried out by the Reconstruction Committee headed by Bro. John Millar. This work included a new chequered floor and the Dias in the East. This work was further augmented by Wardens Diases in late 1950s to match the one in the East.
Lodge Kenmuir was also a sponsor Lodge to Lodge Sir William Wallace in the Balornock Area and indeed donated the old Masters Chair to 1504 during this period.
The Minutes resume again on 13/5/1953 with Bro. John C Howat Jnr in the chair—The first son to follow his father into the chair albeit 31 years later.
In the interim period of 1950-1953 (the period of the missing Minutes) the Masters were as follows;
It is possible that these Minutes were lost in the flooding that occurred in the 1980s, which so severely damaged the previous 2 Minute Books.
On 27/5/1953 a deputation was received from Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259 to confer a First Degree headed by Bro. Peter White, Master.
An interesting report was contained in the Minutes of 10/6/1953 when it was recorded that all the Annuitants of the Lodge had received a Coronation Grant of £5.
Bro. David Watson PM organised a trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo, which was reported in the Lodge in 9/9/1953.
The Lodge considered a Notice of Motion on 28/10/1953 to increase the Initiation Fee to £8-8-0 but this was defeated and so it remained at £7-7-0.
The AGM of 1953 was held on 11/11/1953 and the Secretary Bro J Morrison PM gave his report
21 Regular Meetings 2212 105 Average
21 Special Meetings 1672 73 Average
These figures seem to have remained on a par with the last Secretary’s Report we have from 1949.
During the course of the year 39 Degrees had been conferred on 68 Candidates.
The strength of the Lodge at this time was
Life Members 1624
Test Fee Members 82
Bro. W English was elected Master and installed on 25/11/1953. At this Meeting Bro John Howat Senior PM presented his son Bro. John Howat Junior with his Past Masters Jewel prior to the Ceremony of Installation.
The Lodge had obviously set up a Reconstruction Committee in the early part of the 1950s as Bro, John Miller DM reported to the Lodge on behalf of this Committee to the Lodge on 10/3/1954 as he gave a “full report on the reconstruction plan of the Lodge Room”
At the next Meeting on 24/3/1954 a Notice of Motion was put forward that”£700 from the Lodge reserve fund be set aside to meet the cost of the Lodge reconstruction programme”. Unfortunately exact details of all the work the plan entailed are not included in the Minutes but the balance sheet for the year shows accounts for:
Reconstruction of dias (probably the one in the East) £265
Flooring (probably the chequered flooring in the Temple) £141
The Meeting on 26/5/1954 was very important as the Lodge decided to award “Distinguished Service Memberships” to two of the Lodge stalwarts namely Bro. George Carruth PM and Bro. John Howat Snr PM. It was agreed that a special Meeting would be held on 3/9/1954 and a dinner would follow the presentation.
This Special Meeting co-incided with the dedication of the Lodge furniture and 3 chairs and Bro. Earnest Noakes Depute Provincial Grand Master commented on “the new furnishings and the alterations in a very favourable manner”. The dedication was carried out by Bro. Rev B Wotherspoon PGChap.
I think it is worth pointing out that the Chairs dedicated were in the Masters and Wardens Chairs. The Wardens Chairs were to be later superseded with diases and as such the Chairs which were dedicated in 1954 are the chairs currently in use in the East as Master, Depute Master and Immediate Past Master.
This was the last Minute that Bro. J Morrison PM(1939) Sec was to write for the Lodge, as on 22/9/1954 it was with regret that the Master Bro. W English reported the death of the Secretary. Bro. Rev J Russell Anderson conducted an In Memoriam service and paid “a tribute to Bro. Morrisons long years of loyal untiring and devoted service to the Lodge”.
The AGM of the Lodge was held on 10/1/1954 at which the Lodge considered the Notice of Motion to present a jewel and apron to the retiring Master—to the sum of £30. The Secretary, Bro. Porterfield , reported that there had been 39 Initiates during the last year. Bro. J Miller was nominated as Master and duly Installed on 24/11/1954. Bro. Miller had produced a set of drawings of the Lodge premises in 1953—probably to co-incide with the “reconstruction” works. The drawings are still present in the adjacent of the Lodge and a set of plans is also in the Mitchell Library.
On 8/12/1954 the Lodge agreed to purchase new aprons for Office-Bearers and this was followed up in 12/1955 with a Notice of Motion that £175 be used to purchase aprons and gauntlets for the Master and Wardens.
Although the Candidates for the Lodge had dipped in numbers it still took a considerable amount of time to join the Lodge. I can illustrate this by citing my own father, Bro. William Shields Wilson when he joined the Lodge at this time.
22/12/1954 Application made. Proposed by Bro. W Clay.
Seconded by Bro. D Norris.
26/1/1955 Ballot taken.
9/3/1955 1st Degree by Bro. Sam Sloan PM
11/5/1955 2nd Degree by Bro. D Watson PM
13/7/1955 3rd Degree by Bro D Coutts WSW
30/5/1956 Mark Degree by Bro. Sam Sloan PM
It took 17 months to progress from application to the completion of the Mark Degree. As an aside it is interesting to note that both my father and myself received our Mark Degree by the same Brother—Sam Sloan PM—some 25 years apart.
Another Brother whose application was read about the same time as my fathers was Bro. Jim Melville, read on 12/1/1955, who course is still a very regular attender.
The Meeting on 9/2/1956 was interesting for a few points. This was the Meeting prior to the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation and it was agreed to cater for 100---3 times today’s average for a PGL Visit. A list of General Committee recommendations were considered at the same Meeting and all approved. The recommendations were;
At this same Meeting a gift of velvet drapes was presented to the Lodge for use on the Wardens Stations (probably tables) was presented by Bro. A Tasker and Bro. McDonald.
At the Meeting of the Provincial Grand Lodge Visit on 27/2/1955 which Bro. Anderson McMillan PGM attended, the Lodge agreed to pay £173-1-6 for the redecoration of “the upper hall, annex hallway, main stairway and porch”. The Social Fund funded this. The Lodge also set the date for its Annual Divine Service for 3/4/1955 in Johnston Church.
The Lodge continued with its social events by taking 100 seats in the Metropole Theatre to support the Garrowhill Operatic Club who had previously supplied Harmony for the Lodge.
A letter was received on 13/4/1955 thanking the Lodge for its telegram of good wishes to Bro. W Kidd, a Member of 570, who had been elected JD of Lodge River of Light, Geneva.
The General Committee came back with a further recommendation to the Lodge on 11/5/1955—“That the Masters Chair no longer in use be polished and presented to Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504”. This recommendation was accepted.
It was with sadness that the Lodge on 13/7/1955 reported the death of its Senior Past Master Bro. John Howat Senior (1932). His son Bro. John Howat Junior thanked the Lodge for its support.
The Lodges new Regalia was dedicated at the Meeting held on 10/8/1955 by Bro. Rev Gordon Ewan PG Chap.
The Lodge held its AGM on 9/11/1955 at which it was decided that for Members children to qualify for attendance at the Children Treat that the Member had to attend 6 Meetings. This is similar to the system in use now for the Pensioners bus run—3 attendances being the qualifying number.
The Secretary gave his report.
Initiates had increases by 12 to 51 for the year.
21 Regular Meetings 1880 94 Average
10 Special Meetings 876 73 Average
The Secretary also reported that he had sent a billet of business to all the Qualified Members of the Lodge and had 629 returned! This reduced the Life Membership of the Lodge to 1012, with 88 Test Fee Members giving a total Membership of 1100. The Secretary also advised that he would inform Grand Lodge---no doubt to reduce fees!
Bro. J McLellan was elected as Master and duly Installed on 27/11/1955.
At the Meeting on 14/12/1955 it was reported that Bro A Cormack PM (1946) had passed away. At the same Meeting it was agreed to purchase 100 aprons at cost of £49 for use in the Lodge.
Another important milestone was reached at this point---The Secretary Bro A Porterfield was now writing in biro ! The days of quills and fountain pens were over! I would also assume that biro is much less likely to fade than old fashioned ink and certainly more robust when facing the perils of flooding and dry rot!
The Provincial Visit to the Lodge on 11/4/1956, which was headed by Bro. Harold Brown SPGM sowed the seed of discontent within the Lodge as regards Provincial Grand Lodge. Bro. Harold Brown SPGM gave his report to the Lodge in which he advised that the Initiation Fee was far too low and that given the Membership of the Lodge the attendance “left much to be admired”---Perhaps he not read the Secretary’s report from the AGM! He then continued and reported that only 4 Lodges in the Province of Glasgow had not donated to the Glasgow Masonic Temple Fund----Guess what --570 was one of them! Apparently the other 3 Lodges were “young Lodges and had little finance” The Lodge did however get a Clear Minute but Bro. Harold Brown SPGM didn’t get Honorary Membership!
A Lodge of Instruction followed the next week on 18/4/1956 at which Bro. S McArthur PM Lodge Kelvin Partick No 1207 delivered the lecture of the 1st Degree Tracing Board and was thanked for his efforts.
The Lodge considered what to do about the comments made by Bro. Harold Brown SPGM at the PGL Visitation and in response to the Glasgow Masonic Temple Fund a Notice of Motion was put forward that “a token donation of £25 be donated to the Temple Fund”. An amendment was put forward by Bro. John Howat PM seconded by Bro. D Watson Pm that “nothing be donated”—Although I suspect that wasn’t quite what was said! A vote was then taken
For the Motion 19
For the Amendment 17
However as the Notice of Motion required a two-thirds majority to succeed the amendment prevailed and nothing was given to the Temple Fund. This was a complete reversal of what happened in the 1900s when Lodge Kenmuir appealed for funds from Provincial Grand Lodge to assist to build a Temple and PGL donated nothing. It would appear this was pay back time.
At this same Meeting an invite to the Installation of Lodge Meyerton Johannesburg was received as the Master Elect was Bro C Briggs , a Member of 570.
The Lodge reported on 8/8/1956 that an outing had been organised to the Edinburgh Tattoo—the cost of tickets 1/6.
At the Meeting on 12/9/1956 a letter was received from Lodge Stratford, Ontario asking permission to confer a 50-year jewel on Bro. Edwin Gass, a Member of 570.At this same meeting Bro. Alex K Watson was initiated to the Lodge. Bro. Alex was to become the Master of the Lodge twice (so far!) and attain the high rank of Substitute Provincial Grand Master of Provincial Grand Lodge, become a Steward of Grand Lodge and receive Grand Honours.-The Rank of Honorary Senior Deacon.xxxxxxxx
The Lodge went hi-tech on 24/9/1956 when it agreed to purchase a typewriter for the Secretary—Perhaps his writing was as good as mine!
The General Committee made a recommendation to the Lodge on 14/11/1956 “ That the Lodge carpet be kept and used at Meetings”. This succeeded on a vote of 62-34. Perhaps there was a suggestion that the Lodge should dispose of its carpet (to one of the newer Lodges?) or maybe the novelty of the new chequered floor was wearing off. The Meeting also acknowledged the fact that Bro. Clarkson PM and Bro. Quinn had won the Grant Whist Cup.
Bro. G Shepherd was elected as Master and duly Installed on 28/11/1956 at a “wet” Harmony!
Unfortunately there is no Secretary’s Report in the Minutes of the AGM. However Reports were given from the Quarterly Communications—Lodge Milton had been granted a Charter and that Degree Meetings for all Lodges had been restricted to a maximum of 25 (which would probably only allow 7 Special Meetings per year assuming Degrees were conferred at 18 Regular Meetings)
At the Meeting on 12/12/1956 the Lodge agreed to hold its Divine Service in Springburn Hill Church on 3/3/1956, which would be conducted by Bro. Rev Wills.
January 1957 marked the Masonic career of two of the Brethren of Lodge Kenmuir;
A Notice of Motion was put forward at the Meeting on 23/1/1957 that the Installation be held on the last Saturday in November and that the Initiation Fee be increases to £9-9-0. It was also agreed that audits should take place 9 days after the end of the accounting period.
This Notice of Motion was considered at the Meeting on 13/2/1957 at which the Fee increase was approved. However an amendment was put forward by Bro A Tasker seconded by Bro. S Sloan PM that the Installation be held on the 4th Wednesday of November at 6.30PM. The amendment was carried by a majority of 42-30.At the same Meeting the Lodge congratulated Bro. Clarkson and Bro. Quinn on securing the third place at the Whist competition.
The Lodge received a letter from Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259 enclosing 25 tickets for the visit of the Scottish Compass Club of Trenton, USA who were appearing in Springburn Hall(which is now derelict) on the 20th of June.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visit took place on 24/4/1957 headed by Bro. R Gordon SPGM and contained basically the same complaints as the previous year
On a more positive note, however , Bro. R Gordon SPGM acknowledged the work of Bro. W Daniel PM as Provincial Grand Sword Bearer in the Province.
The Lodge of Instruction welcomed Bro. Peter Shearer IPPGM of Dunbartonshire , PM of Lodge Kilsyth St. John No 39 who gave a lecture on “The Liberal Arts and Sciences”
An interesting financial transaction took place in 25/9/1957 when the Lodge agreed to transfer £50 from the General Fund to the Hall Revenue Fund in lieu of rent.
The AGM was held on 13/11/1957 when Bro. J Coutts was elected and was Installed on 27/11/1957. I believe that Bro. J Coutts was the son of Bro D Coutts who was Secretary of the Lodge from 1894 to 1915.
Bro. J Howat PM at the meeting on 11/12/1957 suggested that the Lodge purchase “open collection Plates”—Perhaps the Lodge was acquiring too many sweet papers in the collection!
The Lodge of Instruction of 15/1/1958 welcomed Bro. Peter McNab IPM of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 and a MM of 570. Bro. John McLeod gave a lecture on the First Degree Tracing Board.
The Provincial Visit of 1958 took place on 22/1/1958 and once again the poor attendance was mentioned, as was the lack of a donation to the Temple Fund. I get the impression that by this time PGL had the feeling that they were flogging a dead horse.
The Meeting of 26/2/1958 recorded the death of Bro Anderson McMillan Provincial Grand Master and Lodges were informed that mourning would continue until the end of March and all Regalia would be draped.
The First mention of Lodge Castlemilk No 1536 in the Lodge Minutes took place on 26/03/1958 when Lodge Kenmuir were invited to confer a Third Degree on Monday 14th July.
The attendance at the Lodge of Instruction was raising concern and the Master Bro. Coutts was of the opinion that “the attendance did not warrant its continuance”. As such a Notice of Motion was considered at the Meeting on 23/4/1958 when an amendment was put forward by Bro. G Barr PM, seconded by Bro. G McLean that the Lodge of Instruction continue. The amendment was successful and the Lodge of Instruction did continue.
A First Degree was conferred on 14/5/1958 at which a certain Bro. Alex Watson presented the Tools—The first appearance of Bro. Alex on the floor but certainly not the last.
On 28/5/1958 Bro. Rev. William Fraser Wills, a Member of Lodge Union No 332 and a Founder Member of Lodge Loch Lomond Drymen No 1483 had Honorary Membership conferred upon him. Bro. Wills was the Minister at Springburn Hill Parish Church where the Annual Divine Service was held.
It was with sadness that on 13/8/1958 that the death of Bro. W Daniel PM (1943) was reported. As well as being a faithful servant to the Lodge he had also been on the PGL Benevolent Committee. The Lodge acknowledged his death in the usual manner and at the conclusion Bro. J Melville sang, “Only remembered” –Bro. Daniels favourite Hymn. Also at this meeting the Lodge decided to revert to Committee recommendation for Office.
At the Meeting on 8/10/1958 a Notice of Motion was put forward to set aside £36 to purchase a Jewel an Apron for the retiring Master—An increase of £6 on the previous year. At the next Meeting on 22/10/1958 it was reported that Kenmuir had visited Lodge Panmure in Arbroath.
Bro G Barr was elected as Master and duly Installed on 26/11/1958.Unfortunately no details of the Secretary’s Report exist.
A proposal was put forward at the Meeting on 10/12/1958 that an item of furniture be bought for the Lodge in memory of Bro. W Daniel PM. This was readily agreed to in principle. At this same Meeting the Lodge was informed of a Provincial Grand Lodge Masters Dinner, which was probably a forerunner of the Masters-Get-Together held today.
The Meeting on 25/3/1959 marked the death of another PM –Bro. A Hutton(1926). A letter was received from Lodge St Clair, Toronto requesting permission to present a 50-year Diploma to Bro. Daniel Cook who was a Founder Member of that Lodge.
A curious letter was received from Grand Lodge at the Meeting on 8/4/1959. It stated that “Grand Committee records its disapproval at housey housey, tombola or similar games of chance as a method of raising money for Masonic purposes” Changed days indeed! Many Lodges now rely on raffles to keep their Lodges afloat and Grand Lodge runs its own 2000 Club raffle. It was also recorded at this meeting that “the Cupola and windows were in a dirty condition”!
On 13/5/1959 the Lodge agreed that all advertisements in the Evening Times should appear on the Saturday and not Monday—A practice still followed today when the Meeting requires it.
The Lodge at its Meeting on 28/9/1959 decided to donate £3 to the Auchengeich Pit Disaster and at the Meeting on 14/10/1959 Bro. G Barr Master was invited to attend Lodge Springburn No 1198 fortieth anniversary celebrations.
The AGM for 1959 was held on 11/11/1959 at which the Dedication of the Wardens Diases was conducted. These are the ones currently in use today and were dedicated “To the Glory of God and in Memory of all deceased Past Masters of Lodge Kenmuir”. It was obviously decided to dedicate the furniture to all deceased Past Masters and not just Bro. W Daniel PM. The Chairs which these replaced are, I believe, currently still in use in the Lodge being located 2 seats to the left and right of the Master---Each contain a carving of a Plumb rule or a square which would indicate their use as Wardens Chairs.
The AGM also acknowledged the sporting success of Bro Weatherhead and Bro. Norris in winning the District Whist Cup.
Bro Edward Murray was elected and duly Installed as Master on 25/11/1959---The last Installation of the 1950s.
The final Meeting of the 1950s took place on 23/12/1959 when a Third Degree was conferred on 5 Candidates including Bro. Alastair Grant. This Degree was due to be conferred by Bro. George Thornberry but he had called off due to illness, and the Degree was conferred by Bro. John McLean SM.
The number of Candidates joining the Lodge continued to drop thereby following the trend in which the 1950s had ended. This era was a time of worry and concern for the Lodge: The General Fund was once again under great pressure due partly to the reduced attendances( and thereby income) and the maintenance problems of the property. To make matters worse on this front the reserve fund (which had been set aside for maintenance) had to be transferred to the General Fund. Talk about robbing Peter to pay Paul!
This era also marked a huge change in Springburn itself with many of the Victorian tenements demolished in the name of progress. Another major concern to the Lodge at this time was the route of the proposed Springburn Expressway which may have led to the demolition of the Hall. As it turned out it missed the Hall by Metres, although it did destroy about half of Springburn (but that is another story!) However you do get the impression that some Brethren believed that the compulsory purchase of the property for the new road may have solved the Lodges financial problems. Fortunately this was not an option.
The first Meeting held in the sixties was on 6/1/1960 was an Emergency Meeting at which the Second Degree was conferred. Candidates were still plentiful at this time with13 being balloted for on 23/1/1960.
The Lodge passed an account for payments for £94-11-4 for W Fraser and Partners for the Wardens Diases—Excellent value for money as the lasted over 40 years so far.
The Lodge held its first Divine Service of the sixties in Springburn Hill Parish on 27/3/1960.
An important Emergency Meeting was held on 3/3/1960, which was A Third Degree, by Past Masters of the Lodge led by the Senior Past Master Bro. G Carruth . The full team was;
Bro. G Carruth
Bro. C Cording
Bro. R Smith
Bro. R Porter
Bro. J McLeod
Bro. S Sloan
Bro. J Howat
Bro. W English
Bro. J Miller
Bro. G Barr
Bro. G Shepherd
A total combined experience of Past Masters of 190 years!
The Lodge approved a General Committee recommendation at the Meeting on 11/5/1960 that the collections at each Meeting for a Childrens Treat be discontinued and replaced with a Pensioners Treat collection. The last Childrens Treat of this period took place in December 1960. Perhaps at this point it was ageing Lodge with more Pensioners than Children to contend with. With a bit of imagination I am sure that both could have been accommodated.
At this same Meeting a card was read from the Lord Provost of Glasgow Mr Galpern expressing his thanks for the donation to the Fire Disaster Fund—Which was probably the Cheapside Street fire.
Bro. W Livingstone of Lodge Govandale No 437 had Honorary Membership conferred on him at the Meeting on 25/5/1960.
Bro. Porterfield resigned as Secretary, due to business commitments, and his place was taken by Bro. W McCulloch on 13/7/1960.
The Lodge experienced sporting success in 26/10/1960 when the Whist Cup was won by Bro. A Tasker and Bro. W Adger.
Bro. J McLean was elected as Master and duly Installed on 23/11/1960.
It was reported at the Meeting on 28/12/1960 that Grand Lodge would issue yearbooks to all Intrants—A practice still done today.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation took place on 8/2/1961 and was headed by Bro. Earnest Noakes PGM who once again reminded the Lodge that they had not contributed to the Temple Fund. You would have thought they would have got the message by now.
The Secretary reported on 22/2/1961 that the Assessors Office had fixed the rateable value of the Hall at £222—and he intended to appeal!
Bro. Sam Sloan again conferred the Mark on 31/5/1961 at which 40 Candidates attended. At this same Meeting a letter was received from Lodge Castlemilk No 1536 informing the Lodge of an exemplification to be carried out by the “Masonic Kilties of New Jersey”.
At the Lodge of Instruction held on 20/9/1961 a lecture was given by Bro. Matthew Brown PM Lodge Cumbernauld St Andrew No 199, Provincial Grand Junior Warden of Dunbartonshire, on “The Scottish Constitution at Home and abroad”.
By 27/9/1961 the Lodge was experiencing some heating difficulties, as convector heaters were required in the hall.
An interesting name to join the Lodge then was one Arthur Thomson—No I don’t think it was that one!
The Notice of Motion to purchase a jewel and apron for the retiring RWM had now risen to £40 at the Meeting on 11/10/1961.
At the AGM of 1961 on 8th November an invite was read from Lodge Cadder Freestone No 1586 advising of the Erection and Consecration Ceremony to be held on 22/11/1961—A date which clashed with Kenmuirs Installation and would undoubtedly affect the attendance. Bro. George Thornberry was elected and duly Installed on 22/1/1961.
Bro. Thornberry, Master, expressed his concern about the poor attendance at the Annual Divine Service and some thought was given to scrapping it. He also reported on attending the 200th Anniversary of Lodge St Mungo No 27, which was also attended by Bro. L Bruce Most Worshipful Grand Master Mason and Bro. E Noakes PGM.
It was with sadness that the Lodge learned of the death of Bro. J Steele WJW on 26/9/1962.
Bro. Walter Guild was elected and duly Installed as Master on 28/11/1962.
At the Meeting on 12/12/1962 the Lodge decided to award Christmas gifts to Pensioners—The sum not to exceed 30/- each.
The Lodge was active socially by planning an Easter bus run to Loch Fyne.
A revision of the Byelaws was approved at the Meeting on 14/8/1963. The major changes being;
8 Applications were read at the Meeting on 25/9/1963 including one from James Forrest who was a Professional Footballer—Pity there wasn’t a Masonic five-a-side that year!
Lodge Kelburne No 459 from Millport conferred a Third Degree at the Meeting on 23/10/1963. At this same Meeting the Office-Bearers of Lodge Kenmuir were warned that “only in extreme circumstances were cases to be left in the Lodge rooms”—perhaps a case had been misplaced (bet it was after a “wet” harmony!)
Bro. Thomas G Wilson was elected and duly Installed on 27/11/1963.
The Lodge of Instruction contained a lecture by Bro. J McLeod on the First-Degree tracing board.
A Meeting was held on Christmas Day 1963 at which the Second Degree was conferred.
1964 opened with the death of Bro. J Dobinson PM (1933), whose death was reported at the Meeting on 22/1/1964.
Bro.A Battison Substitute Provincial Grand Master headed the Provincial Grand Lodge Deputation to the Lodge on12/2/1964 at which he suggested that the Annuitants Grants be increased in line with inflation. This suggestion was taken on board and the Grants were increased at the Meeting on 11/3/1964. At the same Meeting Bro. T Wilson, Master, made a presentation to Bro.H Nicol, Almoner, to mark 13 years service to the Lodge.
At the Meeting on 25/3/1964 the Lodge announced an Easter bus run to Portpatrick-The cost being 27/6. At this same Meeting the Second Degree was conferred by Bro. Alex Watson for the first time---and he is still doing it today!
On 22/4/1964 the Lodge conferred Honorary Membership on Bro. James Stirling PM Lodge Athole No 384, Past Provincial Senior Grand Warden of Dunbartonshire.
At the Meeting on 27/5/1964 it was decided to confer Distinguished Service Memberships on:
Bro. C Cording PM
Bro. D Whyte PM
It was also decided to award them a gift of £10 each. A Special Meeting was convened for that purpose at which Bro. G Russell Substitute Provincial Grand Master attended.
Bro. W McCulloch PM Sec had taken seriously ill and Bro. G Thornberry
PM had agreed to take over as temporary Secretary in the meantime on 10/6/1964. This was Bro. Thornberrys first taste of being Secretary and of course later he was to become a long serving Secretary.
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. Porter PM (1941) was recorded on 26/8/1964.
The Lodge of Instruction on 16/9/1964 contained a lecture on “Some Thoughts on the First Degree” by Bro. J McLachlan PM Lodge St John Kilwinning No 28.
Bro. Andrew Tasker was elected and Installed as Master on 28/11/1964 by Bro. J Howat PM and Bro. J McLean PM. Bro. George Thornberry was also Installed as Lodge Secretary.
At the Meeting on 23/12/1964 the Lodge decided to move the Lodge of Instruction from the third Wednesday to the first Wednesday to accommodate the St Rollox Royal Arch Chapter—This to be for a period of 4 months. The Lodge also reported that it had received an application from the White Shrine Chapter for a let of the Hall.
Bro. Hugh McNab PM Lodge Leven St John was the speaker at the Lodge of Instruction held on 3/2/1965—The subject being “Landmarks of the First Degree”
The Lodge suffered damage to the roof and at the Meeting on 10/2/1965 it was reported that a quote would be obtained for the repair.
The Lodge considered a proposal to split the Province of Glasgow in two and Lodge voted 62-11 in favour of the status quo. This trend was repeated at the Provincial Grand Lodge Meeting when the vote was 410-34 in favour of the status quo.
Bro. J McLachlan PM Lodge St John Kilwinning No 28 returned to the Lodge of Instruction to give further lecture on 15/9/1965. His subject this time was “The development of Coloured (Negro) Lodges in America”. Bro. A Tasker, Master, welcomed back Bro. A Watson after illness and Bro. A Grant after his recent marriage.
At the AGM on 10/11/1965 Bro. George Sloan was elected Master and duly Installed on 24/11/1965. Bro. A Tasker reported that the Hall repairs would be complete by the Installation. The repairs mentioned were probably the roof repairs, which involved covering over the Cupola in the East.
The Annual Divine Service took place on 13/3/1966 and the Lodge of Instruction took place three days later on 16/3/1966. Bro. T Wilson PM gave a lecture on the First Degree tracing board.
At this time the Lodge appeared to be suffering financial problems, probably due to a reduction in the number of Candidates, and £500 was transferred from the Reserve Fund (which was used for maintenance) to the General Fund.
Another sign of the changing times of the 1960s was the concern raised by Bro. J Howat PM at the Meeting on 27/4/1966. He was concerned about how the Hall would be affected by the redevelopment of Springburn due to the route of the proposed Springburn Expressway.
The Lodge had a notable visitor on 8/6/1966 -- Bro. T Livingstone, a Member of 570 and the Master of Lodge Milncroft No 1515.
On the Meeting held on 24/8/1966 Bro. C Cording, who was the Senior Past Master, presented Bro. G Shepherd PM with a wallet and money on the occasion of him going to Canada.
The AGM for 1966 was held on 9th November at which the Secretary gave the Annual Report. The number of Initiates had decreased by 5 and the average per meeting had dropped by 3----Unfortunately exact figures are not given. The amount for the Jewel and the Apron for the retiring Master had increased to £45.
Bro. Finlay Skinner was elected and duly Installed as Master on 23/11/1966.
A new Hallkeeper, Bro. William Banks Wilson (a Member of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 and my grandfather) was appointed and awarded a £5 gift for the work put in to clean and overhaul the chequered floor. However the real story was that the cleaning and scrubbing of the chequered floor was actually done by My Grandmother, my Mother and me! My Grandfather “forgot” to pass on (or even mention) the £5 gift and my Grandmother was not very happy at all with him when she found out! Ouch!
At the Meeting on 8/2/1967, despite the Lodges own financial worries, £100 was gifted to the Dunblane Masonic Home. At this Meeting the Lodge intimated that the Annual Divine Service would be held in Somerville and Cowlairs Parish Church on 19/3/1967.
The Lodge received a setback on 24/5/1967 when it was reported that a fire occurred in the premises causing £107 of damage(which was paid by the Insurance) and injuring the Hallkeeper.
Further concerns were expressed at the Meeting on 27/9/1967 regarding the future of the building as regards redevelopment in the area. Although You get the impression from the Minutes at that time that the Lodge would have been happy to sell out to the Roads Department due to the increasing maintenance costs of the property.
The 1967 AGM took place on 8/11/1967 at which the executive Office-Bearers refused any rise in emoluments due to the “financial condition of the Lodge”. The Secretary reported a further decrease of 3 Initiates for the year and a decrease of 11 attendances per Meeting.
Bro. Alex Watson was elected as Master and Installed on 22/11/1967 by Bro. J Howat and Bro. S Sloan.
At the Meeting on 27/12/1967 the Lodge granted permission to Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259, who met in Vulcan St at that time, to display a Past Masters Board in the Temple.
Following the major storm in January 1968, at the Meeting on 24/1/1968, Bro. D Watson PM moved that the Lodge donate £10 from the General Fund to the Lord Provosts “Appeal for the Hurricane Fund”.
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. G Shepherd PM (1957) was recorded at the Meeting on 14/2/1968.
On 13/3/1968 Bro. A Watson Master appealed for volunteers to carry out painting and also reported that Bro.C Cording PM, who was present, had been initiated exactly 50 years ago to the day.
The Annual Divine Service was once again held in Somerville and Cowlairs Parish Church on 3/3/1968.
A Lodge of Instruction was held on 17/4/1968 at which Bro. T Wilson PM gave a lecture on “Points of Freemasonry”.
At the Meeting on 28/8/1968 a gift of watches were presented to Bro. Barclay and Bro. Grice in acknowledgement of the painterwork carried out in the Lodge.
At the AGM on 13/11/1968 the Secretary reported that the Initates had remained the same as the last year and attendances had increased by 8 per Meeting.
Bro. Alastair Grant was elected as Master and duly Installed on 27/11/1968 by Bro. G Thornberry PM and Bro. A Tasker.
The Lodge reported the death of Bro. J McKenzie PM (1952) on 12/12/1968.
A Meeting was held on Christmas Day 1968 which was purely a business Meeting—This was the last Meeting to be held on a Christmas Day.
The Lodge had a Visitation from Lodge Helensburgh St George No 503 on 22/1/1969 when a Third Degree was conferred.
Further changes were made to the Byelaws in 12/2/1969—The major change to increase the Initiation Fee from £12-12-0 to £14-0-0. There were also some financial changes to take account of future Decimalisation.
At the Meeting on 26/2/1969 concerns were expressed about the low attendance at the Lodge of Instruction on 19/2/1969. The following Lodge of Instruction, however, was well attended at which Bro. Douglas McMillan WJW of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 gave a lecture on the Districts of Springburn illustrated with slides. At the following Lodge of Instruction on 16/4/1969 Bro. E Murray PM gave a lecture about Freemasonry among Prisoners of War.
A further lecture was given at the Regular Meeting on 10/9/1969 by Bro. Rev. John Stewart PGChap about his stay in a Prisoner of War Camp and how Freemasonry and the Kirk sustained him during this time.
Bro. G Sneddon PM Airdrie Operative Lodge No 203 lectured on “Time Immemorial and the phraseology of Freemasonry” at the Lodge of Instruction on 17/9/1969.
The AGM for 1969 was held on 12/11/1969 when it was agreed to discontinue lifting a collection for the OAP Fund—This would now be financed by the Benevolent Fund. In its place a collection would be lifted for the Regalia Fund.
The Secretary Reported that Initiates had increased by 2 but attendances had decreased by an average of 4 per Meeting.
Bro. K McLeod was elected as Master and duly Installed on 26/11/1969.This was the first instance of two Brothers going to the Chair ( with his brother John McLeod being Master in 1944) The first Regalia Fund collection was uplifted at this Meeting which raised the sum of £2-7-0.The last Meeting of the 1960s was held on 24/12/1969 at which a Second Degree by Bro. John Howat PM was conferred on 3 Brethren.
This era marked a period of mixed feelings for the Lodge with, on the one hand the Lodge looking forward to the Centenary celebrations, and on the other hand an ongoing battle with to support the Lodge financially. The Lodge was forced to look at new ways of raising funds—These included a Sale of Work and charging Brethren for the cost of their harmony! The Maintenance of the building was now becoming a serious matter and the Lodge even considered having an emergency meeting to discuss this problem alone, while on the Centenary front a Committee was set up in 1974 to organise the celebrations.
It was also in this era that the Lodge changed the day of its Installation from the fourth Wednesday in November to the fourth Friday in November.
This period concluded with a Rededication Meeting at which both Grand Lodge and Provincial Grand Lodge attended—This was followed by a Celebration Dinner at the Albany Hotel.
The 1970s opened with a Meeting on 14/1/1970 at which 10 Applications were read and a First Degree was conferred on 2 Candidates.
A sign of the times noted at the Meeting on 28/1/1970 when vandalism to windows was reported. Bro. W Clay received the thanks of the Lodge for carrying out reglazing. The Lodge decided to fit grills “When Lodge finances permit”
At the Meeting on 25/3/1970 a Deputation was received from Lodge Thistle and Rose No 73 to confer a Third Degree headed by Bro. James Thornberry---The Brother of Bro. George.
It was reported that the insurance for the Masters Chain had more than doubled in cost from £3-7-0 to £6-19-0. Either a sign that the Chain had been under-insured or a sign of the inflation of the 1970s.
The Lodge decided to accept Grand Lodge recommendation NOT to hold an Annual Divine Service in 1970---Perhaps a dispute between Grand Lodge and The Church of Scotland.
A measure of Sporting success was reported at the Meeting on 27/5/1970 as Bro.Killough and Bro.Johnston reached the fourth round of the golf competition before being defeated.
At the Meeting on 16/6/1970 it was reported that the Provincial Grand Master, Bro. Fenwick had died. At the same Meeting the Byelaws were changed to allow 1/10 of Test Fees to be transferred to the Benevolent Fund.
The Lodge increased the rent payable to itself to £120 which was transferred from the General Fund to the Hall Fund.
The Lodge was still voting for “wet” or “dry” Harmonies and it was interesting to note that at the meeting on 9/9/1970 there was no Brother willing to second a “dry” vote!
The Lodge was obviously having to look at its finances as at the Meeting on 23/9/1970 it was reported that in future Brethren may have to pay for Harmony to defray expenses! Extreme measures indeed! A new Fundraising venture was held on 14/11/1970—A Sale of Work—Entry Fee 1/6. There is no record as to how much was raised by this venture.
At the Meeting on 14/10/1970 an invite was received from Lodge Thistle and Rose No 73 to confer the Mark—Lodge Kenmuir still confers this same Degree there some 30 years later (We must have created a good impression!). The cost of the retiring Masters Jewel and Apron had now increased to £50.
At the AGM on 11/11/1970 the Secretary reported that the Initates had increased by 5 but attendances had decreased by 2 per Meeting.
Bro. Norman Brown was elected as Master and duly Installed on 25/11/1970.
The wet/dry vote was taken at this Meeting with the “wets” being successful by 23-4------A fairly low turnout for an AGM.
Grand Lodge intimated that the minimum Test Fee was now £1 thereby making Life Membership £15.
At the Meeting on 23/12/1970 the Lodge awarded a gift of £6 to the Hallkeeper, Bro. Willam Banks Wilson (My Grandfather) for the cleaning work carried out in the Hall—My Grandmother got this gift immediately! At this same Meeting a notable visitor was Bro. William Douglas McMillan Master of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 who was to be a regular visitor to Lodge Kenmuir over the next 25 years. Dougie, as he was known, He was an “indubitably” unforgettable character.
A Lodge of Instruction was held on 17/02/1971 which notable for the fact of it being the first Meeting after Decimalisation—The collection £1-75! The next Lodge of Instruction was held on 17/3/1971 at which Bro. G Sneddon PM Airdrie Operative Lodge No 203 gave a lecture on “The Masonic Apron”.
The Meeting on 14/4/1971 confirmed the Masonic bus run for 12th June to Dunoon.
Bro. E Murray PM organised a Christmas raffle and tickets would be available from 22/9/1971.
Inflation once again hit the cost of the retiring Masters Jewel and Apron, this time increasing it to £55!
The AGM was held on 10/11/1971 and the Secretary reported that although Initiates had decreased by 4 attendances were up by 1 per Meeting.
Bro. Robert McKellar was elected and duly Installed as Master on 24/11/1971. The Installation was tinged with sadness as death of Bro. John Coutts PM (1958)was announced.
A Lodge of Instruction was held on 15/15/1971 at which Bro. A Grant showed a film about the Masonic Home in Dunblane.
The Meeting on 22/12/1971 was notable as a Notice of Motion was put forward to change the Byelaws to alter the date of the Installation from the fourth Wednesday in November to the fourth Friday in November. Perhaps Bro. McKellars Installation had carried on too late and everyone missed work on Thursday! This was voted on at the Meeting on 26/1/1972 and the Notice of Motion was successful by 35-13.
Concern was expressed at the Meeting on 12/1/1972 about coal shortages although the Lodge was assured that stocks were still available—This was most likely to do with the forthcoming Miners strike. At this same Meeting an invite was received to attend Rothesay St John No 292 in February.
Provincial Grand Lodge carried out a Visitation on 23/2/1972. This Deputation was headed by Bro. Adam J Ferguson Provincial Grand Master who was awarded with Honorary Membership of 570. This date also marked the 90th birthday of Bro. C Cording Senior Past Master who was voted a grand ovation. It was also announced that photographs were available from the recent trip to Rothesay St John No 292-----One of which is currently on display in the Lodge.
Bro. W Killough was elected as Master and duly Installed on 29/11/1972 . At this same Installation 2 Gavin Sorbies—Senior and Junior---were installed as Office-Bearers. The elder—Gavin Sorbie Senior---into the Office of Chaplain and the younger—Gavin Sorbie Junior---into the Office of Senior Steward. The younger one is, of course, the older version today.!
The Lodge invited Rothesay St John No 292 back on Saturday 17th March to confer a Second Degree by Bro. John Buckeridge PM. Unfortunately the exact numbers of the deputation are not recorded but 3 cars were sent to the station to pick them up!
The Meeting on 11/4/1973 was notable for 2 events –Bro. John McLeod celebrated being a Member for 50 years and Bro. Alex Watson took over as Treasurer.
The first mention of a Centenary Celebration in the Minutes is recorded on 22/8/1973 when Lodge Livingston St Andrew No 573 invited Kenmuir to attend their celebrations! Perhaps this planted the seed for 570 to plan theirs!
An interesting letter was received from Provincial Grand Lodge on 10/10/1973 which advised the Lodge that Provincial Grand Lodge were considering giving up 100 West Regent Street.
The Lodge held a Mark Degree on 24/10/1973 conferred by Bro. G Thornberry PM with Bro. E Murray PM as Conductor. 17 Candidates were conferred.
Bro. John Eadie was elected Master on 14/11/1973 and duly Installed as Master on 23/11/1973 being the fourth Friday of the month. Bro. Brian Brown Provincial Grand Master witnessed the Installation, which was carried out by Bro. A Tasker Pm and Bro. A Watson PM.
The Lodge of Instruction continued to meet on the third Wednesday at this time. It was used mostly for practices and discussions rather than lectures
The Lodge appointed a Centenary Celebration Committee at the Meeting on 13/2/1974 and they met on 18/2/1974. I would have thought that a Committee should have been set up much earlier than this given the magnitude of work and expense involved. 18 months is not a long time to organise a Centenary Celebration.
At the Meeting on 27/2/1974 it was reported that the new heating system would be wired into the electricity supply in March. This may have been in response to the coal shortages of the Miners strike or the age of the heating system (which was now 65 years old). I can remember the old boiler room which is directly below the Committee Room and was accessed by the door which now leads to the gents toilet—The boiler still worked well until the late 1960s.
The Meeting on 28/8/1974 advised the Brethren that Centenary jewels and Lodge ties were available at £2 and £1 respectively. Brethren could also pay up the cost of their Centenary Celebrations meal ticket.
By this time the building was obviously showing signs of its age as no regular or planned maintenance had been carried out----Many Masonic buildings, and not just in Glasgow but nationally as well, were lost through this type of neglect. At the Meeting on 11/9/1974 the Lodge discussed the works required to remedy the problems. A motion was put forward by Bro. D Abernethy SD seconded by Bro. Hugh Tollan SB that an Emergency Meeting be held to discuss the problem. An amendment was put forward by Bro.T Wilson PM, seconded by Bro. W Guild PM that the Halls and Finance Committee deal with the matter. The amendment prevailed 33-11.
At the next Meeting it was reported that the upper hall would be unavailable for the Installation and the Auchinairn Community Hall was suggested as an alternative. The building repairs theme continued at the next Meeting when it was reported that the Lodge were trying to locate plans of the premises. They only had to look in the adjacent where the plans drawn by Bro. Miller in 1953 were kept!
However it appears that the Installation did take place and the upper hall was used as normal.
Bro. Ronald Walker was elected on 13/11/1974 and duly Installed on 22/11/1974 as the Centenary Master of 570. The Installation was carried out by Bro. Sam Sloan PM and Bro. Robert McKellar PM.
The next Meeting on 11/12/1974 contained a vote on whether to hold a Divine Service and the vote finished tied at 19-19. Bro. Ronald Walker Master used his casting vote to vote for the service.
At this same Meeting a fund raising venture for the Centenary was announced---A jumble sale to be held on 25/1/1975.The Meeting on 26/2/1975 opened on a sad note with the death of Bro. C Cording Senior Past Master (1927) being recorded. At this same Meeting the Lodge accepted an invitation to carry out a First Degree at Lodge Rothesay St John No 292 on 8/3/1975 with the Degree being conferred by Bro. R McKellar PM.
The last Meeting before the summer recess was held on 11/6/1975 at which the Lodge passed the following recommendations in respect of the Centenary;
All of these donations could be covered by the Benevolent Fund (which was probably just as well given the apparent state of the Lodge finances!)
By this point the Lodge had also ordered new Regalia and the intention was that this would be in place for the Centenary.
A Meeting was held on 27/8/1975 to dedicate the new Regalia of the Lodge. This was carried out by Bro. Rev. John Stewart Provincial Grand Chaplain. This same Meeting passed an account for Toye Kenning Spencer for the sum of £694-98 being the cost of the Regalia. In addition Bro. A Grant PM was thanked for his gift of a new Volume of Sacred Law and Mrs Grant was thanked for carrying out work to the altar cushion. Another “loss” to the Lodge was reported to the Lodge at this Meeting---Bro. Alex Watson PM was going abroad to work in the near future.
The Ceremony of Rededication was held on Saturday 30/8/1975 at 3.00PM. The Meeting was opened by Bro. R Walker Master who welcomed a Deputation of Reigning Masters headed by Bro.Gordon Lindsay Master of Lodge Thistle and Rose No 73. A Deputation was then received from Provincial Grand Lodge headed by Bro. Brian Brown Provincial Grand Master. Lastly a Deputation was admitted from the Grand Lodge of Scotland headed by Bro. Robert Woolridge Gordon of Esselmont Most Worshipful Grand Master Mason who took over the Chair of the Lodge.
The Rededication Ceremony was conducted by Bro. Rev. Eurson Past Senior Grand Chaplain at the conclusion of which the National Anthem was sung.
The Grand Lodge of Scotland retired followed by the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow.
The collection of £28 taken at the Meeting was put to the General Fund.The Centenary Celebrations concluded with a meal held at the Albany Hotel, which commenced at 5.30PM. A feature of the meal was a Kenmuir glass, which every guest at the dinner received. Additional glasses could be purchased in the Lodge to make up a set.
This era seemed to be a bit of a anti-climax following the Lodges Centenary as the problems of finance and maintenance came back to haunt the Lodge with a vengeance. By December 1975 the Lodge was deep in debt and the bank refused to give a loan to bail out the financial problems. It would appear that the lack of financial foresight on the part of the Lodge over a long period of time had jeopardised the Lodges very future.
This was the greatest financial problem the Lodge had faced since 1880 when the Lodge became dormant.
The Lodge looked at various ways of solving the problem including using the Benevolent Fund to support the General Fund (which had been done in the past) but Provincial Grand Lodge vetoed the proposal. However the Lodges own Members rallied round to assist the Lodge financially. The only long-term solution available to the Lodge was to form a social club to generate income—This was a key moment in the history of the Lodge. If the club had not been formed it seems there was no way the Lodge would have survived.
The Kenburn club eventually opened in May 1977 and by the following March it had already cleared £1800 of debt. The Lodges immediate future was once again secure.
The next Meeting after the Centenary Rededication was held on 10/9/1975 at which a letter was read from Bro. Robert Woolridge Gordon of Esselmont, Most Worshipful Grand Master Mason, thanking the Lodge for its hospitality at the meeting and the meal.
The Lodge then closed its Centenary Fund and transferred the remaining balance to the beleaguered General Fund. At this same Meeting the Lodge decided to increase its Initiation Fees to the Grand Lodge minimum.
The galloping inflation of the seventies was shown in the cost of retiring Masters gift – this was increased to £60 at the Meeting on 8/18/1975.
13 Brethren were presented for the Mark Degree on 22/10/1975 with Bro. T Wilson PM and Bro. G Thornberry PM carrying out the work. At the same Meeting it was announced that Centenary photographs were available at a cost of £1.25 each.
Bro. Matt Barclay was elected Master and duly Installed on 28/11/1975. At this same Meeting it was reported that A Fire Escape would have to be constructed to comply with Building Regulations.
A critical Meeting for the future of the Lodge was held on 17/12/1975—This was an Emergency Meeting. Although, in truth, it was more of a crisis Meeting. The purpose of this Meeting was to discuss the financial state of the Lodge---The Treasurer, Bro. Norman Brown reported the Lodge had “heavy debts” and he had visited the bank on the Lodges behalf and had been refused a loan. He also reported that although the General Fund was depressed the Benevolent Fund was extremely healthy.
The Lodge discussed these financial problems and the sale of the property was mentioned to try to resolve these issues. At the conclusion the Treasurer was instructed to approach the bank again to try to secure a small loan while the Lodge considered its options. The Lodge that night held two collections—both for the General Fund, which raised over £50. All the Brethren contributed to this, and as it says in the Minutes “even the Senior Citizens”
So how had the Lodge come to this point of virtual finance collapse?
It seems there were various issues, which contributed to the Lodges financial plight;
Some of the causes were more responsible than others for the sorry financial plight of the Lodge. However the bottom line was that the Lodge had dug a financial hole for itself and unless something was done to get out of this hole the Lodge would, as occurred in 1880, be finished due to financial problems.
The Lodge at the next Regular Meeting on 28/12/1975 handed out appeal sheets to the Brethren to raise funds. Controversially a Notice of Motion was put forward “ To allow the Benevolence Fund to be used for General Fund purposes when required”. This Notice of Motion was considered on 28/1/1976 and Bro. Sam Sloan PM advised the Lodge that this contravened Grand Lodge Law. Although a vote was taken and the Motion prevailed 35-5. However Provincial Grand Lodge refused to sanction this illegal Bye-law change and the matter dropped. At the same Meeting it was reported that the Master would meet with the Corporation to “discuss the debts”. The Lodge also received a very healthy donation of £277 at this Meeting.
Despite the ongoing financial problems of the Lodge, Masonic work continued and on 18/2/1976 Bro. Edward Murray PM gave a lecture at the Lodge of Instruction on “Freemasonry in Prisoner of War Camps” based on his experiences as a Prisoner of War during World War 2 near Singapore. Further Lodges of Instruction were held in March and April with Lectures from Bro. A Grant PM on Lodge Bonhill No 321 and from Bro. R Walker IPM on King Solomon’s Temple.
The Meeting on 25/2/1976 was an important one as this was the first time that the idea of opening a Social Club was raised. Bro. James Walker had visited the Ellengowan Social Club to see how it functioned and he had also met with the Brewers representatives to gauge their interest.
The idea of forming a Social Club was moving apace by the next Meeting on 24/3/1976 by which time plans had been approved and Membership forms were available.
At the Meeting on 14/4/1976 a Notice of Motion was put forward by Bro. D Abernethy WSW seconded by Bro. T Wilson PM---“ The Lodge Building be put forward for security for the purpose of obtaining a loan to carry out the necessary alterations required to comply with the Fire Regulations and Sanitary Standards.” This was passed at the Meeting on 12/5/1976. For the first time since the Building was constructed in 1909 the Lodge did not hold the title deeds. Bro. J Walker also gave a report on the Social Committee activities and Bro. A Tasker PM reported that once again he had been runner-up in the district whist tournament.
Arrangements for the formation of a Social Club continued with Bro. J Walker, at the Meeting on 26/5/1976, reporting that he had met with the Provincial Grand Master and Provincial Grand Secretary.
The Lodge approved the formation of a joint Lodge and Club Committee comprising Master, Immediate Past Master, Depute Master, Substitute Master, Senior Warden, Junior Warden, Secretary and Treasurer at the Meeting on 8/9/1976. At this same Meeting the Lodge cancelled the Annual Dance due to a poor response.
Inflation was evident again in the rise in cost for the retiring Masters Jewel and Apron, which had increased, from £60 to £70. Bro. D Abernethy WSW was elected as Master and duly installed on 26/11/1976.
The work for the construction of a new fire escape was planned and this was underway by 12/1/1977.
Honorary Membership was conferred on two Brethren at the meeting on 9/3/1977---Bro. Rev. John Stewart Provincial Grand Chaplain ( who had carried out the dedication of the new Regalia in August 1975) and Bro. Robert Cavan of Lodge Caledonian Railway No 354.
The Lodge revisited its Bye-laws to raise the Initiation Fee to £20—The minimum allowed by Grand Lodge at the Meeting on 25/5/1977.
The Kenburn Social Club officially opened its doors on 14/5/1977 for a Cabaret and Dance. The Cabaret being Andy Cameron with the cost of a ticket for this gala event being £1 with numbers limited to 150. This was an extremely successful event and the same formula was followed on 18/6/1977 when Benn Gunn provided the Cabaret.
Work to the Building was still not complete although at the Meeting on 24/8/1977 the Master Bro. D Abernethy explained the work was nearing completion. At the next Meeting on 14/9/1977, in answer to a question, Bro. D Abernethy Master explained how the Club would function financially and also explained the Ownership of the Club.
At the Meeting on 28/9/1977 it was reported that the Lodge of Instruction was under review as attendances were very poor.
The cost of the presentation to the retiring Master took a massive increase when the Notice of Motion increased from £70 to £160---A sign of the times.
Bro. Henry Eadie was elected Master and duly Installed on 25/11/1977. At that same Installation Bro. Thomas Lochhead was Installed into the Office of Bible-Bearer which is an Office he still occupies today (2000)
Lodge Rothesay St John No 292 visited on Saturday 25/2/1978 with a Meeting with a 5.30PM start with a cabaret to follow. The Lodge reciprocated this visit on 15/4/1978 when a Third Degree was carried out by Past Masters.
Bro. Henry Eadie Master reported at the Meeting on 22/3/1978 that since its formation in May 1977, the Kenburn Club had now paid £1800 of the Lodge debts and appealed for continued support for the Club.
Two interesting pieces of information are contained in the Minutes of the Meeting of 26/4/1978. The rateable value of the premises had now increased to £1867 per year, and the Pensioners bus run for that year would now visit Dunoon.
The lack of interest shown in the Lodge of Instruction was demonstrated by the cancellation of the May Meeting at the Regular Meeting held on 10/5/1978. At this same Meeting the Lodge had a far travelled visitor in the person of Bro. D McInnes of Lodge St Michael, Bahamas No 1634.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. D Whyte PM(1928) at the Meeting on 14/6/1978.
At the AGM of 1978 held on the 8th of November, it was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. John McLeod PM(1945). At this same Meeting Bro. Ian Walker was elected as Master and duly Installed on 24/11/1978.
The Lodge entered a new competition on 14/3/1979 when it was recorded that 2 teams entered the Provincial Grand Lodge five-a-side competition( now termed the unarmed combat competition !). Alas no record of the outcome.
Bro. George Thornberry PM stood down as Secretary on 11/4/1979 due to ill health and this Office was filled by Bro. Norman Brown PM who was also the Treasurer.
At the following Meeting held on 25/4/1979 a lecture was delivered by Bro. A Forfar PM Partick St Marys Lodge No 117 on “Freemasonry in Belgium at the time of World War 2”. At this same Meeting a cheque was presented to the Lodge for £163 in respect of a dance held in The Royal Stuart Hotel.
Bro. G Thornberry PM was welcomed back to the Lodge after illness on 22/8/1979. However Bro. Norman Brown PM still continued as Secretary.
At the Meeting on 12/9/1979 it was reported that the Lodge had progressed to the final of the Bowling Rinks competition but had been beaten by The Bridgeton and Glasgow Shamrock and Thistle Lodge No 275.
Lodge Rothesay St John No 292 were due to come to Lodge Kenmuir on 27/10/1979 but were forced to call off due to lack of numbers—This necessitated rescheduling the Meeting for 31/10/1979 to allow the Degree to proceed during the week.
The AGM was held on 14/11/1979 and it was agreed to set aside £170 for a Jewel and Apron for the retiring RWM. Bro. Hugh Tollan was elected as Master and duly Installed on 23/11/1979 as Master.Bro. Norman Brown PM carried out the last Degree of the 1970s on 12/12/1979 being a First Degree on Bro. Edward Taylor.
The ongoing problems with maintenance of the property continued to plague the Lodge with the flat roof in the East and the heating system (or the lack of it ) being culprits. However a major problem came to light in 1984 when it was discovered that the front of the property had begun to bulge and dry rot had taken a firm hold of the room adjacent to the Temple. The cost of estimated repairs (£20,000) necessitated putting the Hall title deeds up as collateral to raise funds for this work.
The intake of Candidates continued to decline during this era until by the end of the eighties 5 Candidates was considered a good year---a far cry from 281 candidates in 1919.This drop in candidates caused fewer Brethren to progress to the Chair and as such 2 Brethren, Bro. Gavin Sorbie and Bro. Alex Fitzpatrick took the Chair twice in this era—The first time this had happened since 1917.
This era concluded with a “younger team” in office to face the challenge of the nineties with Bro Gordon Sorbie taking over from Bro. George Thornberry as Secretary, Bro. William Waite as Treasurer and Bro. Gordon Wilson as Master.
The first Meeting of the 80s was held on 9/1/1980 with Bro. Hugh Tollan in the Chair. The Lodge was once again suffering maintenance problems—This time water penetration through the flat roof above the East and a date of 27/1/1980 was set to meet the Club Committee in an attempt to resolve the problem. At this same Regular meeting it was reported that Bro. A Watson PM had become the Depute Master of Lodge Blantyre in Malawi.
The Provincial Visitation was marked by a quiz between Lodge Commercial No 360 and Lodge Sandwood No1590, which 1590 won by 18-10.
On 12/3/1980 the Lodge received a letter from the East Saxon Lodge No 1053 EC that Bro. Francis Shaw, a Member of 570, would be Installed as Master on 13/3/1980.
At the Meeting on 10/9/1980 ,Bro. T Wilson PM reported that on a visit to the Third Eye Centre in Glasgow he had seen a photograph of the laying of the Memorial Stone of the Lodge in 1909. The Lodge agreed to investigate this further and try and obtain a print of this photgraph.
The Lodge lost one of its tenants on 22/10/1980 when it was reported that Springburn OES No 157 would be leaving the premises.
Bro. Ronald Wilson PM was elected as Master and duly Installed on 28/11/1980.
The Lodge, always ready to move with the fashions (albeit usually ten years late!), decided a new tie was required and at the Meeting on 25/3/1981 it was reported a new tie would be available soon.
The Lodge enjoyed sporting success on 8/4/1981 when it was reported that Bro. A Tasker PM and his partner had won the District Whist Cup and the formal presentation was made on 26/8/1981.
Bro. Alex Watson PM was welcomed back into the Lodge at the Meeting on 9/9/1981 following his time in Malawi. At the same Meeting Bro.T Lochhead presented the Lodge with a photograph of the Stone Laying Ceremony on behalf of himself and his late Brother Dugald McGregor Lochhead.
An Emergency Meeting was held on 30/9/1981 at which a second Degree was conferred by a team of Reigning Masters headed by Bro. Ronald Wilson RWM 570 , assisted by Bro. John Reid RWM No 426 Lodge Prince of Wales, Renfrew and Bro. David Stein RWM Lodge Georgetown No 1170. The Candidates receiving their Second Degree that night were obviously impressed as two of them, Bro. G Wilson and Bro. W Trench went on to become Masters of the Lodge.
The Mark Degree for 1981 was conferred on 28/10/1981 on 16 Candidates. The Degree work was carried out by Bro. Sam Sloan PM and Bro. G Thornberry PM. Sadly this was to be the last time that Bro. Sam Sloan would carry out this Degree.
Bro. Gavin Sorbie was elected Master and duly Installed on 27/11/1981.
The Lodge was shocked by the sudden death of the Junior Warden Bro. Hugh Ross which was reported at the Meeting on 24/2/1982 and it was agreed that a period of mourning would be held with a Memorial Service to be held on 24/3/1982. However before this could take place the Lodge was further saddened by the death of Bro. Sam Sloan PM(1950). The Memorial Service was rearranged for 26/5/1982, which was attended by Bro. G McEwan Substitute Provincial Grand Master and was conducted by Bro. John Stewart Provincial Grand Chaplain.
On a brighter note at the Meeting on 12/5/1982 it was reported that Bro. A Tasker PM and Bro. John Eadie PM had won the John Adams Whist Cup.
The Lodge once again showed it was a family Lodge by recording its congratulations to Bro. Stuart Greig on the birth of his daughter, and to Bro. Jim Brown on the birth of his son at the Meeting on 25/8/1982.
At the Meeting on 28/9/1982 Bro.Gavin Sorbie, Master, reported on being present at the official opening of Springburn Museum. I am reliably informed that he was a guest and not an exhibit! Unfortunately the Museum closed in 2000.
The AGM for 1982 was held on 10th November at which Bro. Jim Brown was elected Master and duly Installed on 26/11/1982. However at the AGM the balance sheet was not accepted –and indeed was not accepted until 26/1/1983 when an independent accountant resolved the matter with the assistance of the previous Treasurer. At the Installation on 26/11/1982 it was also reported that Bro. Ronald Wilson PM had been made an Honorary Member of Lodge Ruchill No 1436.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visit on 9/2/1983 was marked by the PGL Quiz which was contested by Lodge Stepps No 1213 and Lodge Commercial No 360.Lodge Stepps were victorious 16-14.
Bro. George Thornberry PM once again took over as Secretary on 9/3/1983 and was to fill this Office for a further 6 years.
A Notice of Motion was put forward on 23/3/1983 by Bro. A Watson PM seconded by Bro. G Thornberry PM that Initiation Fees increase from £25 to £35 and Life Membership increase from £22.50 to £45. This was duly passed at the Meeting on 27/4/1983. This was an attempt by the Lodge to try to increase Fees back to the “real” level they had been prior to the inflation of the 1970s when Fees did not keep pace with costs.
On the Social side the Lodge arranged a visit to the Grand Lodge Museum in Edinburgh on 14/5/1983 at a cost of £4 per head.
The Lodge affiliated Bro. William Thomson, a Master Mason of Lodge Progress No 873, into 570 on 11/5/1983.
The Meeting on 14/9/1983 was marked by a visit by Bro Harry Jeffrey SPGM and a kind gift to the Lodge of 6 Centenary Glasses by the family of the late Bro.Wright to be used at Harmony.
The AGM for 1983 was held on 9th November at which Bro. Stuart Greig , who was the youngest ever Master of Kenmuir at that time, was elected and duly Installed on 25/11/1983. There were 3 Installing Masters, which was fairly unusual
Bro. R Walker PM 570
Bro. T Greig PM 683 Lodge St John Whiteinch
Bro. G Sorbie PM 570
It was also fairly unusual that a Past Master other than a 570 PM took part in the Ceremony. Bro. T Greig PM 683 was the father of Bro. S Greig, Master 570. Bro. Alastair Grant attended this Installation as part of the Provincial Deputation as Provincial Grand Jeweller.
In December 1983 the Hall was once again showing its lack of maintenance with water penetrating into the Temple at the East.
The Lodge recorded the death of Bro. William Clay on 11/1/1984—He was the Brother who brought my father into the craft and was therefore responsible for me joining Kenmuir .
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation on 8/2/1984 was led by Bro. William Fleming Provincial Grand Master and composed a high powered Deputation to report on the Lodges work for the previous year.
An Emergency Meeting was held on Monday 13th February 1984 to discuss repairs needed urgently to the property. The front wall had begun to bulge out and dry rot had taken a firm hold in the adjacent----It was estimated that it could cost £20000 to remedy the defects. The Lodge decided to appoint a Committee to liaise with the Kenburn Club and were given the power to advance the Hall Title Deeds as collateral.
The Hallkeeper Bro. George Lowrie presented a picture of Robert Burns to the Lodge on 22/2/1984. This picture, which he had found in the cellar of the Lodge, is still on display today.
At the Meeting on 14/3/1984 , the Lodge conferred Honorary Membership on Bro. Hugh Graham of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504.
At the Meeting on 11/4/1984 it was reported that as part of the maintenance work that the Club Ceiling would have to be replaced at cost of £4000. The Club were also considering constructing a games room at a cost of £28750. However the Lodge was assured at the meeting on 23/5/1984 that only necessary work would be considered in the meantime.
At this point in time Springburn was fairly derelict and it was reported at the Meeting on 13/6/1984 that a supermarket would be constructed adjacent to the property—This obviously came to nothing.
At the Meeting on 27/8/1984 it was decided that a function would be held to celebrate the centenary of the reponing of the Charter. To highlight this at the Meeting on 26/9/1984 Bro. Ronald Walker PM read out the Minute from 100 years ago.
The AGM on 14/11/1984 was Chaired by Bro. Gavin Sorbie PM and at this Meeting Bro. Alex Fitzpatrick was elected as Master and duly Installed on 23/11/1984.
The Lodge conferred Honorary Membership on Bro. George Lowrie, the Hallkeeper, on 13/2/1985 and at the next Meeting on 27/2/1985 it was reported that Honorary Membership had been conferred on Bro. Thomas Lochhead at Pollokshaws Royal Arch Lodge No 153.
At the Meeting on 27/3/1985 the Lodge decided to revise its Bye-laws to dispense with the Meeting on the 4th Wednesday in December and to change the date of the Installation from the fourth Friday in November to the last Friday in November. This same Meeting was marked by the presentation of Honorary Membership to Bro. W Shepherdson Provincial Grand Master.
The Lodge enjoyed more sporting success by winning the District Whist cup on 10/4/1985.
At the Meeting on 8/5/1985 it was reported that Bro. Alex Watson PM had been appointed the Proxy Master of Lodge Blantyre Malawi No 956 a Lodge of which he was an Affiliate Member and one time Depute Master.
On 4/9/1985 various Brethren had reported attending the 30th Anniversary Celebrations of Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504. The AGM for 1985 was held on 13/11/1985 at which Bro. Gavin Sorbie PM was elected as Master and duly Installed on 29/11/1985—The first time a Master had been Installed on a fifth Friday of November under the new Bye-laws. This was the second time that Bro. Gavin took the Chair---the first time this had happened since Bro. George Carruth PM took the Chair for the second time in 1917.
The Lodge was saddened by the death of Bro. James McLellan PM(1956) which was reported at the Meeting on 8/1/1986.
An interesting Motion proposed by Bro. A Fitzpatrick PM seconded by Bro. Hugh Tollan PM was passed at the Meeting on 12/2/1986---That the second collection at Regular Meetings be put to Hall renovation rather than the Regalia fund. The first collection uplifted raised the sum of £10.30. This same collection is, of course, still uplifted today.
Bro. Gavin Sorbie, Master, conveyed the congratulations of the Lodge to Bro. Alex Fitzpatrick PM on becoming a Grandfather.
It proved necessary for the Lodge to meet in the upper Hall on 23/4/1986 due to renovation works in the Temple---This would continue until 27/8/1986. The repairs were being co-ordinated by Bro. Ronald Walker PM.
Although the Lodge funds were dwindling at this point in time , a Notice of Motion was put forward by Bro. A Watson PM seconded by Bro. H Eadie PM that £250 be donated from the Benevolent Fund to the Grand Master Masons 250th Anniversary Appeal. This was duly approved at the Meeting on 11/6/1986.
A very kind donation of £300 was received from the St Rollox RAC on 24/9/1986 to assist with the renovation of the Temple.
The AGM for 1986 was held on 12/11/1986 at which Bro. A Fitzpatrick PM was elected as Master (again for the second time) and duly installed on 28/11/1986.
The PGL Visit was held on 11/2/1987 at which a quiz was held with Lodge Springburn No 1198 being victorious over Lodge St John Whiteinch No 683 by 25-19.
The Lodge presented Bro. George Lowrie on 25/2/1987 with a retirement gift of a TV and licence for his work as Hallkeeper over the years. The Meeting was also marked by a First Degree carried out by Bro. Gordon Wilson JD.
Two Brethren were affiliated at the Meeting on 27/5/1987—Bro. Douglas Paxton of Lodge Springburn No 1198 and Bro. Lawrence Jackson of Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259.
The AGM was held on 11/11/1987 at which Bro. Gordon Sorbie was elected as Master and duly Installed on 27/11/1987. This was the second instance of brothers being in the Chair—Bro Gavin in 1982 & 1986 an now his brother Gordon.
It was reported at the Meeting on 9/12/1987 that at a Visitation to Pollokshaws Royal Arch Lodge No 153 that the Master of this Lodge Bro. Ian Dalglish had presented Bro. Gordon Sorbie with a pennant. This pennant is still displayed in the Lodge on Meeting nights.
At the Meeting on 27/1/1988 it was reported that the Lodge had agreed a deal with Metro advertising for billboards on the property.
To further the social aspect of the Lodge a games night was held for the Frank Watson Shield (which had been donated by Bro. Alex Watson PM in memory of his father) and at the Meeting on 23/3/1988 winners trophies were presented to Bro. Matt Sime and Bro. Gordon Wilson.
The Lodge was visited by Bro. William Shepherdson PGM on 14/9/1988 to present a Distinguished Service Membership to Bro. Andrew Tasker PM—This came as a complete surprise to Bro. Andrew!
A Notice of Motion was put before the Lodge to purchase a gift for the retiring RWM—This time the amount had risen to £350. This was passed at the AGM held on 9/11/1988 at which Bro. Alex Watson PM was elected as Master and duly Installed on 25/11/1988. Bro. William Shepherdson Provincial Grand Master carried out the duties of Installing Master—The first time a Provincial Grand Master had Installed at 570.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Visit was held on 8/2/1989 and was marked by a quiz which Lodge Springburn No 1198 defeated Lodge Anima No 1223 by 30-24.
At the Meeting on 22/2/1989 a joint Deputation from The Bridgeton and Glasgow Shamrock and Thistle Lodge No 275 and The Pollokshaws Royal Arch Lodge No 153 was received to witness a Third Degree by Bro. Ronald Walker PM. It was also reported at this Meeting that the 570 quiz team of Bro. Alex Watson, Bro. Gordon Wilson, Bro. William Waite and Bro. William Paton had been defeated at Lodge St John Whiteinch No 683.
At this point in time the Provincial Grand Lodge was celebrating its 250th Anniversary and many events were being planned and carried out. The Master, IPM and Wardens were invited to a Divine Service of Rededication in Glasgow Cathedral followed by a Civic Reception in the City Chambers. To celebrate the Anniversary the Lodge proposed to donate £1000 to the Bridge of Weir Project. This proposal which was put forward by Bro. Alex Watson, Master, and Bro. William Mitchell was carried by a majority of 18-4. There was further discussion in whether the Lodge could afford this but a vote to hold a Special Meeting to discuss this was defeated by 13-7.
A Special Meeting was held on Tuesday 4th April when Lodge Cadder Freestone No 1586 visited and conferred the Second Degree—This was the first ever visit by 1586. A Special Meeting was required as both Lodges meet on the same nights—The second and fourth Wednesdays.
Grand Lodge wrote to the Lodge on 12/4/1989 to advise that the Bridge of Weir Project was to go ahead ( No doubt due to our £1000 donation!)
On 14/6/1989 Honorary Membership was proposed for 3 “Old Faithfuls “ of Lodge Kenmuir- Bro. Stan Brown, Bro. Willie Colvin and Bro. John Ross, all of Caledonian St. Johns Royal Arch Lodge No 195. Honorary Membership was also proposed for Bro Douglas McMillan PM Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 and Bro. Jack Sutherland PM The Bridgeton and Glasgow Shamrock and Thistle Lodge No 275. These Honorary Memberships were conferred at the Regular Meeting held on 23/8/1989. Another feature of this Meeting was 50 year Diploma awarded to Bro. James McLaughlin.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. John Stewart HM 570, PG Chaplain at the Meeting on 13/9/1989.
On 27/9/1989 the Lodge proposed Honorary Membership on Bro. George Christie of Lodge Anderson McMillan No. 1552 and Bro. William McAslin of Lodge Tollcross No 1194 as a token of thanks of the Lodge for the assistance with repairs carried out to the flat roof in the East which had become severely dilapidated. These Memberships were conferred at the AGM, which was held on 8/11/1989. It was also announced the same night that Bro. Andrew Tasker PM(1965) had passed away on 25/10/1989.
Bro. Gordon Wilson was elected as Master at the AGM and duly Installed as such on 24/11/1989—The earliest date the Master can be Installed under the existing Bye-laws. Other important changes took place to the Executive Offices of the Lodge at that time;
These Brethren comprised a younger team to lead 570 into the year of Culture in 1990.
Bro. Gordon Wilson was the third Wilson to be Installed into the Chair of 570, the other 2 being Bro. Thomas Wilson PM(1964) and Bro. Ronald Wilson PM(1981). It is interesting to note that none of the Wilson’s were related each other---Other than Masonically.The last Meeting of the 1980s was held on 13/12/1989 at which on the Motion of Bro. Gordon Wilson Master seconded by Bro. Ronald Walker SW a further £100 was donated to the Bridge of Weir Fund. An amusing feature of this Meeting was the organ was officially pronounced as being “dead !”
The 1990s marked a period of renewal and innovation for the Lodge. The renewal took the form of refurbishments of the Lodge room and Committee room including a new heating system, new seating and storage, re-roofing, a new carpet ,renewal of the toilet facilities and redecoration while the innovations included a Lodge syllabus, our own Mark tokens, an overhaul of the Lodge finances (including long-term financial planning) and a Maintenance plan with a sinking fund. Hopefully by this time the Lodge has learned the lessons of the past.
Our friendship with the Nore Lodge was also forged during this period and I am proud to say this is still continuing with visitations.
The era concluded with the long-planned-for 125th Anniversary celebrations and culminated with a Re-dedication Meeting held on Wednesday 30th August
1990 the year in which Glasgow was the European City of Culture opened with a Meeting on 10/1/1990 with Bro. Gordon Wilson in the Chair. The year opened busily with new ideas being put forward for a new heating system (the old one had long since joined the organ in a dead state!) and a new Mark Token with the Lodge Crest on it. In addition a new Lodge tie was at the design stage.
Bro. George Thornberry PM conferred the first Degree of the 1990s—A second Degree on Bro. James Hamilton Junior.
At the Meeting on 24/1/1990 a further appeal was read for the Bridge of Weir Home---This time for residents! I am sure that some of the older Members of the Lodge felt they were going to be proposed for Membership!
At the PGL Visit on 14/2/1990 an In Memoriam Service was held for Bro. Andrew Tasker PM. This was conducted by Bro. Alex Watson PM assisted by Bro. Gordon Wilson, Master, and Bro. John Howat PM who delivered an address.
An Affiliation also took place at this Meeting---Bro. Ossie Malcolm of Lodge Queen Margaret No 1440. It was also reported that the die for the Mark Tokens had been purchased.
Another innovation presented at this Meeting was a syllabus for Meetings for the remainder of the year, which was distributed to all Brethren present. This was the first printed syllabus produced and this is still done today.
At the Meeting on 28/2/1990 a Notice of Motion proposed by Bro. Jim Brown PM seconded by Bro. Jack Sherlock was passed to donate a further £1000 to the Bridge of Weir Home—This time to furnish a bedroom for the residents.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. Thomas Wilson PM(1964) on 11/4/1990.
Bro. Gordon Wilson, Master, at the Meeting on 25/04/1990 reported that the Committee Room had been decorated and carpeted and thanked the two Brethren responsible-Bro. William Trench and Bro.Douglas Paxton –and invited them to come to the East. It was also reported that the lowest tender for the heating system had been accepted and the work would soon commence.
At the Meeting on 9/5/1990 a letter was read from the Nore Lodge, Southend-on-Sea No 3610 (English Constitution) asking for permission to visit Kenmuir. The reason for this request was that a member of Nore Lodge—Worshipful Bro. Bert Kerrs father had been a Member of 570 and Bro. Bert wished to visit 570 with the Nore Lodge. There was some debate at Halls and Finance on whether we should invite these “foreigners” from another Constitution with some of the older Members being against it because it would be too difficult to organise—However Bro. Gordon Wilson, Master, decided we should risk it! This was, of course, to be the first link in a friendship that has flourished and still continues today. I am certainly proud to have been the first 570 Master to welcome the Nore Lodge to our Temple.
A new venture was also promoted at this Meeting – a race night to be held on 4th June. As it turned out this was a very successful venture, which raised over £700 for Lodge Funds. What was not quite so successful was the timing as the bus run to the Kyles of Bute for the Pensioners bus run was the next day!
A special Meeting was held on 30/5/1990 at which Lodge Cadder Freestone No 1584, headed by the Master Bro. William Bell conferred a Second Degree. This Meeting was also attended by Provincial Grand Lodge and a Deputation from the Masonic Home led by Bro. Sid Yeoman.
By the Meeting on 13/6/1990 the heating system had been installed at a cost of £3000—All that was required now was a gas meter to run it! Incidentally this was not installed until 22/8/1990—The day of the Visitation by Nore Lodge!
The Meeting on 22/8/1990 marked the first time that Nore Lodge had visited Kenmuir. The Deputation from Southend comprised 26 and was headed by Worshipful Bro. Michael Cowan—The total attendance at the Meeting was 87. Lodge Milton No1520 carried out the Degree work that night –A first Degree on Bro. Gary Falconer. The Provincial Grand Master Bro. Harry Jeffrey also attended this Meeting and was the star of the harmony with his hilarious address, which was enjoyed by all.
The following Wednesday on 29/8/1990 a Special Meeting was held at which Lodge Regal No 1422 headed by Bro. J Halkett conferred a First Degree.
At the Meeting on 12/9/1990 letters of thanks were read from Nore Lodge and Provincial Grand Lodge recording their thanks to the Lodge for a most enjoyable time. At this same Meeting new Bye-laws, based on PGL Model Bye-laws, were proposed by Bro. Alex Watson PM seconded by Bro. William WaiteTreasurer.
By the Meeting on 26/9/1990 a return visit was planned to visit Nore Lodge in Southend in February 1991. At this same Meeting Pollokshaws Royal Arch Lodge No 153 headed by Bro. James McGhie conferred a Second Degree.
At the Meeting on 10/10/1990 further renovations were planned as the Lodge was actively looking for pews to install in the Temple. Bro. Gordon Wilson Master also reported that a Mark Token with the Lodge crest on it had been place in a time capsule at the building site adjacent to the Lodge (now Newcross Crescent). The Bye-laws were passed at this Meeting and the Notice of Motion for the retiring Masters Jewel, Apron and Case had now increased to £300.
The week commencing 22/10/1990 marked a very busy week for 570 with the following Degrees being conferred.
Monday 22/10/1990 Second Degree at Lodge Helensburgh No 503
Wednesday 24/10/1990 Mark Degree at Lodge Kenmuir No 570
Thursday 25/10/1990 First Degree at Lodge Springburn No 1198.
At the Meeting on 24/10/1990 it was announced that the organ had at last been replaced! Maybe the singing would improve!
The AGM for 1990 was held on 14/11/1990 at which Bro. Ronald Walker PM was elected as Master and duly installed as such on 30/11/1990. This, of course was Brother Walkers second time in the Chair, having been Master in the Centenary year.
The meeting on 9/1/1991 recorded the death of my own father, Bro. William Wilson. My father was never one for carrying out Degree work—However he was a regular and faithful attender and was instrumental in producing this history. If my father had never brought me into the Lodge you would not be reading this history today.
By the next Meeting it was reported that the bus had been booked for a return visit to Southend-on-Sea on 9th March 1991.
A milestone was reached at the Provincial Grand Lodge Visitation on 13/2/1991 when it was reported that Bro. Grand Lodge had awarded George Thornberry PM the Honorary Grand Rank of Bible-Bearer. This was not only a great honour for Bro. George but an equally great honour for the Lodge as this was the first occasion of a Member of 570 being awarded Honorary Grand Rank. At this same Meeting the Master, Bro. Ronald Walker was invited to attend the 200th Anniversary of Lodge Scotia No 178 on 13th March 1991.
The Lodge held a further race night which was reported at the Meeting on 27/3/1991 and this was further augmented by a kind donation from the Kenburn club of £400 on 22/5/1991.
At the Meeting on 28/8/1991 the death of Bro. Gibson Paul PM of Lodge Milton No 1520 was recorded. This was also the first time that I had the pleasure of writing the Minutes of the Lodge –If only someone other than me could read them!
At the Meeting on 11/9/1991 there was some debate in the Lodge regarding the Painterwork and Joinerwork done to the Temple during the summer recess. The Brethren who had carried out this work had submitted costs which had been approved of in open Lodge. However some Members felt that the work should not be paid for as in the past labour had been voluntary—It was in turn pointed out that the costs had been submitted by firms and approved by the Lodge. The Lodge voted on this matter and by a majority of 25-4 it was felt the Lodge had acted properly. Another item discussed that night was a possible date for a War Games Competition—Although I don’t think that had anything to do with the previous debate!
The Minutes on 9/10/1991 were written by Bro. George Thornberry PM which was very appropriate as that night he was presented in open Lodge with his Honorary Grand Lodge Jewel by Bro. Harry Jeffrey Provincial Grand Master.
The AGM for 1991 was held on 13/11/1991 at which Bro. William Paton was elected and duly installed as Master on 29/11/1991. At the same Meeting it was reported that Bro. Douglas McMillan HM 570 and PM Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 had been awarded Honorary Grand Rank of Bible Bearer by Grand Lodge. Alas Bro. Douglas is no longer with us but his jewel is proudly on display in the Lodge Room.
On 22/1/1992 it was reported that the Qualified Membership list was being updated. It was also announced that a monthly football sweep would be introduced to raise funds for hall renovation. The Degree that night was a Second Degree carried out by Pollokshaws Royal Arch Lodge No 153 on Bro. William Henderson.
An Affiliate Member joined 570 at the PGL visit on 12/2/1992—Bro. William Baggley of Partick St Mary’s Lodge No 117. Although Bro. Baggley was not a great attender of the Lodge he was certainly a great assistance by organising discos at social functions for the next ten years till he finally hung up his headphones! At this same Meeting it was reported that Nore Lodge intended to visit 570 later that year.
At the Meeting on 22/4/1992 Bro. William Paton, Master, reported that the Halls and Finance Committee had discussed the Grand Lodge Ad Hoc Committees recommendations at special Meeting and a response had been returned. The Degree that night was carried out by Lodge Bishopbriggs No 1259 headed by their Master Bro. Andrew Paton, who was the Uncle of Bro. William Paton, Master of 570.
Bro. Ian Massie presented the Lodge with Masonic “gonks” to sell for Lodge funds at the Meeting on 13/5/1992—at a cost of £5 each—There is still one on display in the Lodge Room (which is thought to look like one of the old Past Masters!). At the same Meeting Bro. Alastair McBeth thanked the Lodge for its generosity in supporting his fundraising venture for Yorkhill Hospital, which raised the sum of £1030.
At the Meeting on 10/6/1992 a Jubilee Diploma was presented to Bro. Thomas Lochhead BB by Bro. Douglas Mowat SPGM. Bro. Thomas was equally surprised and delighted by this presentation.
The Regular Meeting on 26/8/1992 was a special event as Nore Lodge returned to visit 570. The Deputation was headed by Worshipful Bro. Michael Cowan, and Bro. David Watson Substitute Provincial Grand Master attended the Meeting representing Provincial Grand Lodge. The Lodge witnessed a Third Degree on Bro. James Kelt conferred by (mostly) Reigning Masters. The Degree team carried out the following duties:
WJW Bro. D Marshall RWM Lodge Milton No. 1520
WSW Bro. J Johnston RWM Lodge Possilpark No. 1330
Introduction Bro. W Paton RWM Lodge Kenmuir No. 570
Secrets Bro. D Roberts RWM Lodge Springburn No. 1198
Advance Bro.D Marshall RWM Lodge Milton No. 1520
Retrospect Bro. R Walker IPM Lodge Kenmuir No. 570
Emblems Bro. D Roberts RWM Lodge Springburn No. 1198
Signs Bro. A Robertson RWM Lodge Cadder Freestone No. 1584
Apron Bro. J Johnston RWM Lodge Possilpark No. 1330
Tools Bro. D Marshall RWM Lodge Milton No. 1520
Obligation Bro. A Paton RWM Lodge Bishopbriggs No. 1259
At the conclusion of the Degree Honorary Membership was conferred upon Bro. Michael Cowan and Bro. Bert Kerr—which came as a complete surprise to both of them! However both were very proud to accept----especially Bro. Bert as he had now joined his fathers Lodge.
An instruction class was held on 1st September and at the Meeting on 9/9/1992 it was decided that classes would be held on the first Tuesday of each Month. At the same Meeting it was reported that a sinking fund had been set up to cover future major maintenance expenditure.
On 28/10/1992 the Mark was conferred upon 6 Brethren.
The AGM for 1992 was held on 11th November at which Bro. William Trench was elected as Master and duly Installed as such on 27/11/1992. At this same Meeting the Lodge was informed that the widow of the late Brother Hardie Nelson---Mrs Margaret Louise Nelson—had bequeathed a sum to the Lodge and this would be forwarded once the estate settled. A Ballot also took place that night for Bro. Craig Patrick and Bro. James McIntosh—both of whom went on to be Master of the Lodge.
Bro. Gordon Sorbie had to stand down as Secretary during the course of the year due to his daughter’s health and Bro. Gordon Wilson took over this Office and was Installed as Secretary on 27/11/1992.
On 13/1/1993 Bro. Bill Ferry Almoner reported that he would produce a Lodge newspaper —The Vulcan Voice—, which unfortunately only ran for a few issues.
A further Lodge of Instruction was held on 4/2/1993 and Bro. Harry Jeffrey Provincial Grand Master paid a social visit to the Lodge on 10/2/1993.
A Visitation to Lodge Nore No 3610 left on Friday 10/3/1993 with a 10.00AM start to travel to Southend-on Sea. A great time was had by all—The Secretary Bro. Gordon Wilson was plastered—He had broken his arm the day before travelling!
At the Meeting on 28/4/1993 Bro. Thomas Lochhead BB was congratulated on reaching the grand old age of 82!
Lodge Cadder Freestone No 1584 visited Lodge Kenmuir on 9/6/1993 when a Second Degree was conferred. It was also announced at this Meeting that pews had been obtained from a church which had closed in Renfrew and would be installed during the recess—this would also include storage for carpets and other paraphernalia. It was also during the recess of 1993 that the Kenburn Club reroofed the property.
The Installation of the pews was carried out in the recess of 1993. The layout was designed by Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec and the work was carried out in an expert manner by Bro. Andy Lyttle JD.
The Lodge decided at this time to replace the carpet and it was decided at the Meeting on 8/9/1993 that Bro. Robert James would organise 2 quotes for supplying this item. At this same Meeting the Lodge held a surprise birthday party for Bro. Douglas Paxton.
By the Meeting on 22/9/1993 2 quotes had been obtained for a Masonic carpet and it was agreed to select the lower quote at £1682. This was proposed by Bro. Alex Fitzpatrick PM and was seconded by Bro. William Mitchell.
At the Meeting on 13/10/1993 Bro. Alan Rae PM Lodge St Vincent Sandyford No 553 was afforded Honorary Membership by Bro. William Trench Master.
At the AGM on 10/11/1993 Bro. Robert James was elected as Master and duly Installed as such on 26/11/1993. It was very appropriate that the new Lodge carpet was used for the first time at the Installation as Bro. Robert James Master had been instrumental in organising the new carpet. At this same Meeting the Lodge recorded its thanks to the Kenburn Club for a £4000 donation.
At the Meeting on 26/11/1993 it was reported that a children’s treat to the pantomime had been arranged for 6/12/1993. It was also reported that Children from Eastpark Home would also be invited to the pantomime.
By the Meeting on 26/11/1993 Bro. Douglas Paxton had upholstered the pews and was thanked by Bro.Robert James Master.
There was some discussion at the Meeting on 8/12/1993 about changing the date of the Installation from Friday to Saturday—However it appeared the Lodge was happy with the existing arrangement. It was also reported at this Meeting that the Masters chain had been repaired and was valued---The current value was £42,000!
At the Meeting on 26/1/1994 it was reported that the Lodge had successfully organised the bar at the Provincial Grand Lodge Masters get together.
At the Provincial Grand Lodge visit on 9/2/1994 a Rededication ceremony was held at which Bro. John Graham Provincial Grand Chaplain dedicated the pews and the carpet. At the conclusion of the ceremony Bro. Harry Jeffrey Provincial Grand Master was afforded Honorary Membership of Lodge Kenmuir and after this unveiled a plaque on the North wall of the Temple with the following inscription:
“This plaque is to commemorate the bequest from Louise Nelson, widow of the late Bro. Hardie Nelson which assisted in the renovation of this temple—9th February 1994.
Unveiled by Bro. Harry Jeffrey PGM”
It was also reported at this Meeting that the old Lodge carpet had been donated to Lodge Caledonia XXXXXX
At the Meeting on 23/2/1994 it was reported that Bro. George Thornberry PM was now resident in the Bridge of Weir Home – It was good to see a 570 man getting the benefit of the Home which Lodge Kenmuir had made donations to. Bro. George Thornberry PM was also presented with a Jubilee Diploma on 13/4/1994.
A fairly unusual occurrence took place on Friday 25/3/1994 when Lodge Kenmuir held a Regular Meeting. At this Meeting a Second Degree was conferred on 2 Candidates—Bro. C Wilson from 570 and Bro. A McDivitt from Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504. This Degree was conferred by Lodge Milton No 1520.
A landmark was reached at the Meeting on 5/5/1994 when Lodge Helensburgh St George No 503 conferred a First Degree on Bro. Mo Sharma—The first Asian and Moslem ever to join the Lodge.
A Memorial Service was held on Wednesday 8/6/1994 to mark the passing of Bro. Kenneth McLeod PM (1970). This Service was conducted by Bro. Alex Watson PM.
A Deputation from the Nore Lodge No 3610 headed by W Bro. Steve Thomas visited 570 on 28/8/1994 to witness a Second Degree by Lodge Castlemilk No.1536 on Bro. Mo Sharma.
By the Meeting on 12/10/1994 the sum for the retiring Masters gift had increased to £400 and at the Meeting on 26/10/1994 the death of Bro. J Weir PM Lodge St Clair No 362 and MM 570 was announced. Bro. Douglas McMillan PM Lodge Sir William Wallace No 1504 HM 570 commented on the Degree Work, which was a Mark by Bro. A Grant PM. Unfortunately this was to be the last time that Bro. Douglas was to visit the Lodge as his death was reported with great sadness at the Meeting on 9/11/1994. This Meeting was the AGM at which Bro. Alan Patrick was elected as Master and duly Installed as such on 25/11/1994.
The Meeting on 11/1/1995 had an interesting visitor in the person of Bro. Malcolm Thomson from Lodge Sure and Stedfast, Whitley Bay No 8927 EC. He spoke about his Lodge which only allows Boys’ Brigade Members or ex-Boys’ Brigade Members to join and he was delighted to find out that not only the Master Bro Alan Patrick but Bros. Waite, Wilson, C Patrick and Green were all serving Boys’ Brigade Officers. At the same Meeting it was announced that Lodge Springburn was holding a 75th Anniversary dance.
A visit to Nore Lodge was once again planned –this time for 10/3/1995—to witness a First Degree .
Lodge Ballater No 1432 headed by their RWM Bro. Donnie Berrie conferred a Third Degree at the Meeting on 22/3/1995.
At the Meeting on 12/4/1995 a letter was read from Bro. W Cooper of Lodge Midland Junction Australia conveying fraternal greetings to the Lodge. This was the same Brother who had presented the Lodge with a gavel and anvil in the previous year. This gavel (which is made of Jarrah wood) and base (which is made of Sheoak wood) is of course on display in the cabinet.
At the Meeting on 23/8/1995 an invite to the wedding of Bro. S Caldwell was received—however no one could attend as the wedding was in Edmonton, Canada! At this same Meeting the Lodge discussed the matter of dispensing with the “summer” Meetings in June and August.
At the Meeting on 13/9/1995 it was reported that Bro. Robert James PM and Bro. Alan Patrick PM had been beaten in the bowls semi-final—No silverware once again!
At the Meeting on 27/9/1995 Lodge Falkirk St John No 16 headed by their Master Bro. Sinclair Campbell conferred a Second Degree on Bro. David Melrose. In all probability this is the lowest numbered Lodge ever to confer a Degree at 570.
Bro. Hugh Tollan PM attended the Meeting on 11/10/1995 and advised the Lodge that in future he would be attending the Lodge with a guide dog and he hoped the Brethren would not mind—Of course no one did. The dog would probably just sleep through the Meeting —Same as some of the Members I suppose!
At the AGM on 8/11/1995 the Notice of Motion to dispense with the summer Meetings was passed by a majority of 24-9. Bro. Thomas Murphy was elected as Master and duly Installed as such on 24/11/1995. Bro. William Waite moved from Treasurer to SW and Bro. W Mitchell covered the Office of Treasurer. It was also reported at this Meeting that the Title Deeds were available for the Lodge to collect from the Solicitor.
At the Meeting on 10/1/1996 it was reported that the heating had broken down during the severe weather in December and would be replaced within the week. It was also reported that display cabinets had been fitted in the Lodge and Bro. W Henderson would be in charge of them.
The Meeting on 14/2/1996 was a night of mixed emotion with sadness at the death of Bro. J Miller PM(1955) being recorded. That same night Bro. J Howat PM was presented with a Jubilee Diploma by Bro. Robert Best Provincial Grand Master—The only such occasion that Bro. J Howat was speechless on the floor of the Lodge!
The Lodge recorded the Dunblane tragedy at the Meeting on 13/5/1996 with a minute’s silence.
At the Meeting on 10/4/1996 an invite was received for the Master to attend Lodge Bishopbriggs 75th Anniversary Meeting. Lodge Possilpark conferred the Mark at the Meeting on 10/4/1996.
Bro. A McBeth thanked the Lodge for their support in fundraising, which had raised the sum of £2300 for charity.
At the Meeting on 8/5/1996 the quote for the renovation of the downstairs toilet for a sum of £2665 was approved and this work would be carried out during the summer recess of 1996.
The first mention of a specific Committee Meeting to discuss the arrangements for the 125th Anniversary was made at the Meeting on 22/5/1996—and by this time the booking had already been made for the 125th Anniversary dance in October 2000. At this same Meeting Bro. Bill Ferry Almoner announced that he had arranged a visit to the Bridge of Weir Home to see Bro. George Thornberry PM, and that Bro. William Mitchell was celebrating his 70th birthday ( only 70!)
It was with sadness that the meeting on 11/9/1996 recorded the death of Bro. J McDonald PM(1947). This Meeting also co-incided with a Visitation from the Nore Lodge and accompanying the Deputation was W Bro. Brian Haywood Past Provincial Director of Ceremonies. Provincial Grand Lodge was represented by Bro. George McEwan PGM who witnessed a Second Degree conferred by Bro. Alex Watson PM on Bro. Stephen McLeod. The attendance at this Meeting was 74.
At the Meeting on 25/9/1996 the Lodge recorded its thanks to Mrs Grant for resetting the Masters Chain on cloth, and at the Meeting on 23/10/1996 the Lodge also recorded its thanks to Bro. W Henderson and Bro. A Patrick for typing and reprinting the Byelaws.
At the AGM on 13/11/1996 Bro. W Waite was elected as Master and duly installed on 29/11//1996.
Bro. Alex Watson PM reported at the Meeting on 8/1/1997 that the Honorary Grand Jewel of Bible-Bearer of the late Bro. Douglas McMillan had been given to him by Bro. Douglas’ Aunt and, of course, this jewel is on display in the Lodge to this day. At this same Meeting it was reported that a further Visitation had been planned for Nore in October 1997.
On 22/1/1997 Bro. Willam Waite Master reported that the Lodge had carried out bar duties at the Provincial Grand Lodge Masters get-together and had made £130 for Lodge Funds.
The Provincial Grand Lodge Annual Visitation took place on 12/2/1997 on which occasion Bro. Robert Best Provincial Grand Master visited the Lodge.
At the Meeting on 26/2/1997 it was reported that the son of Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec had been born with a heart defect, which required surgery in Birmingham and the Lodge wished Bro. Gordon and his family all the best. Bro. Gordon stepped down as Secretary in the meantime due to this (some would say the books became more legible at this time!). At this same Meeting it was reported that Bro. Robert McIntyre, a Member of 570 and the RWM of Lodge Union No 332 would be presented with a 50 year Diploma on 28/2/1997 at Lodge Union.
Lodge Shalom No. 1600 headed by Bro. Jack Symons as Master conferred a Third Degree on 26/3/1997.
Two significant milestones were reached at the Meeting on 9/4/1997 as Bro. William Waite, Master, congratulated Bro. James McLaughlin on celebrating 65 years as a Member of 570—He was also presented with a cake at the harmony----and the Lodge Title Deeds (which had been with the Solicitors and Brewers since 1976) were returned.
At the Meeting on 14/5/1997 the Lodge recorded its congratulations to Bro. David Melrose on his recent marriage. At this same Meeting Lodge Milton No1520 headed by Bro. W McIntyre Master conferred a Second Degree, which was commented favourably upon by Bro. Robert McIntyre RWM Lodge Union No. 332.
The Lodge updated its Bye-laws at the Meeting on 28/5/1997 at which a Notice of Motion was put forward to replace Section 11.
“The General Committee shall consist of all the Office-Bearers together with 5 elected Members who may be PMs. All Qualified Members of the Lodge except the Tyler are eligible for election” –Proposed by Bro. Alex Watson PM seconded by Bro. W Henderson.
The effect of this was to exclude Past Masters, unless specifically elected, from the General Committee, which would leave them free to carry out auditing duties if necessary.
It was with much sadness that the death of Bro. John Howat, the Senior Past Master(1953) was recorded at the Meeting on 10/9/1997.
At the same Meeting Bro. Wiskowski of Lodge Williamstown of Pennsylvania USA No 130 visited the Lodge and presented a Masonic rug to the Lodge –which is still used at Installations. In return the Master, Bro. William Waite presented him with a Lodge tie and a Mark Token in appreciation of the gift. Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec resumed the duties of Secretary at this Meeting (So the minutes became more difficult to read!)
An In Memoriam Service for Bro. John Howat PM was held at the Meeting on 24/9/1997—The duties were carried out by Bro. Alex Watson PM and Bro. William Waite Master.
A bit of a panic ensued before the Meeting on 28/10/1997 when it transpired that Lodge Helensburgh No 503 who were due to confer a Third Degree called off the day before—However Bro. Ronald Walker PM gladly and most ably filled in at the last minute. At this same Meeting Bro. John Hamilton was presented with a 50-year Diploma and Bro. Thomas Murphy PM was thanked for organising the Provincial Grand Lodge fishing competition.
At the Meeting on 22/10/1997 Bro. Craig Patrick gave a report on the visit to the Nore Lodge and spoke highly on their Trafalgar Night—an unforgettable occasion and not only for the singing! At this same Meeting Bro. Alex Watson PM was presented with an apron, case and Regalia of Substitute Provincial Grand Master as a token of the Lodges appreciation of reaching of this high Rank—The first Substitute Provincial Grand Master of Lodge Kenmuir. Bro. Alex thanked the Lodge for these kind gifts (once he had got over his initial surprise!)
The AGM for 1997 was held on the 12th of November at which Bro. Craig Patrick was elected as Master and duly Installed as such on 28/11/1997. At this AGM the Lodge made the following donations ;
Marie Curie £150
Earl Haig Fund £50
Masonic Homes Fund £75
Yorkhill Hospital appeal £50
Another milestone was reached on 14/1/1998 when the Lodge introduced the bonus ball sweep! This lottery based on the lottery bonus ball still runs today and raises approx. £50 per month for Hall renovation.
On 25/2/1998 what can only be described as a “Sorbie Degree” was carried conferred. Bro. Gavin Sorbie PM headed the Degree Team, which comprised Bro. Gordon Sorbie PM who presented the Tools and Bro. Andrew Sorbie who invested the Apron. The Candidate was Bro. Gavin Sorbie Junior! Bro. Gavin Sorbie Junior was the third generation of Sorbies in 570.
At the meeting on 22/4/1998 the Lodge agreed the venue for the 125th Anniversary dance-The Albany.
At the Meeting on 13/5/1998 it was reported that Bro. Thomas Murphy PM and Bro. Andy Lyttle had finished 4th in the PGL Whist competition. This Meeting also marked the Initiation of Raja Nadir Qadir who was the second Asian Candidate the Lodge had admitted.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the Death of Bro. George Barr PM (1959) on 27/5/1998. At this same Meeting Lodge Progress No 873 invited the Lodge to attend their Centenary Meeting on 12th September. Tickets were available from Bro. Joe Miller Master of Lodge Progress No. 873 and PM Lodge Springburn No 1198. The highlight of this Meeting on 27/5/1998 was that a Team comprising Bro. Craig Patrick, Master, Bro. Thomas Murphy PM and Bro. Stuart Greig PM had won the James Ellis Trophy at the Lodge Castlemilk Quiz. This trophy was named after Bro. James Ellis who was not only a Founder Member of Lodge Castlemilk No. 1536 but a Master Mason of Lodge Kenmuir.
On 9/9/1998 the Lodge congratulated Bro. Jack Buchanan on celebrating his 80th birthday.
At the Meeting on 23/9/1998 it was reported that Bro. Gavin Sorbie Junior (obviously!) was to represent Scotland at Tae Kwon Do in Italy and the Lodge Members assisted in sponsoring him in this event. This same night it was reported that the toilet had been refurbished and the heating extended to the Committee Room which had been completely redecorated. Thereafter followed an event, which I am sure some Brethren consider being the blackest moment in Lodge Kenmuirs history! Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec, in view of the redecoration of the Committee Room proposed it be declared a no smoking area—This was seconded by Bro. William Henderson SW. Bro. William Waite IPM speedily proposed status quo and this was seconded by Bro. Thomas Murphy PM. This went to the vote and the “no smokers” prevailed by 20-5! This has certainly speeded up Committee Meetings! Also on the same night the Lodge was officially presented with the James Ellis Trophy as well as a cheque for £50 for Benevolence by Bro. Henry Bow, RWM of Lodge Castlemilk No 1536.
It was with sadness at the meeting on 14/10/1998 that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. Jack Sutherland PM The Bridgeton and Glasgow Shamrock and Thistle Lodge No 275 and an Honorary Member of Lodge Kenmuir.
At the AGM on 11/11/1998 Bro. William Henderson was elected as Master and Installed on 27/11/1998. At the Installation Meeting Bro. William Waite PM was installed as Treasurer after 3 years as SW, Master and IPM and Bro. William/ Mitchell who had been Treasurer for the last 3 years was installed as Depute Master, Between the two of them it was impossible to work out who was the most miserly when it came to spending the Lodges money !
The Secretary gave the attendance figures at the AGM for the past 2 years
1996/97 17 Meetings 807 46
1997/98 17 Meetings 845 50
At the Meeting on 9/12/1998 Bro. Alastair Grant was congratulated on completing his year as Provincial Grand Senior Warden—Only the second time in the history of Lodge Kenmuir this has happened with the previous SW being Bro. Robert Watson PM in 1920 Bro. Grant PM was taken to the low West of the Lodge and Bro. Alex Watson PM gave a resume of Bro. Grants Masonic career after which he was presented with a Past Provincial Grand Senior Wardens jewel. Bro. Alastair recorded his heartfelt thanks to the Lodge.
The Meeting on 13/1/1999 marked the visit of Nore Lodge. After Bro. William Henderson Master opened the Lodge he welcomed a Deputation of Reigning Masters (from Lodges Bishopbriggs, Possilpark and Sir William Wallace) followed by a Deputation from Nore Lodge headed by W Bro. Len Parsons SW and lastly a Deputation from Provincial Grand Lodge headed by Bro. G McEwan Provincial Grand Master .The Lodge witnessed an exemplification of a First Degree on W Bro. Barry Adams of Nore Lodge by a team of Office-Bearers comprising;
Bro. Craig Patrick IPM Reception & Obligation
Bro. Jim McIntosh SW Tools
Bro. Scott Walker JW Apron
Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec First Degree Tracing Board
The Meeting was followed by a Harmony, which was enjoyed by all---Even Nores singing was starting to improve!
At the Meeting on 27/1/1999 Bro. William Henderson Master conveyed the birthday wishes of the Lodge to Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec on becoming 40 and the Lodge responded in the usual manner!
A quotation for a 125th Anniversary jewel was received and discussed at the Meeting on 24/2/1999 and at the next Meeting on 10/3/1999 it was announced that a bank had been opened for Brethren to save for the 125th Anniversary events.
A Sad event was recorded at the Meeting on 24/3/1999 when it was reported that the Kenburn Club had forgotten to apply for their late licence extension and as such the Club would close early on Meeting nights!
It was with real sadness however that the death of W Bro. Bert Kerr HM 570 and a Member of Nore Lodge No 3610 was recorded at the Meeting on 14/4/1999. Bro. Bert was instrumental in bringing both Lodges together and I am sure he would be delighted to be remembered for this. At this same Meeting the Lodge extended its congratulations to Bro. Alex Smith on becoming a Grandfather.
The Meeting on 28/4/1999 had a “financial feel” to it with the Lodge deciding to freeze rents for a year as some of the Tenants were struggling in the hard times, and it was announced that the Treasurer, Bro. William Waite PM Tres had prepared a paper on how the 125th Anniversary Celebrations would be funded. It was also disappointing to note that there was no Candidate for this Meeting.
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. E Murray PM (1960) was recorded at the Meeting on 12/5/1999.
Grand Lodge gave notice at the Meeting on 26/5/1999 that an amnesty would be in place for year 2000—Brethren would not have to pay back Test Fees to clear themselves in the Lodge Books but instead only pay the Test Fee for 2000.
The Lodge considered an alternative 125th Anniversary Jewel from Millennium Mark at the Meeting on 13/10/1999 and after discussion it was agreed to place an order for Jewels at a cost of £12 each. At this same Meeting the Lodge approved the financial funding paper for 125th Anniversary. Lodge Possilpark No1330 conferred the Mark at this Meeting (for the second time that year!)
The Lodge recorded a grant for a Members son for £1000 from Provincial Grand Lodge at the Meeting on 27/10/1999—The highest ever received from Provincial Grand Lodge. This Meeting was also attended by W Bro. Alan Hughes P Dep. Grand Registrar in the Province of Dulum.
At the AGM on 10/11/1999 Bro. Jim McIntosh was elected as Master and duly Installed as such at the Meeting on 26/11/1999. The Secretary gave the Annual Report at the AGM. Attendances were;
17 Regular Meetings 784 46 Average
This represented a decrease of 4 per Meeting on the previous year. There were only 3 Candidates admitted during the year—Probably the lowest figure ever in the history of 570.
The first Degree of the new Millennium took place on 12/1/2000 when Bro. Alex Watson PM conferred a Second Degree on Bro. Stephen Smith.
At the Meeting on 26/1/2000 it was recorded that Bro. Alex Watson PM and Bro. Alastair Grant PM had visited Bro. George Thornberry PM whose health was deteriorating. Bro. Gordon Wilson PM Sec gave the Lodge details of a “Time Capsule” which would be set up to co-incide with the 125th Anniversary and he asked all Office-Bearers to submit a letter to their successor in Office for the 250th Anniversary Celebrations in 2125. Lodges would also be invited to submit a message to their Brethren in the future. A General Committee Meeting was set up for 31/1/2000 to discuss the 125 arrangements in greater detail.
Bro. Robert Best Provincial Grand Master headed the Provincial Deputation on 9/2/2000 to thank the Lodge, in person, for carrying out bar duties at his Installation as Provincial Grand Master in November.
By the Meeting on 23/2/2000 Provincial Grand Lodge had confirmed the date of the 125th Anniversary Rededication Meeting as 30/8/2000. It was also reported that the Albany Hotel had double-booked the 125 dance but had offered the Marriot Hotel as an alternative and had offered compensation. This compensation included a champagne reception at the dance and the costs of reprinting the tickets and the printing of the 125th Anniversary Programme for the Rededication Meeting.
It was with sadness that the death of Bro. George Barr(1959) was recorded. It was also reported that the Masonic effects of the late Bro. George Barr PM, including his PM jewel, had been donated to the Lodge. The Lodge, in turn, at the request of his family gave a donation of £200 to the Ayr Hospice as a thank you for this.
The Lodge intimated a Grand Prize Draw to co-incide with the dance and tickets were now available from 12/4/2000. 125th Anniversary engraved glasses were on sale at the Meeting on 8/3/2000 at a cost of £5 each.
Due to a lack of Candidates the Lodge held a games night at the Meeting on 26/4/2000. It was also reported at this Meeting that Nore Lodge would send a Deputation to the Rededication Meeting on 30/8/2000.
It was with sadness that the Lodge recorded the death of Bro. Robert McIntyre a Member of 570 and a PM of Lodge Union No 332 and a letter was read from Provincial Grand Lodge praising his work with the Grand Priory.
At the Meeting on 24/5/2000 the Lodge accepted a Tender form Bro. Charles Rae for the redecoration of the Temple—This would be paid for by the maintenance sinking fund began in 1991 when the temple was last redecorated. A feature of this redecoration was a representation of the Cupola in the East, which was covered over in 1965.
A Rededication Meeting was held on 30/8/2000 to mark 125 years of Lodge Kenmuir.
“Wed 30th August 2000 Masonic Hall
LODGE KENMUIR , NO 570.
A Special Meeting was held on this date at 7.00PM.
Bro.James A McIntosh presided supported by Bro. Scott Walker SW, Bro. Alex Smith JW , Bro. Mo Sharma SD , Bro. James Bullen JD , Bro. Gavin Sorbie IG , Bro. George Adams CHAP. , Bro. William Henderson IPM and other Past Masters , Office-Bearers and Brethren as per the Sederunt Book.
The Lodge was opened in the First Degree by Bro. James McIntosh ,Master , who wecomed all present.
A Deputation from the Nore Lodge , No 3610 Southend-on –Sea headed by W Bro. Barry Adams SW was admitted and welcomed by Bro. James McIntosh Master
who thereafter invited all 5 Members of the Deputation to join him in the East.
A Deputation of 10 Reigning Masters headed by Bro. D Agnew RWM of Lodge Thistle and Rose No 73 was admitted and welcomed by Bro. James McIntosh Master who thereafter invited all Reigning Masters to join him in the East.
A Deputation from the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow headed by Bro. Robert Ross Best Provincial Grand Master admitted and welcomed by Bro. James McIntosh Master. Bro. Robert Ross Best ,Provincial Grand Master, then came to the East where Bro. James McIntosh , Master presented the mallet to the PGM as a token of fealty and to carry out the work of the night. Thereafter the Office-Bearers of Lodge Kenmuir No 570 vacated their Offices in favour of the Office-Bearers of Provincial Grand Lodge.
The Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow thereafter carried out the Rededication Ceremony to mark the 125th Anniversary of the Lodge. Bro. John Graham PG CHAP officiated at the Ceremony at the completion of which the Office-Bearers of Provincial Grand Lodge vacated their Offices in favour of the Office-Bearers of Lodge Kenmuir No 570.
A collection was uplifted for CHAS –the designated charity for the Grand Lodge of Scotland for year 2000. £151 was uplifted which was presented to the Provincial Grand Master at the Harmony.
The Deputation from the Provincial Grand Lodge of Glasgow then retired.
The Lodge was then closed in the First or Entered Apprentice Degree by Bro. James McIntosh Master at 8.20PM.
Gordon Wilson PM
Lodge Kenmuir 570
43 Vulcan Street
Our meetings are normally conducted on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday from the 4th Wednesday in May until the 2nd Wednesday in September.
We tyle at 7-30pm Prompt.